EndNote @ Levy Library: Citing with Microsoft Word Plugin

EndNote's "Cite While You Write" tool allows you to automatically add citations and create bibliographies directly in your manuscript. Once you download EndNote, EndNote will automatically place its template in Microsoft Word that should launch the next time you open it. 

In Microsoft Word, an EndNote tab will appear in the ribbon at the top of your document. 

The EndNote tab has multiple components; some of the major ones include: 

Insert Citation: Allows you to insert a citation where your cursor is.

Edit & Manage Citation(s): Allows you to remove, and edit your citation.

Style: Allows you to change the format of your citations (ex. APA to AMA).

Configure Bibliography: Allows you to make edits to your bibliography (ex. font, size, title)

Update Citations and Bibliography: Will update the reference if you have made any changes to it in your library. 

Step 1 of 2: Determine where you want your citation to go.

• In a Word document, place the cursor at the point where a reference is needed. Click the "EndNote Tab" on the Word toolbar and select "Insert Citation".

Step 2 of 2: Locate and insert the citation.

• Once you are ready to insert a citation, select "Insert Citation" at the top left. This will prompt a pop up to appear allowing you to search for and locate the reference you want to cite. In the search bar, type a term in the search bar for the reference you want to cite (e.g. author last name, keyword in a title, etc.), and select "Insert". This will generate an in-text citation as well as add the full citation to your bibliography. 

While writing your manuscript, you can update the format of your bibliography and in-text citations at any time. To change the style of your citations: 

Step 1 of 1: Locate the style dropdown menu.

• Go to "Style" and use the dropdown menu to select the citation style of choice. Your preferred style may not appear on the list. In this case, simply click "Select Another Style." You will be brought to a list of thousands of styles where you should find what you're looking for. Once you select a style it should appear in your dropdown menu going forward. 

• Formatted citations automatically create a bibliography at the end of your manuscript; however, you may wish to title the bibliography or add additional line spacing between references. You can do all of this using the "Configure Bibliography" command. Open the Format Bibliography command by selecting the small arrow at the bottom right of the Bibliography Group.

The Format Bibliography tab allows you to select a bibliographic style from a dropdown list.  The list contains previously used styles as well as some of the most popular ones. 

The Layout tab allows you to change options that determine the way your bibliography will look. Edits to font size, indention amount and line spacing are executed here.