Nursing Resources: Oncology & Palliative Care

This guide contains library resources and links that support nursing practice, with pages dedicated to nursing specialties, EBP, research, NCLEX, cultural competence, and patient education resources.

E-Journals

Online Resources

Associations

Databases

NOTE: Access to Nursing Reference Center Plus will end on September 30, 2025. Dynamic Health will replace Nursing Reference Center Plus. For information on the Dynamic Health database, please see the Levy Library's blog on Dynamic Health and Dynamic Health User's Guide. Click here for a Dynamic Health tutorial video.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 38 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Provides citations and abstracts for the journal literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Articles are indexed using National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). MEDLINE citations published in Index Medicus, and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature.
Nursing Reference Center Plus
Notice: The Nursing Reference Center Plus platform will be discontinued on September 30, 2025.
For clinical nursing information, visit Dynamic Health, which also offers continuing education (CE) credits.
To download existing NRCP CE certificates, please visit https://ceu.cinahl.com.
For more information on the NRCP-Dynamic Health transition contact refdesk@mssm.edu.

ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. ClinicalTrials.gov is a web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and condition.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases from The Cochrane Collaboration, an international network that prepares, promotes and disseminates systematic reviews of health care interventions. Includes six databases: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR; Cochrane Reviews); The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE; Other Reviews); The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL, Clinical Trials); The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); The Health Technology Assessment database; The National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database.

Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. The filters on right-hand side are intended to make it easier to find the most suitable content for your needs. Publishers are classified based on their output (e.g. Cochrane are classified in systematic reviews, NEJM as key primary research etc)

MEDLINE (Ovid)
MEDLINE provides citations and abstracts for the journal literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Articles are indexed using National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). MEDLINE contains citations published in Index Medicus, and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature.
EMBASE (Ovid)

Provides citations and abstracts for the biomedical sciences journal literature, in particular pharmacology, biotechnology, toxicology and occupational and environmental health. Covers 7,000 journals, over 25% of which are not in MEDLINE. Indexes articles using the Emtree thesaurus, which emphasizes synonyms for drugs and chemicals.