Archived - Levy Library Blog

Welcome to the Levy Library!

We are glad you joined us here at Mount Sinai and found your way to the Library Blog!  

The Levy Library is a resource for you from the start--providing access to online books and journal articles for your course readings--to the finish with your thesis, dissertation or culminating scholarly project. 

We have resources and services for all the learning in between. Need to find a mentor or collaborator?  Want to organize your references?  Increase your skills with writing prompts for generative AI?  Take a look at our Scholarly Publishing and Visualization Hub to get ideas and learn about supportive services. 

We want to get to know you and help you grow your skills and succeed.  Get to know us by connecting with Ask a Librarian, hanging out in spaces designed for you like the Levy Library Student Commons, share your ideas with us--in person, via email or through your representatives on the Student Council Subcommittee on Technology and Libraries. 

We can't wait to meet you!

Kris Alpi, Associate Dean of Libraries and Information Sciences

Happy Graduate and Professional Student Appreciation Week Month! At the Levy Library, we want to take a moment to recognize and celebrate the dedication, resilience, and passion you bring to your work each day. Whether you’re diving into research, tackling complex coursework, or contributing to groundbreaking discoveries, your efforts inspire us all. 

As your library team, we're here to be your equitable partner every step of the way—whether you need access to essential resources, research support, a quiet study space, or just a helpful hand. Here's how we can help you thrive throughout your academic journey: 

1. Your Partner in Scholarly Research 
Need help with your research? Whether it’s refining your research question, conducting a literature review, navigating complex databases or managing your citations, our Education & Research Services team offers personalized consultations to help you develop research strategies that save time and get results.  Don’t forget to explore the Scholarly Publishing and Visualization Hub, our new portal for support in reference management, the publishing and promotion process, metrics, and visualizations—an invaluable resource for taking your scholarly research and work to the next level.

2. Powerful Tools and Resources 

Access our robust collection of scholarly tools and materials including literature databases like PubMed, point of care tools like UpToDate, e-books, scholarly articles, and reference management tools like EndNote and Zotero to streamline your workflow. Not sure if we have access to something? Contact our Ask a Librarian service, and we will be more than happy to help you find what you need.

3. Workshops and Classes 
Our Library Classes & Workshops are designed to build your confidence and skills, whether you’re just starting your research or diving deep into data management. We offer a wide range of workshops including introductions to EndNote and Zotero, conducting literature reviews, publishing, and artificial intelligence.  

4. Study Spaces That Work for You 
We know that both focus and downtime are essential to your success. That’s why the Levy Library offers a range of study environments—from quiet zones to collaborative workspaces and tech-equipped rooms—so you can choose what works best for you. Need a more private spot? Our reservable rooms are perfect for virtual meetings, interviews, or solo study sessions. And don’t forget to check out your brand-new Levy Library Student Commons, a dedicated space just for graduate and medical students—designed with your needs in mind. 

5. Tech Support and Equipment Loans 
Need a charger, stand, or laptop? We’ve got you covered. Our equipment loan service helps you stay connected and productive, especially when you’re moving between classes, labs, and work. Simply walk to our User Services desk and borrow away! 

6. Support for Your Well-being 
We know success goes beyond academics. Whether you need a quiet space to focus, a friendly face, or just a moment to recharge, we’re here for you. Our spaces, resources, services, and team are always ready to support you—not just during Graduate and Professional Student Appreciation Week Month, but every day of the year. 

From all of us at the Levy Library—thank you for your incredible work, your curiosity, and your commitment to making a difference. We see you, we appreciate you, and we’re always here for you. 

Happy Graduate and Professional Student Appreciation Week Month!

In celebration of National Library Week (April 6–12), we’re excited to introduce a new reason to be drawn to the library: the launch of the Scholarly Publishing and Visualization Hub — bringing together services and resources that inspire and empower Mount Sinai researchers, clinicians, and students to create and share new knowledge. 

At a time when libraries continue to spark imagination, foster connection, and help users connect the dots across ideas, disciplines, and discoveries, the Scholarly Publishing and Visualization Hub (SPV Hub) introduces ways to connect students, faculty, and staff with  tools and services that enable innovation and the dissemination of Mount Sinai’s scholarly activity within and beyond our community. 

Whether you're exploring the work of fellow Mount Sinai researchers, seeking collaborators, or developing your own project, Library support at every stage is easy to identify on the SPV Hub. Discover research happening across the institution, connect with potential partners, and bring your ideas to life with expert guidance on visualizations, scholarly research and writing, and reference management.  

As part of our commitment to equity in access and innovation, the SPV Hub showcases partnerships by which we offer digital platforms such as the Levy Library Press and the Icahn School of Medicine Scholars Portal, and expert guidance to help you share your work, explore open access options, and select journals to reach your intended audiences. To help amplify your impact, we offer support with author profiles, visibility tools, and research metrics. The SPV Hub also serves as a online portal to come together with colleagues through events and workshops that foster community and shared learning. 

As we mark 50 years of fueling discovery and scholarship at the Levy Library, the launch of this SPV Hub stands as a powerful reflection of that legacy while staying true to our long-standing commitment to be your equitable and inclusive partner in learning. We invite you to explore the Scholarly Publishing and Visualization Hub — a virtual space designed to inspire and support every stage of your scholarly journey — and connect with the Library team with your ideas and questions. 

For more information and to get started, please visit the Scholarly Publishing and Visualization webpage at: libguides.mssm.edu/spv-hub 

We’re thrilled to introduce the Levy Library Student Commons, a brand-new space designed exclusively for graduate and medical students at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. Whether you're looking for a quiet place to study, a collaborative environment for group projects, or simply a space to unwind, the Student Commons is here to support you.

This space was created in partnership with Medical Education Program and the Graduate School, and Levy Library, with the goal of providing a welcoming and inclusive environment tailored to your academic and personal needs.

What You’ll Find in the Student Commons

The Student Commons offers a variety of spaces to match different study and collaboration styles:

• Commons Area – A relaxed, open space where you can connect with peers, have casual conversations, or engage in independent study.
• Two Individual Focus Rooms – Ideal for deep focus, virtual meetings, or interviews. These rooms can be reserved when you need a private space.
• Two Think Tanks (Group Study Rooms) – Perfect for teamwork and study groups, these rooms allow for collaborative learning and discussion.
• One Collaborative Room – Designed for small group meetings and brainstorming sessions, this space accommodates up to six users.
• Study Hub – Featuring six individual bookable desks for silent, distraction-free study.

How to Book a Space

Booking a space in the Student Commons is simple! Just visit the Levy Library Student Commons booking website (https://libcal.mssm.edu/r/search/studentcommons) to reserve a focus room, collaborative space, or an individual desk.

Hours & Access

The Student Commons is open during Levy Library’s 11th-floor hours. Access is limited to graduate and medical students and you’ll need to use your Mount Sinai ID card to enter.

Have Questions?

You can learn about the space at: libguides.mssm.edu/findaspace/studentcommons. If you have any questions or need assistance, feel free to reach out to the Levy Library team at library@mssm.edu or stop by the Library User Services Desk—we’re happy to help!

We look forward to seeing you in the Student Commons and can’t wait for you to experience this new space designed with you in mind.

Dear Mount Sinai Community,

The Library team reviews the use of journals, books, databases and knowledge management tools each year to ensure we subscribe to the resources Mount Sinai needs for learning, research and clinical care.  We have a few new and restored journals starting in January as the result of swapping out lesser used resources.  

With the financial challenges facing health care, Mount Sinai's budget for library resources for 2025 could not support all of our subscriptions. Based on usage data, costs and contract limitations, we made the difficult decision to stop subscribing to the journals and databases listed at the end of this post. Many of these will not be available online to you starting January 1, 2025.  For others, the subscription ends later in 2025 on the listed dates.   

We recognize that the loss of immediate online access is an inconvenience, but you can still get the materials you need from the Library by request. Please use our interlibrary loan service (ILL) to request articles you need from any journal at no cost to you. You will typically receive them within 2 business days, rush requesting is available, and we use the data from ILL to make decisions about the need for future subscriptions.  If you do not have an ILL account, please register now so that when you need something, you are ready to request it seamlessly.  

For the databases and tools, below we identify alternatives that you can use or other locations where you can access the resources. If you have any questions, please contact us at library@mssm.edu.  

Hearing from you about how you are impacted by these budget reductions will allow us to prioritize restoring the most needed resources should the budget situation improve.  We welcome partnerships with others that may have funds to support subscriptions to titles that we cannot currently afford.  

Sincerely yours,  

Kris Alpi, Associate Dean of Libraries and Information Sciences

New Resources starting January 1, 2025

Journal additions through swapping:

• Dermatitis
• International Journal of Adolescent Medicine and Health
• International Journal of Gynecological Cancer

Platform additions:

• McGraw-Hill Access Neurology
  Includes titles such as Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology, Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Neurology, and Lange Clinical Neurology
• McGraw-Hill Access ObGyn
  Includes titles such as Williams Obstetrics, First Aid for the Obstetrics & Gynecology Clerkship, and Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Obstetrics & Gynecology
• McGraw-Hill Access Pediatrics
  Includes titles such as Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Pediatrics, Rudolph's Pediatrics, First Aid for the Pediatrics Clerkship

Resources stopping / Cancellations as of December 31, 2024

Journals cancelled or swapped:

• AI Precision in Oncology 
• Chem
• GEN Edge 
• Integrative and Complementary Therapies
• Journal of Chiropractic Humanities
• Journal of Nuclear Medicine Technology 
• Matter
• Pediatric Dentistry

Databases and ebooks not renewed:

• Encyclopedia of Reagents (EROS) 
• McGraw-Hill Primary Care eBook Library - The publisher is discontinuing this collection. The Levy Library catalog provides a number of comparable online books as an alternative.

Resources stopping later in 2025:

• Nursing Specialties from Board Vitals
  • Access ends January 25, 2025.
  • PSON students have access to NCLEX and other nursing exam prep materials through PSON. 
  • Nurses at Mount Sinai studying for NCLEX have access to LearningExpress Library (through New York Public Library) --everyone at Mount Sinai eligible for NYPL card. Choose "Careers" and then "Prepare for Nursing Exams"
• DynaMed
  • Access ends July 1, 2025. 
  • Comparable point of care resources available include UpToDate, Dynamic Health, and BMJ Best Practice.
• Market Research
  • Access ends September 30, 2025.
  • Market research data sources available from New York Public Library (NYPL)--everyone at Mount Sinai eligible for NYPL card. 

November 22, 2024, marks a momentous occasion: the 50th anniversary of the Gustave L. and Janet W. Levy Library. For half a century, Levy Library has been a cornerstone of learning, discovery, and collaboration at Mount Sinai. From our origins as a library staff stewarding a physical collection of books and journals to our transformation into your partners in a state-of-the-art digital and collaborative learning environment, Levy Library has evolved to meet the needs of all learners in our dynamic academic health center. 

This anniversary is not just about looking back—it’s about moving forward. Over the next year, we invite you to help us celebrate our golden anniversary as we dive into four key themes that reflect the Library’s integral role in advancing Mount Sinai’s mission: 

Learning with the Library 

Levy Library provides a virtual and physical learning environment with current high-quality knowledge resources and expert guidance by library staff. We educate our community, fostering curiosity and critical thinking.  We leverage artificial intelligence and educational technology in collaborative activities that prepare learners to navigate a rapidly evolving world. 

Fueling Discovery & Scholarship 

For five decades, Levy Library has been at the heart of Mount Sinai's journey in discovery and scholarship. As a hub for scholarly activity, our digital library is available whenever inspiration hits.  We provide equitable access to biomedical illustration, publishing tools and workshops, and open access publishing in Levy Library Press journals.  We champion Mount Sinai authors and promote their work through the Scholars Portal. 

Advancing Clinical Care 

The Levy Library seamlessly integrates immediate, evidence-based information critical to patient care within the clinical environment to support the dynamic needs of our healthcare professionals. We partner with Graduate Medical Education, the Center for Nursing Research and Innovation, and a broad network of healthcare teams to ensure access to essential resources, training, and support. We equip every member of our health system with the tools to drive healthcare excellence and advance clinical care. 

Connectedness 

Our strength lies in the connections we build with our users, the physical and virtual places we provide for learners to connect, and the partnerships we foster across Mount Sinai. Levy Library serves as vital connective tissue, seamlessly linking our users with biomedical literature, collaborations, and partnerships. Committed to equity and accessibility, we ensure that every member of our diverse community can connect, learn, and grow. 

Join the Celebration Today! 

As part of our 50th-anniversary kickoff, we’re inviting everyone to explore the rich history and lasting impact of Levy Library. Here’s how you can participate: 

• Read More About Our History: Discover the Library’s journey and its influence on Mount Sinai’s hospital and school community over at Mount Sinai Daily. 

• Visit Our Archival Visual Display: Stop by the Levy Library to view an engaging display showcasing archival images from the past 50 years. Can’t make it to campus? Explore our image showcase online and visit the Mount Sinai Archives online collection at archives.mssm.edu. 

• Attend Our Panel Discussion Today: Join us at noon for AI in the Library: Open Dialogue Series, a fascinating panel discussion on the role of artificial intelligence in teaching and learning. Join the panel in person at Levy Library or online via Zoom. 

• Share your Levy Moment and Vision of your Library: We invite you to join us in honoring our history, exploring our present, and imagining our future. Share your "Levy Moment" and your vision of your Library. 

This is just the beginning of a year-long celebration filled with events, stories, and opportunities to connect. As we celebrate this milestone year, we invite you to join us in honoring our history, exploring our present, and imagining our future. Let’s celebrate Levy Moments, share stories, and define what the next 50 years of the Levy Library will look like—together. 

Here’s to 50 years of knowledge and community—and many more to come! 

Looking for the perfect spot to study? The Levy Library has you covered! Whether you prefer quiet, independent work or a collaborative space to study with colleagues, the open areas on the 11th floor provide a range of study environments, including access to several computer workstations and docking stations for your study and research needs. Need an extra space for a zero noise study session, take a meeting or make a phone call? Reserve one of our three meeting pods, ideal for short study sessions, collaborative meetings, or even virtual discussions.

If you’re on the 10th floor, you’ll find more reservable spaces, including two group rooms that can accommodate up to six people and four individual study rooms for those who prefer a more private setting.

And if you’re studying at other Mount Sinai campuses, we've got you covered there too! The Mount Sinai West Library is open 24/7 with ID card access, ensuring you can study whenever it suits you. At Mount Sinai Morningside, the Information Commons is also available around the clock. For those in East Harlem, the Phillips School of Medicine Information Commons offers study space for current ISMMS, GSBS and PSON students Monday through Thursday from 7:00 AM to 7:00PM and Friday from 7:00 AM to 6:00PM—just show your Mount Sinai ID card to the security guard for entry.

If you have any questions about accessing these spaces or reserving rooms, don’t hesitate to reach out to us at the library. We’re here to help make your study season as smooth as possible!

Levy Library 

The Levy Library is on the 10th and 11th floors of the Annenberg Building, on the Mount Sinai Hospital campus at 1 Gustave Levy Place. The Library main entrance located is on the 11th floor. For more information, visit the Levy Library website - library.mssm.edu 

Library Hours – 11th Floor 

• 7:30am – 12:50am  Monday- Friday 
• 10:00am – 10:50pm  Saturday 
• 12:00pm – 10:50pm Sunday 

Overnight Access – 10th Floor 

• After 9pm –6am on weekdays – 10th floor is open to ISMMS, GSBS,  and PSON Students and Mount Sinai trainees with a valid Mount Sinai ID card. 
• 24 hours on weekends - 10th floor is open to ISMMS, GSBS, and PSON Students and Mount Sinai trainees with a valid Mount Sinai IC card.

Study Spaces, Meeting Pod, Group Study, and Individual Study Reservations

• Check out the spaces available and get started with a reservation here: libguides.mssm.edu/findaspace 

Mount Sinai Morningside Information Commons

The Mount Sinai Information Commons is located inside the Clark building of the Mount Sinai Morningside campus at 440 West 114 St. The Library is located on the 8th floor, Room MU5C23 and is accessible 24/7 to current Mount Sinai faculty, staff, and students with a valid Mount Sinai ID card. For more information, visit Mount Sinai Information Commons website - libguides.mssm.edu/MSM

Mount Sinai West Library

The Mount Sinai West Medical Library is located in the Mount Sinai West Hospital campus at 1000th 10th Ave. The Library is located on the second floor, near the chapel in room 2A-10 and is accessible 24/7 to current Mount Sinai faculty, staff, and students with a valid Mount Sinai ID card. For more information, visit Mount Sinai West Library website - libguides.mssm.edu/MSW

PSON Information Commons

The PSON Information Commons is located on the second floor of the PSON building at 148 E.126 St. This space is only accessible to current PSON, ISMMS and GSBS students with a valid Mount Sinai ID card Monday - Thursday 7:00AM - 7:00PM and Friday 7:00AM - 5:00PM.

Welcome to the Mount Sinai Community!

July was an amazing month to meet many wonderful new learners and we are excited you chose Mount Sinai as the place to continue your education. From the MD-PhD students and the Graduate Medical Education trainees who started at the beginning of the month, to the incoming medical student class of 2028 who toured the Library as part of Basecamp on July 29, to our new graduate students who will start in August--we welcome you to partner with the Library in your learning journey. 

I joined Mount Sinai two years ago on July 1, and here are the first two things I did to transition to my scholarly life at Mount Sinai:

1. Start using the Mount Sinai specific PubMed URL so you are linked to the full-text articles licensed by the Library -- http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?holding=mssmlib&otool=mssmlib
2. Sign up for a free interlibrary loan account so that you can request free of charge any articles to which we don't have a subscription. 

In the coming weeks, we will have posts for student resources and service recommendations as well as a post focused on trainee resources and services. 

I hope to see you at future Library and ISMMS events, especially those with the Academy for Medicine & the Humanities.  I am always happy to hear from you if you have questions or suggestions. 

Kris

Kris Alpi, MLS, MPH, PhD, Associate Dean of Libraries & Information Sciences

Dear Mount Sinai community, 

We are excited to announce to Mount Sinai students and your faculty and academic programs that there are new options to preserve and share your scholarly work with readers outside of academic institutions.

When you are ready to submit your student thesis, dissertation or culminating work/capstone, there are new options in the Thesis and Dissertation Submission workflow for your consideration.   Mount Sinai now offers you the option to also make your work available through its digital collections hosted by the Arthur H. Aufses, Jr., MD Archives.  Having your work preserved in the Archives will generate a unique URL that allows you to share a link to your work with people outside of Mount Sinai who do not subscribe to the ProQuest Theses and Dissertation database. If you are requesting delayed sharing of your work due to publication or patent embargoes, you can indicate that you would like to share and then set the time periods delays, just as you do for the ProQuest database. 

If you are planning to submit your Graduate School thesis or dissertation soon, please review the instructions at https://libguides.mssm.edu/dissertations/ETDsubmission and let us know if you have any questions. Have a great summer!  

Kris Alpi, Associate Dean of Libraries & Information Sciences

Good news! The Library's Printing Services Guide just got a refresh and is now easier to use. You can quickly find all the information and software downloads you need to print from your personal MacOS or Windows laptop, computer, or mobile device.

You can check out the guide here: https://libguides.mssm.edu/technology/printingservices

PRINTING TIPS

If you print from a personal laptop or computer remember to reinstall the PaperCut software once in a while to keep up with the latest security updates. MacOS users, don't forget to uninstall the old version first! You can download instructions for uninstalling the old version and installing the new version here: https://libguides.mssm.edu/technology/laptopprinting 

If you have any questions or issues with printing in the library or to a personal device contact us at library@mssm.edu and we can help you out!