Visiting Levy Library: Access and Privileges
Levy Library Access and Privileges
Icahn School of Medicine and the Mount Sinai Health System
ISMMS faculty, students, and staff and MSHS employees staff and members of the Mount Sinai Alumni Association have full use of Levy Library's collections and services while on the Mount Sinai Medical Center campus. This includes everyone currently employed by Mount Sinai and all holders of valid Mount Sinai identification badges. When visiting the Library, you should always wear your Mount Sinai identification badge.
- Circulation Privileges and Library Cards
Icahn School of Medicine faculty, students, and staff and MSHS employees are eligible to borrow print and audio-visual materials from the Levy Library collection. More information about borrowing Library materials is available here.
- Remote (Off-Campus) Access to Online Resources
Current faculty, residents, students, and staff of Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and employees of the Mount Sinai Health System may access the Levy Library's electronic resources. More information is available here.
Consortium for Graduate Medical Education
- House Staff participating in the Consortium for Graduate Medical Education (GME) have circulation privileges and in-house use of the Levy Library collection. A valid ID from a GME Consortium institution is required for entrance to the Library.
- All faculty and staff of participating institutions of the Consortium for Graduate Medical Education (GME) have in-house use of the Levy Library collection. A valid ID from a GME Consortium institution is required for entrance to the Library. Circulation privileges and remote access to Levy Library resources are not extended to faculty and staff of GME Consortium institutions.
New York University
All faculty, students and staff of New York University (NYU) have in-house use of the Levy Library collection. A valid NYU ID is required for entrance to the Library. Circulation privileges and remote access to Levy Library resources are not extended to the New York University community.
The Levy Library is not open to the general public. Residents of the New York city metropolitan area may visit the Levy Library on a pre-arranged date to use a specific item in our print collection only if that item is not available at their local institution or at one of the New York Public Library Systems. To do so, please obtain a METRO Yellow Card from a library that participates in the METRO referral network. METRO Yellow cards are accepted between 9:00am-5:00pm. Please be advised the card holders are not eligible to access items from the library’s electronic collection. Mount Sinai Health System Libraries does not accept METRO Blue cards.
Special Requests for In-House Use
Certain individuals may be granted in-house use of the Library upon special request. Circulation privileges and remote access to Levy Library resources are not available by special request. Anyone wishing to use the Levy Library who is not part of the Mount Sinai community and who does not have a current Mount Sinai ID must request permission from the Levy Library Director. Requests must be in writing from an authorized administrator (e.g., Departmental Chairperson, Dean, Faculty member) and must include the name of the person for whom privileges are requested, that person's relationship to the department, the project on which he or she is working, the duration of the project, and a statement accepting responsibility for that individual's library use. Please submit your request to firstname.lastname@example.org.