Open Access: What is Open Access?
Books on Open Access
Open Access byCall Number: E-BookISBN: 1780632118Publication Date: 2006-07-31This book brings together many of the worlds leading open access experts to provide an analysis of the key strategic, technical and economic aspects on the topic of open access.
The Access Principle byCall Number: Z 286 O63 W733 2006. Print only.ISBN: 0262232421Publication Date: 2005-10-07An argument for extending the circulation of knowledge with new publishing technologies considers scholarly, economic, philosophical, and practical issues.
Copyright Versus Open Access byCall Number: E-BookISBN: 331912739XPublication Date: 2014-12-29This book addresses the recent debate about copyright law and its impact on the distribution of scientific knowledge from an economic perspective.
Scholarly Communications-Related Guides
Unrestricted Access to Scholarly Output
What is Open Access? "Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles, coupled with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment." - SPARC
Benefits of Open Access
- Widest possible audience for your research: maximize your impact
- Author Rights: retain the rights to reuse and distribute your research.
- Unrestricted access benefits everyone: no paywalls to scholarly research
- Accelerates the rate of scientific discovery
What are Article Processing Charges (APCs)? APCs are fees paid by authors, their institutions, or funders in order to make an article available under the open access model. These fees range by journal as well as article type and length. APCs may sometimes be optional, where a subscription journal allows authors to opt-in to the OA model. Alternatively, some journals are fully open access, where all articles are subject to the charge and the entire journal is openly available. See the "Types of Open Access" tab for more information.
Open Access Publishing and the Levy Library Press
- BioMedCentral This link opens in a new windowBioMed Central publishes more than 200 peer-reviewed journals from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Mount Sinai Author Discount: 15%
- PubMed Central (PMC)Free archive of biomedicine and life science journal articles. From the National Library of Medicine (NLM), a division of the NIH.
- Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE)Search for open access content. Over 2,400 repositories and a responsive search interface automatically mapping to 21 languages.
- Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new windowThe Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for Open Access monographs. DOAB provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an Open Access business model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.
All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
All DOAJ services are free of charge. All data is freely available.
- cOAlition SAn initiative to make full and immediate open access to research publications a reality.
- OpenDOAROpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of over 2,200 academic open access repositories.
- Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world. Over 3,300 repositories listed.
- SPARC Author AddendumSecure your rights as the author of a journal article.