Nursing Resources: Clinical Practice

This guide contains library resources and links that support nursing practice, with pages dedicated to nursing specialties, EBP, research, NCLEX, cultural competence, and patient education resources.

PubMed

PubMed tutorial

Dynamic Health tutorial

CE Getting Started handout

E-Journals

Internet Resources

American Nursing Association (ANA)

Nursing.org
List of Nursing Organizations

Magnet Recognized

The Mount Sinai Hospital earned Magnet status by the American Nurses Credentialing Center for the 3rd consecutive cycle in 2014 for our team’s unwavering dedication to patient care and nursing excellence. Prior Magnet designations were awarded in 2004 and 2009.

Mount Sinai Center for Nursing Research and Education

Mount Sinai Nurses Website

Magnet website

Best Practice at Mount Sinai

Mount Sinai Hospital Infection Control Manual

(On campus only.)

Nursing Clinical and Administrative Manual

(On campus only.)

Databases

Dynamic Health has replaced Nursing Reference Center Plus. For information on Dynamic Health, please see the Levy Library's blog on Dynamic Health and the Dynamic Health User's Guide. Click here for a Dynamic Health tutorial video. Dynamic Health's Continuing Education: CE Getting Started handout

Dynamic Health
Dynamic Health is an evidence-based resource designed by nurses for nurses and allied health professionals to provide clinical resources at the point of care. Earn continuing education credits, locate procedural instructions for nursing skills, labs and tests, access drug information, diseases/conditions, care interventions and more, all on the go. It includes patient handouts on conditions, procedures and tests, and discharge instructions.
NOTE: Dynamic Health personal accounts do not include continuing education (CE) credits from Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRCP). To access NRCP CE credits, please visit https://ceu.cinahl.com. Questions? Contact refdesk@mssm.edu.
Mobile App Instructions:
1. Access Dynamic Health through the Library Database.
2. Register for a personal account. Choose whatever username/password you want - it does not need to be your Mount Sinai credentials.
3. Download the Dynamic Health app from the iOS App Store or Google Play Store
4. Login using your personal account username/password.
CINAHL Complete

Full-text nursing and allied health literature plus additional resources. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.

Access Note: While on the Mount Sinai network, you can download the mobile app by clicking on the link at the bottom of the CINAHL site which states: "iPhone and Android apps". Open the confirmation email and install the app according to the instructions.
Lexidrug (Formerly Lexicomp)
An integrated search platform for multiple drug databases including the Mount Sinai Formulary and Lexi-Drugs. Includes a drug interaction and compatibility tool, generic drug availability, as well as pricing information.

Mobile App Access Instructions
For mobile app activation instructions, login to the Library Resources Special Directions page.
UpToDate
UpToDate is a clinical information resource that aims to synthesize the latest research evidence with best practices in order to provide detailed recommendations. Register for an account or simply begin searching using the search bar at the top.
Mobile App Activation Instructions
1. Download the UTD app from the App Store and login EITHER by using your personal UpToDate account username/password OR by selecting the Sign in with Open Athens option.
2. Every few months you will be prompted to re-authenticate, which you can do by following the login process from step 1.
Nursing & Allied Health Source

This database covers nursing and allied health journals, videos, dissertations, reference books and more.
PubMed

Notice: Due to the lapse in government funding, PubMed may not be updated as quickly. Biomedical literature is available in the multidisciplinary Scopus and Web of Science databases which are updated daily.
PubMed comprises more than 38 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Provides citations and abstracts for the journal literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Articles are indexed using National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). MEDLINE citations published in Index Medicus, and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature.