- Levy Library
- Levy Library Guides
- Topic Guides
- Nursing Resources
- Evidence Based Practice
Nursing Resources: Evidence Based Practice
CASP Appraisal Tools
Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) offers a set of 8 critical appraisal checklists.
E-Books
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, 4th edition by ISBN: 9781948057899Publication Date: 2022
Foundations of Clinical Research: Applications to Evidence-Based Practice by ISBN: 0803661134Publication Date: 2020
Magnet Recognized
The Mount Sinai Hospital earned Magnet status by the American Nurses Credentialing Center for the 3rd consecutive cycle in 2014 for our team’s unwavering dedication to patient care and nursing excellence. Prior Magnet designations were awarded in 2004 and 2009.
Evidence Based Practice in Nursing
Evidence-based practice (EBP) is a problem-solving approach to the delivery of health care that integrates the following three components: 1) best evidence from studies and patient care data, with 2) clinician expertise, and 3) the patient's preferences and values. Research studies show that evidence-based practice leads to higher quality care, improved patient outcomes, reduced costs, and greater nurse satisfaction.
Sources: Melnyk BM, Fineout-Overholt E, Stillwell SB, Williamson KM. Evidence-based practice step by step: the seven steps of evidence-based practice. American Journal of Nursing. 2010 January; 110(1); p 51-53. Available from: doi: 10.1097/01.NAJ.0000366056.06605.d2
Databases
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases from The Cochrane Collaboration, an international network that prepares, promotes and disseminates systematic reviews of health care interventions. Includes six databases: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR; Cochrane Reviews); The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE; Other Reviews); The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL, Clinical Trials); The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); The Health Technology Assessment database; The National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database.
- Trip databaseTrip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a clinical information resource that aims to synthesize the latest research evidence with best practices in order to provide detailed recommendations. Register for an account or simply begin searching using the search bar at the top.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DynaMed provides relevant information in an easy to digest format for fast implementation at the point-of-care.
App activation instructions:
1. Access DynaMed via the library's homepage or open the following link in a new web browser Dynamed Database
2. Click the Sign In/Create Account link at the top of the page. Fill out the fields and click submit.
3. You will receive an automated email from DynaMed prompting you to authenticate your account. Follow the link and subsequent prompts.
4. Once you have completed the authentication, sign in to your account within the browser.
5. Download the DynaMed app and login using your email address and the password you created.
Evidence Pyramid: Levels of Evidence
The evidence pyramid depicts the hierarchy of levels of evidence based on the strength of research methods. Levels of evidence are assigned to study types based on the methodological quality of their design. As you move up the pyramid the level of evidence increases. It is still necessary to critically appraise how well a study was conducted, and to assess validity, potential bias, confounders, and chance in order to identify relevant papers and clinical applicability.
Image: Triton College Library Nursing Guide [Internet]. 2016. The evidence pyramid. Available from: https://library.triton.edu/c.php?g=433673&p=3720267
Sources: Al-Jundi A, Sakka S. Clinical appraisal of clinical research. Journal of clinical and diagnostic research. 2017 May; 11(5): JE10-JE05. Available from: DOI: 10.7860/JCDR/2017/26047.9942
PICO Framework for Forming a Clinical Question
Research begins with a searchable, answerable question. PICO is a tool used to form a focused clinical question. To find the best research, clinicians start with a well-designed, focused question that contains all the elements that will lead to a relevant literature search. Types of clinical questions include: diagnosis, prevention, therapy, etiology or harm.
- P – Patient, Population or Problem
- I – Intervention (or exposure)
- C – Comparison
- O – Outcome
Five A's of Evidence-Based Practice
1. Ask Identify gaps in the knowledge and structure a focused and answerable question
2. Acquire Conduct an effective and comprehensive search for research evidence
3. Appraise Critically appraise research for its validity and clinical importance
4. Apply Apply appraised evidence in consideration of the patient's preferences and values
5. Assess Evaluate quality of care through refection of EBP related clinical activity
Disseminate to increase and promote the spread of knowledge of evidence-based interventions to enhance greater application and patient outcomes.
Sources: Leung K, Trevena L, Waters D. Content validation of the evidence-based nursing practice assessment tool. Nurse Researcher. 2018 June; 26(1) p 33. Available from: DOI:10.7748/nr.2018.e1544
The Nursing Ace [Internet] c2019. Dissemination of evidence based practice: project results in nursing. 2021 July 29. Available from: https://thenursingace.com/dissemination-of-evidence-based-practice-project-results-in-nursing/.