Statistics & Data Science Resources: R Resources
Where is R software available?
R & R Studio software are available on all the public computers in Levy Library. More information about accessing library computers for statistical software is available on our Computing guide.
R is also free to download and can be accessed online on the R Project's website.
R E-Books
Applied Statistics: Using SPSS, Statistica, Matlab and R by ISBN: 9783540719717Publication Date: 2007-06-08
Biostatistics and Computer-Based Analysis of Health Data Using the R by
Biostatistics and Computer-Based Analysis of Health Data Using the R Software addresses the concept that many of the actions performed by statistical software comes back to the handling, manipulation, or even transformation of digital data. It is therefore of primary importance to understand how statistical data is displayed and how it can be exploited by software such as R. In this book, the authors explore basic and variable commands, sample comparisons, analysis of variance, epidemiological studies, and censored data. With proposed applications and examples of commands following each chapter, this book allows readers to apply advanced statistical concepts to their own data and software. Features useful commands for describing a data table composed made up of quantitative and qualitative variables Includes measures of association encountered in epidemiological studies, odds ratio, relative risk, and prevalence Presents an analysis of censored data, the key main tests associated with the construction of a survival curve (log-rank test or Wilcoxon), and the Cox regression model
ISBN: 9780081011751Publication Date: 2016-07-13
Data Mining Applications with R by
Data Mining Applications with R is a great resource for researchers and professionals to understand the wide use of R, a free software environment for statistical computing and graphics, in solving different problems in industry. R is widely used in leveraging data mining techniques across many different industries, including government, finance, insurance, medicine, scientific research and more. This book presents 15 different real-world case studies illustrating various techniques in rapidly growing areas. It is an ideal companion for data mining researchers in academia and industry looking for ways to turn this versatile software into a powerful analytic tool. R code, Data and color figures for the book are provided at the RDataMining.com website. Helps data miners to learn to use R in their specific area of work and see how R can apply in different industries Presents various case studies in real-world applications, which will help readers to apply the techniques in their work Provides code examples and sample data for readers to easily learn the techniques by running the code by themselves
ISBN: 9780124115200Publication Date: 2013-11-26
Data Science and Predictive Analytics: Biomedical and Health Applications using R by ISBN: 3319723464Publication Date: 2018
R and Data Mining by
R and Data Mining introduces researchers, post-graduate students, and analysts to data mining using R, a free software environment for statistical computing and graphics. The book provides practical methods for using R in applications from academia to industry to extract knowledge from vast amounts of data. Readers will find this book a valuable guide to the use of R in tasks such as classification and prediction, clustering, outlier detection, association rules, sequence analysis, text mining, social network analysis, sentiment analysis, and more. Data mining techniques are growing in popularity in a broad range of areas, from banking to insurance, retail, telecom, medicine, research, and government. This book focuses on the modeling phase of the data mining process, also addressing data exploration and model evaluation. With three in-depth case studies, a quick reference guide, bibliography, and links to a wealth of online resources, R and Data Mining is a valuable, practical guide to a powerful method of analysis. Presents an introduction into using R for data mining applications, covering most popular data mining techniques Provides code examples and data so that readers can easily learn the techniques Features case studies in real-world applications to help readers apply the techniques in their work
ISBN: 9780123972712Publication Date: 2012-12-31
The R Book by
Hugely successful and popular text presenting an extensive and comprehensive guide for all R users The R language is recognized as one of the most powerful and flexible statistical software packages, enabling users to apply many statistical techniques that would be impossible without such software to help implement such large data sets. R has become an essential tool for understanding and carrying out research. This edition: Features full colour text and extensive graphics throughout. Introduces a clear structure with numbered section headings to help readers locate information more efficiently. Looks at the evolution of R over the past five years. Features a new chapter on Bayesian Analysis and Meta-Analysis. Presents a fully revised and updated bibliography and reference section. Is supported by an accompanying website allowing examples from the text to be run by the user. Praise for the first edition: '...if you are an R user or wannabe R user, this text is the one that should be on your shelf. The breadth of topics covered is unsurpassed when it comes to texts on data analysis in R.' (The American Statistician, August 2008) 'The High-level software language of R is setting standards in quantitative analysis. And now anybody can get to grips with it thanks to The R Book...' (Professional Pensions, July 2007)
ISBN: 9781118448960Publication Date: 2012-11-07
Statistical Hypothesis Testing with SAS and R by
A comprehensive guide to statistical hypothesis testing with examples in SAS and R When analyzing datasets the following questions often arise: Is there a short hand procedure for a statistical test available in SAS or R? If so, how do I use it? If not, how do I program the test myself? This book answers these questions and provides an overview of the most common statistical test problems in a comprehensive way, making it easy to find and perform an appropriate statistical test. A general summary of statistical test theory is presented, along with a basic description for each test, including the necessary prerequisites, assumptions, the formal test problem and the test statistic. Examples in both SAS and R are provided, along with program code to perform the test, resulting output and remarks explaining the necessary program parameters. Key features: * Provides examples in both SAS and R for each test presented. * Looks at the most common statistical tests, displayed in a clear and easy to follow way. * Supported by a supplementary website http://www.d-taeger.de featuring example program code. Academics, practitioners and SAS and R programmers will find this book a valuable resource. Students using SAS and R will also find it an excellent choice for reference and data analysis.
ISBN: 9781118762615Publication Date: 2014-01-09
