Scholarly Publishing and Visualization Hub: Create

Our Medical Illustrators can partner with you to create biomedical illustrations and animations for your academic publications and presentations. The illustrators work with faculty, staff, and student researchers at the School, as well as with clinicians and researchers across the Mount Sinai Health System. Visualization subjects range from surgical procedures to sub-cellular processes. Learn more by visiting our Visualization Services page.

We have prepared guides to help you export your figures from Excel to publication-ready TIF files:

Visit the Biomedical Images guide to discover sources for freely available images to use in your publications or presentations. These images are either in the public domain or available under a Creative Commons license.

The Writing Resources guide links to e-books, style manuals and other writing tools.  It also provides information about writing and reviewing communities available to Mount Sinai such as those on writing productivity from the NCFDD-Faculty Development 

The ISMMS Writing Support Service provides students, housestaff, and postdocs with 1:1 no-cost consultations from an experienced science writer and editor in a collaborative, non-judgmental, and confidential setting. Our writing support consultant is happy to collaborate with you at any stage of the writing process, from brainstorming to drafting to revising, to help make your manuscript more clear and effective. Our consultant can also work with you to ensure that your cover letter, responses to reviewers, and other documents necessary for manuscript submission and publication are as clearly presented as possible.

Mount Sinai provides resources towards creating and printing posters for research and clinical conferences. Poster sized PowerPoint templates are available in the Brand Center under Downloads à Templates and tools à PowerPoint templates à Medical/Scientific posters. You can log into the Brand Center using your Mount Sinai SSO credentials.

The Digital Media Center in the Department of Neuroscience provides large-format poster printing, which may be paid for by fund transfer or personal check.

Several units at Mount Sinai offer resources about data management and storage:

• The Academic IT Support Center (ASCIT) provides a chart of data storage options as well as information about technical support.
• The Research Roadmap contains information about data retention and data management. 
• Scientific Computing and Data at Mount Sinai offers hundreds of data sets and expert consultation on using data securely. 
• The Levy Library's Research Data Management and Sharing guide provides resources on data management plans, finding repositories, and writing data availability statements for your publications. 

Consider documenting your research progress for individual and shared projects in Mount Sinai's LabArchives Electronic Lab Notebook.

The Levy Library Research Synthesis and Systematic Review service supports teams conducting systematic, scoping, and other types of evidence and research syntheses. Our librarians can advise on methodology and search strategy development and collaborate on the review as a member of the team. We also license software tools like Covidence and EndNote to support scholarly collaboration.

The Library Statistics and Data Science Guide links to data science and statistics books and introduces centers and departments at Mount Sinai who provide biostatistics consultation for students, faculty and staff.

For more on the software licensed by Mount Sinai and available on computers in the Library or for your own devices, visit these software-specific pages or the ASCIT Academic Software Information page:

• SAS
• SPSS
• R & R Studio

Reference management tools allow you to collect, organize, and store bibliographic information about source material such as journal articles, books, reports, and multimedia, and make creating and formatting bibliographies and in-text citations easy. Learn more about the reference management tools that the Levy Library supports, EndNote and Zotero, by clicking visiting our Reference Management guide.

Our team offers workshops on topics including conducting literature reviews, navigating literature databases, understanding artificial intelligence, choosing appropriate publication targets, and more. Visit our Workshops & Events page for future offerings.

Interested in learning more about Levy Library’s support and resources for Scholarly Publishing?
Email refdesk@mssm.edu

Interested in collaborating with one of our medical illustrators?
Email visualization@mssm.edu