Library E-Resources Access Issues: and Remote (Offsite) Login
If you use the Mount Sinai VPN to access Library Resources and find that you lose access to a journal even after logging in, we recommend using the bookmarklet.
Unfortunately, some publishers' sites seem to lose the Levy Library's proxy URL while on the VPN, but the bookmarklet can restore access by forcing you to re-authenticate yourself.
Alert: Access Issues
What is happening?
Digital and Technology Partners recently implemented Zscaler Internet Access (ZIA), a cloud-based Web-proxy that provides secure web access to Mount Sinai-managed devices. As a result, users who have Mount Sinai-managed Windows workstations, laptops, and kiosks, may have trouble accessing library resources through certain websites.
When Zscaler is enabled on a Mount Sinai-managed device, online articles, books, and databases that are accessed directly through publisher websites or publisher links in PubMed will not recognize the the library's subscription automatically and users will not be able to view the full-text or will be prompted to pay for access to the item.
We recommend using one of these options to access library resources:
- Log in using the Library Resource Login https://eresources.mssm.edu/login. Once logged in, you can visit publisher websites, PubMed, or the library catalog to search for and retrieve materials.
- Use the A-Z Database page https://libguides.mssm.edu/az.php to access select databases.
- Search the library catalog: https://icahn.mssm.edu/librarydiscovery. When you click to access the item, you will be prompted to log in using your Mount Sinai network credentials. You will then be able to access this resource and other library materials
Tips & Tricks
If you are using a personal workstation or laptop you have the option of installing the Levy Library Bookmarklet, or LibKey Nomad. These extensions allow you to authenticate to resources without visiting the Levy Library website or catalog directly. To learn more visit our page on installing the Levy Resources Bookmarklet, or LibKey Nomad browser extension.
To access PubMed, use this link: http://eresources.mssm.edu/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?holding=mssmlib&otool=mssmlib
If you have any questions, concerns, or feedback regarding library access, please use the Provide General Feedback option, on the Levy Library Feedback Form https://mountsinai.formstack.com/forms/levylibrary_feedback.
Remote (Off-Campus) Access to Levy Library's Collection
Active faculty, residents, students and staff of Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and the Mount Sinai Health System can access the majority of Levy Library's Resources while off-site by logging in using your Mount Sinai network credentials:
Once logged in you will have full access to books, journals and databases available on the website.
- If your Mount Sinai network username and password are correct but you are still having problems connecting to full-text, log out of your account to start a new session.
- If you need a reminder of your username/password contact the IT support team at your location:
- The Mount Sinai Hospital and Mount Sinai Queens: 212-241-4357
- The Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai: 212-241-7091 or ASCIT@mssm.edu
- Mount Sinai Beth Israel, Mount Sinai Brooklyn, Mount Sinai Morningside and Mount Sinai West: 212-523-6486
- To reset your password, use the Mount Sinai Microsoft Password Manager ( or call 212-241-4357 for assistance). *Note: you must have challenge questions set up to use the self-serve online password manager.
Library Authentication Bookmarklet
The Library also offers a bookmarklet which allows quick and easy access to Levy Library resources you discover outside of our website while browsing or using social media.
The Library's proxy prefix is http://eresources.mssm.edu/login?url= You may need this information for reference managers such as Endnote or other applications that connect to library resources.