- Levy Library
- Levy Library Guides
- Topic Guides
- Nursing Resources
- Patient Education
Nursing Resources: Patient Education
Health Literacy Resources
Information and tools on health literacy practice, and evaluation.
Patient Handouts
Levy Library licensed databases with Patient Education handouts
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate is a clinical information resource that aims to synthesize the latest research evidence with best practices in order to provide detailed recommendations. Register for an account or simply begin searching using the search bar at the top.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
How to evaluate Health Information online
- Medical Library Association (MLA) Guidelines For Good Health InformationThe Medical Library Association offers guidelines for evaluating online health content.
- Medline Plus: Guide to Healthy Web SurfingMedline Plus, from the National Library of Medicine, offers links to reliable consumer health resources, and tips to find accurate health information on the web.
- Health Information on the Web from FamiilyDdctor.orgWritten with the layperson in mind by American Academy of Family Physicians, Familydoctor.org highlights things to consider or ask yourself when evaluating consumer health websites.
Levy Library Consumer Health Information Guide
- Consumer Health Information: A Brief GuideThe Levy Library's Guide to reliable websites for patients.
Health Literacy
It is important to select patient education resources that fit a patient's health literacy. Health Literacy is the degree to which individuals have the capacity to obtain, process, and understand basic health information and services needed to make well informed health decisions. Health Literacy requires patients have a complex group of reading, listening, analytical, and decision-making skills, as well as the ability to apply these skills to health situations. Low health literacy can affect a patient's ability to communicate with a health care provider, calculate doses, analyze risk vs benefit, interpret tests, and evaluate the credibility of information on websites. Once you have assessed your patient's needs, concerns, preferences, and possible barriers to learning, you will need to select resources that fit the patient.
Sources: National Institutes of Health [Internet]. Bethesda MD. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services; c2020. Health literacy; 2021 June 30. Available from: https://www.nih.gov/institutes-nih/nih-office-director/office-communications-public-liaison/clear-communication/health-literacy
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
E-Books
The Medication Interest Model: How to Talk with Patients About Their Medications by ISBN: 1451185200Publication Date: 2018
Nursing: Health Education and Improving Patient Self-Management by ISBN: 9783031112546Publication Date: 2023
Print Books
Effective Patient Education: a Guide to Increased Adherence by Call Number: W 85 F197 2011ISBN: 9780763766252Publication Date: 2010
Consumer Health Websites
- The Cleveland Clinic Health Information CenterProduced by the Cleveland Clinic to benefit patients, the general public, and healthcare professionals, this site offers nearly 5,000 articles, videos, podcasts and tools for managing your health.
- EatRight.orgThe Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals founded in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1917, the Academy represents more than 112,000 credentialed practitioners.
- Familydoctor.orgThe content on FamilyDoctor.org is intended for individuals who are seeking reliable health information written at a 6th-8th grade reading level. Children, teens, and seniors can explore sections specifically for them.
- Kidshealth.orgKidsHealth is part of The Nemours Foundation's Center for Children's Health Media. They provide health information through four difference sections, for parents, for kids, for teens, and for educators.
- Lab tests onlineLab Tests Online is an award-winning health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care.
- Mayo ClinicMayoClinic.com offers a wealth of easy-to-understand health and medical information. In addition to comprehensive disease and condition guides the site includes descriptions of drugs, supplements, tests, and procedures; healthy living guides; a symptom checker; and expert blogs.
- Medline PlusThe National Library of Medicine, a part of the National Institutes of Health, created and maintains MedlinePlus to assist you in locating authoritative health information.
MedlinePlus pages contain carefully selected links to Web resources with health information on over 950 topics. - Merck Manual Home Edition for Patients and CaregiversBased on the widely used textbook of medicine, the online edition of the Merck Manual is written in everyday language and contains photographs, audio and video material. Other helpful features include first aid information, common medical tests, a drug names table, and links to other reliable resources and information.
- National Institute of AgingThe National Institute on Aging (NIA) website offers information about the science of healthy aging, and Alzheimer’s disease and Alzheimer’s disease-related dementias (AD/ADRD). NIA scientists and other experts review the content of this website before it is published.
- NetWellnessNetWellness, a nonprofit consumer health website, provides more than 55,000 pages of high quality information created and evaluated by medical and health professional faculty at the University of Cincinnati, Case Western Reserve University, and the Ohio State University. Its “Ask An Expert” feature is a question and answer service provided by numerous health care professionals of the three universities. The “Reference Library” section provides links to other carefully selected health sites, and the “Research” section provides access to information about the latest medical research.
- NORD's Rare Disease DatabaseNORD’s Rare Disease Database provides brief introductions for patients and caregivers to specific rare diseases.
Drug Information Resources
- Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Drugs PageThe FDA oversees the regulation of pharmaceutical and food products as well as medical devices. The site has both professional and consumer information on topics such as specific drugs, taking medications safely, buying generic drugs, and saving money on prescriptions. It also includes a guide to buying drugs safely online, information about recalls and product safety, and post-market drug safety information.
- Consumer Med Safety (Institute for Safe Medication Practices)From the Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP), this unique website is designed to help the consumer, avoid mistakes when taking medicines, including OTC medicines.
- PDR online (Prescriber's Digital Reference)From the publishers of Physicians’ Digital Reference, PDR.net, includes information about prescription drugs. Search for drug information by name..
- CenterWatch/Clinical Trials Listing ServiceSince 1994, CenterWatch has been the recognized global leader in providing clinical trials information to professionals working at sponsors, CROs, research sites and niche service providers. Today, CenterWatch delivers critical industry insights to 150,000 life science executives every week.