Mount Sinai West Medical Library: Library Resources
The Mount Sinai West Medical Library is committed to supporting the health system's robust culture of research, scholarship, and evidence-based practice. Our librarians are available to provide 1:1 literature search assistance, support evidence-based practice, assist with publishing support, and for educational and instructional presentations and meetings.
To find out more about our research support services, please visit our Education & Research Services page.
Nurses at Mount Sinai West have access to a variety of resources covering topics such as clinical practice, patient education, and evidence based practice. Useful databases including Nursing Reference Center Plus, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, and Nursing & Allied Health Source are also available, as well as selected E-Books and E-Journals specific to nursing. Please note that some resources may require you to login using your hospital network ID.
To learn more about these available resources, please visit our Nursing Resources Guide.
Residents & Fellows
We are pleased to support the clinical, teaching, and scholarly activities of interns, residents and fellows in the MSHS Graduate Medical Education (GME) programs. Residents and Fellows at Mount Sinai West have access to useful resources and services, including mobile apps, USMLE & Board Review services, and video tutorials.
To learn more about these services, please visit our Library Resources & Services Guide for Residents & Fellows.
All Mount Sinai faculty, staff, and students have access to the Levy Library catalog through Research Discovery, a one-stop searching for journals, articles, books, e-books, digital media, and more.
Our new platform also helps you customize and manage your research experience.
A Research Discovery account is not required to access and view full-text resources, but you can sign up for a Research Discovery Account to gain access to the following features:
Renew books and materials
Create and save your favorites lists
Export citations to your Reference Management System
View full search results (Some databases only show results when you're signed in.)
The physical book collection and bound periodical collection at the Mount Sinai West Medical Library is only available for use inside of the library. These books and journals are not available for borrowing at this time.
Please use the Levy Library Catalog to find the most recent editions of books and volumes of journals that are available.
Mount Sinai faculty, staff, and students who primarily work or study at Mount Sinai West can request to have materials delivered to the Medical Library for pickup. If you find an item in the catalog that is listed as "Available" at the Levy Library, you can send an email to email@example.com specifying the item you want to borrow. You must include that you would like it delivered to the Mount Sinai West Medical Library. If the item can be shipped, a staff member of the library will notify you when the item is available for pickup.
Please note that some items, such as materials in the Reserve Collection, are not eligible for delivery to the Mount Sinai West Medical Library. After you send your request for an item, you will be notified if it can be delivered or not.
Interlibrary Loan Services
Interlibrary Loan Services (ILL) allows ISMMS students, residents, faculty, and staff and MSHS employees to borrow materials from other libraries when an item is not available at the Mount Sinai West Medical Library, or in our electronic collection.
In order to make an ILL request all users must first register for an ILLiad account. ILLiad also enables users to track the status of their requests, and can provide available articles in PDF format through its Electronic Delivery option.
- Electronically delivered articles are usually available within 2-3 business days.
- Request for physical materials can take from 7-14 days to receive depending on the location of the item.
Request Policies and Limits
- All interlibrary loan items must either be returned or renewed (if allowed) by the due date. Failure to return any item in a timely manner could result in lost material fees applied by the lending library. Failure to return an item will result in a loss of interlibrary loan and/or library services privileges.
Mount Sinai Health System Libraries subscribes to the National Interlibrary Loan Code of the American Library Association as well as to regional agreements, and adheres strictly to copyright law.
To learn more, please visit our Interlibrary Loan Services webpage.