Nursing Resources: Research
PubMed
What is a Systematic Review?
A systematic Review is a summary of rigorously obtained and scrutinized research literature related to a focused question. It involves identifying, selecting, appraising and synthesizing all high quality research evidence relevant to that question.
Reference Management
Reference management tools allow you to collect, organize, and store bibliographic information, and assist in creating and formatting bibliographies
Need to create a single reference quickly? PubMed and Nursing Reference Center Plus each contain a citation creator feature with a few format options.
Journal Selection for Authors
JANE (Journal Author Name Estimator) Use JANE to generate list of potential target journals
- PubsHub This link opens in a new window
CASP Appraisal Tools
Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) offers a set of 8 critical appraisal checklists.
Research and Publication Support
Levy Library Guides with research and publishing support information:
E-Journals
Print Books
The following print books are available at the Levy Library. Access restrictions may apply due to Covid.
Essentials of Nursing Research: appraising evidence for nursing practice by Call Number: WY 20.5 P769 2018ISBN: 1496351290Publication Date: 2018
Introduction to Nursing Research by Call Number: WY 20.5 IN619 2017ISBN: 1284079651Publication Date: 2017
Nursing Research: methods and critical appraisal for evidence-based practice by Call Number: WY 20.5 N974 2018ISBN: 0323431313Publication Date: 2018
Reading, Understanding, and Applying Nursing Research by Call Number: WY 20.5 F162 2017ISBN: 0803660413Publication Date: 2017
Nursing Research
Nursing Research is research that is used to support nursing practices. Nursing research develops knowledge about health and the promotion of health. Nurse researchers play a vital role in all aspects of health care delivery, from policy development to nurse education to community health best practices. Nurse research enhances innovation, evidence-based practice and is an essential component of Magnet organizations.
The National Institute of Nursing Research states that nursing research develops knowledge to:
- Build the scientific foundation for clinical practice
- Prevent disease and disability
- Manage and eliminate symptoms caused by illness
- Enhance end-of-life and palliative care
Sources: National Institute of Nursing Research. National Institute of Nursing Research-In Brief: what is nursing research? Bathesda MD: 2021 June 2. Available from:https://www.ninr.nih.gov/aboutninr/who-we-are
PICO Framework for Forming a Clinical Question
Research begins with a searchable, answerable question. PICO is a tool used to form a focused clinical question. To find the best research, clinicians start with a well-designed, focused question that contains all the elements that will lead to a relevant literature search. Types of clinical questions include: diagnosis, prevention, therapy, etiology or harm.
- P – Patient, Population or Problem
- I – Intervention (or exposure)
- C – Comparison
- O – Outcome
Evidence Pyramid: Levels of Evidence
The evidence pyramid depicts the hierarchy of levels of evidence based on the strength of research methods. Levels of evidence are assigned to study types based on the methodological quality of their design. As you move up the pyramid the level of evidence increases. It is still necessary to critically appraise how well a study was conducted, and to assess validity, potential bias, confounders, and chance in order to identify relevant papers and clinical applicability.
Image: Triton College Library Nursing Guide [Internet]. 2016. The evidence pyramid. Available from: https://library.triton.edu/c.php?g=433673&p=3720267
Sources: Al-Jundi A, Sakka S. Clinical appraisal of clinical research. Journal of clinical and diagnostic research. 2017 May; 11(5): JE10-JE05. Available from: DOI: 10.7860/JCDR/2017/26047.9942
Databases
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing and allied health literature plus additional resources. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Access Note: While on the Mount Sinai network, you can download the mobile app by clicking on the link at the bottom of the CINAHL site which states: "iPhone and Android apps". Open the confirmation email and install the app according to the instructions. - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases from The Cochrane Collaboration, an international network that prepares, promotes and disseminates systematic reviews of health care interventions. Includes six databases: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR; Cochrane Reviews); The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE; Other Reviews); The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL, Clinical Trials); The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); The Health Technology Assessment database; The National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA large interdisciplinary database that provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in thousands of subjects. Citation information is tracked back to 1996, allowing you to identify articles that reference earlier articles, calculate metrics such as the h-index and compare journal citation information.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a clinical information resource that aims to synthesize the latest research evidence with best practices in order to provide detailed recommendations. Register for an account or simply begin searching using the search bar at the top.
ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Trip Database is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
E-Books
The Application of Content Analysis in Nursing Science Research by ISBN: 3030301982Publication Date: 2020
Rapid Research Methods for Nurses, Midwives and Health Professionals by ISBN: 1119048419Publication Date: 2016
100 Tips to Avoid Mistakes in Academic Writing and Presenting by ISBN: 3030442136Publication Date: 2020
Magnet Recognized
The Mount Sinai Hospital earned Magnet status by the American Nurses Credentialing Center for the 3rd consecutive cycle in 2014 for our team’s unwavering dedication to patient care and nursing excellence. Prior Magnet designations were awarded in 2004 and 2009.
Medical Librarian and Library Manager
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
1 Gustave L. Levy Place
New York, NY 10029