Nursing Resources: Clinical Practice
Nursing Reference Center Plus database video
The Mount Sinai Hospital earned Magnet status by the American Nurses Credentialing Center for the 3rd consecutive cycle in 2014 for our team’s unwavering dedication to patient care and nursing excellence. Prior Magnet designations were awarded in 2004 and 2009.
Mount Sinai Center for Nursing Research and Education
Best Practice at Mount Sinai
(On campus only.)
(On campus only.)
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-text nursing and allied health literature plus additional resources. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Access Note: While on the Mount Sinai network, you can download the mobile app by clicking on the link at the bottom of the CINAHL site which states: "iPhone and Android apps". Open the confirmation email and install the app according to the instructions.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
An integrated search platform for multiple drug databases including the Mount Sinai Formulary and Lexi-Drugs. Includes a drug interaction and compatibility tool as well as pricing information.
Mobile App Access Instructions
For mobile app activation instructions, login to the E-Resources Special Directions page.
- Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new windowThis database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a clinical information resource that aims to synthesize the latest research evidence with best practices in order to provide detailed recommendations. Register for an account or simply begin searching using the search bar at the top.
App activation instructions:
1. From Mount Sinai's network go to the UpToDate search page and click the register option in the upper right corner.
2. Register for a personal account. Choose whatever username/password you want - does not need to be your Mount Sinai credentials.
3. Download the UTD app from the App Store and login using your personal account username/password.
4. Every few months you'll need to authenticate yourself as an active Mount Sinai user. To do this, just login to UpToDate from a computer on Mount Sinai's network.
- Lippincott Nursing Procedures, 9th ed byISBN: 1975178580Publication Date: 2022
- Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice byISBN: 1496379942Publication Date: 2019
- Sparks and Taylor's Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual byISBN: 1496347811Publication Date: 2020
- Lippincott Visual Nursing: a guide to diseases, skills and treatments byISBN: 1496381785Publication Date: 2019
- Handbook of Signs and Symptoms byISBN: 1451194250Publication Date: 2015
- Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking byISBN: 9781469893419Publication Date: 2017
- Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination byISBN: 9780323761833Publication Date: 2022
- Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses ( byCall Number: Also available in Stat!RefISBN: 9781719646406Publication Date: 2022
- Fluids and Electrolytes Made Incredibly Easy! byISBN: 1451193963Publication Date: 2015
- ECGs for Nurses byISBN: 1405181621Publication Date: 2009
- Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications byISBN: 1719640580Publication Date: 2021
- Rapid Infection Control Nursing byISBN: 1118342461Publication Date: 2014
- Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses byISBN: 1451194293Publication Date: 2015
Medical Librarian and Library Manager
First Avenue at 16 Street
4 Silver, Room 12
New York, NY 10003