Nursing Resources: Behavioral Health & Addiction

E-Journals

Internet Resources

Pharmacology

Databases with drug information

Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An integrated search platform for multiple drug databases including the Mount Sinai Formulary and Lexi-Drugs. Includes a drug interaction and compatibility tool, generic drug availability, as well as pricing information.

Mobile App Access Instructions
For mobile app activation instructions, login to the Library Resources Special Directions page.

Databases with drug information

Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With Nursing Reference Center (NRC), nurses can get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills and read full-text journal articles anytime and anywhere.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mobile App Activation Instructions
In order to use the mobile app, you must register for a person UpToDate account through the UpToDate website. Please follow the steps below to register for an account.

1. From Mount Sinai's network go to the UpToDate search page and click the register option in the upper right corner if you are not prompted to register on the main page.
2. Register for a personal account. Choose whatever username/password you want - does not need to be your Mount Sinai credentials.
3. Download the UTD app from the App Store and login using your personal account username/password.
4. Every few months you'll need to authenticate yourself as an active Mount Sinai user. To do this, just login to UpToDate from a computer on Mount Sinai's network.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access Mobile App activation instructions:
1. On a desktop or mobile browser, navigate to AccessMedicine homepage while on the Mount Sinai network.
2. Select the ISMMS button in the upper right corner of the page and choose 'Sign in or Create a Free Access Profile from the drop down.
3. Either sign in or Create a free MyAccess Profile. Use your Mount Sinai institutional email address to ensure your account can be verified.
4. Once you create an account, download and install the app on your mobile device. *The app is not yet optimized for viewing on iPad or tablet*
5. After installing, you will be prompted to sign in with your Access profile credentials.
6. If you downloaded the app first, you will automatically be validated once you are on-site or connected via VPN.

NOTE:
You will need to re-authenticate to your Mount Sinai subscription every 90 days. To do this, you will visit the library website while on-site or using VPN. You will receive an in-app reminder when you need to reconnect to the subscription.

Professional Associations

Magnet Recognized

The Mount Sinai Hospital earned Magnet status by the American Nurses Credentialing Center for the 3rd consecutive cycle in 2014 for our team’s unwavering dedication to patient care and nursing excellence. Prior Magnet designations were awarded in 2004 and 2009.

Mount Sinai Center for Nursing Research and Education

Mount Sinai Nurses Website

Magnet website

Best Practice at Mount Sinai

Mount Sinai Hospital Infection Control Manual

(On campus only.)

Nursing Clinical and Administrative Manual

(On campus only.)

Databases

Dynamic Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dynamic Health is an evidence-based resource designed by nurses for nurses to streamline the nursing workflow and provide clinical resources at the point of care. Earn continuing education credits, locate procedural instructions for nursing skills, labs and tests, access drug information, diseases/conditions, care interventions and more, all on the go.

NOTE: Register for a personal account to access and track continuing education (CE) modules.

Mobile App Instructions:

1. Access Dynamic Health through the Library Database.
2. Register for a personal account. Choose whatever username/password you want - it does not need to be your Mount Sinai credentials.
3. Download the Dynamic Health app from the iOS App Store or Google Play Store
4. Login using your personal account username/password.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
With Nursing Reference Center (NRC), nurses can get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills and read full-text journal articles anytime and anywhere.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Provides citations and abstracts for the journal literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Articles are indexed using National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). MEDLINE citations published in Index Medicus, and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature.
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline is an integrated collection of psychiatric resources from American Psychiatric Publishing including: reference works, e-books, journals, news articles, self-assessment tools, PDA downloads, and more.
Core resources include: The DSM-IV-TR and DSM-IV Casebook, American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders, Essentials of Clinical Psychopharmacology, and Clinical & Research News from Psychiatric News.
Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers nursing and allied health journals, videos, dissertations, reference books and more.
PsycArticles (OVID platform) This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. NOTE: PsycArticles was not renewed effective January 1, 2024. Request articles from APA journals via interlibrary loan.
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports as well as citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, and education.
Coverage extends back to 1887. Also known as PsychINFO.