Nursing Resources: Clinical Practice

Nursing Reference Center Plus database video

PubMed

PubMed tutorial

E-Journals

Internet Resources

American Nursing Association (ANA)

Nursing.org
List of Nursing Organizations

Magnet Recognized

The Mount Sinai Hospital earned Magnet status by the American Nurses Credentialing Center for the 3rd consecutive cycle in 2014 for our team’s unwavering dedication to patient care and nursing excellence. Prior Magnet designations were awarded in 2004 and 2009.

Mount Sinai Center for Nursing Research and Education

Mount Sinai Nurses Website

Magnet website

Best Practice at Mount Sinai

Mount Sinai Hospital Infection Control Manual

(On campus only.)

Nursing Clinical and Administrative Manual

(On campus only.)

Databases

Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
With Nursing Reference Center (NRC), nurses can get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills and read full-text journal articles anytime and anywhere.
Dynamic Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dynamic Health is an evidence-based resource designed by nurses for nurses to streamline the nursing workflow and provide clinical resources at the point of care. Earn continuing education credits, locate procedural instructions for nursing skills, labs and tests, access drug information, diseases/conditions, care interventions and more, all on the go.

NOTE: Register for a personal account to access and track continuing education (CE) modules.

Mobile App Instructions:

1. Access Dynamic Health through the Library Database.
2. Register for a personal account. Choose whatever username/password you want - it does not need to be your Mount Sinai credentials.
3. Download the Dynamic Health app from the iOS App Store or Google Play Store
4. Login using your personal account username/password.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing and allied health literature plus additional resources. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.

Access Note: While on the Mount Sinai network, you can download the mobile app by clicking on the link at the bottom of the CINAHL site which states: "iPhone and Android apps". Open the confirmation email and install the app according to the instructions.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An integrated search platform for multiple drug databases including the Mount Sinai Formulary and Lexi-Drugs. Includes a drug interaction and compatibility tool, generic drug availability, as well as pricing information.

Mobile App Access Instructions
For mobile app activation instructions, login to the Library Resources Special Directions page.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a clinical information resource that aims to synthesize the latest research evidence with best practices in order to provide detailed recommendations. Register for an account or simply begin searching using the search bar at the top.
Mobile App Activation Instructions
In order to use the mobile app, you must register for a person UpToDate account through the UpToDate website. Please follow the steps below to register for an account.

1. From Mount Sinai's network go to the UpToDate search page and click the register option in the upper right corner if you are not prompted to register on the main page.
2. Register for a personal account. Choose whatever username/password you want - does not need to be your Mount Sinai credentials.
3. Download the UTD app from the App Store and login using your personal account username/password.
4. Every few months you'll need to authenticate yourself as an active Mount Sinai user. To do this, just login to UpToDate from a computer on Mount Sinai's network.
Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers nursing and allied health journals, videos, dissertations, reference books and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Provides citations and abstracts for the journal literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Articles are indexed using National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). MEDLINE citations published in Index Medicus, and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature.