- Levy Library
- Levy Library Guides
- Topic Guides
- Clerkship Resources
- Psychiatry Clerkship
Clerkship Resources: Psychiatry Clerkship
Keys to success in the clerkships and beyond.
Cases, Questions and Reviews
Blueprints Psychiatry by
Concise and focused on high-yield content, this 6th Edition of Blueprints Psychiatry makes it easy for busy clerkship students to prep for shelf exams and the USMLE during moments of calm between busy hospital and clinical responsibilities. Part of the highly regarded Blueprints series, the book mirrors the major concepts and therapeutics of modern psychiatric practice, covering each major diagnostic category, each major class of somatic and psychotherapeutic treatment, legal issues, and special situations unique to the field. Now completely aligned with DSM-5, the Sixth Edition features a new full-color design, new images, and new case vignettes in every chapter. Updated: 100 updated Board-format questions with complete rationales appear in a question-and-answer section at the end of the book. New case vignettes with questions, answers, and full explanations in every chapter provide an ideal way to study. New design: A contemporary, full-color design makes navigation quick and easy. Up-to-date coverage: All diagnoses reflect those included in the current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, 5th Edition (DSM-5). Pedagogically rich: Each brief chapter includes bolded key words, tables, figures, and key points to help residents succeed on exams. Complete: A Neural Basis section is included for each major diagnostic category. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781496381347Publication Date: 2018
Case Files Psychiatry, 6th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Sixty high-yield psychiatry cases helps students sharpen their diagnostic and problem-solving skills The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve shelf-exam scores and clerkship performance. Unlike other books on the market, this series helps students learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files Psychiatry teaches students how to improve their diagnostic and problem-solving skills as they work through sixty high-yield clinical cases. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, and USMLE-style review questions with answers. The fifth edition has been updated to include a new Case Correlations feature which highlights differential diagnosis and related cases in the book, andNEW CASES highlighting DSM-V diagnostic entities.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 1260468747Publication Date: 2021
First Aid for the Psychiatry Clerkship, Sixth Edition by
The best selling resource for the psychiatry clerkship Excel on your rotation, impress on the wards, and score your highest on the shelf exams with this best-selling reference. This new edition of First Aid for the Psychiatry Clerkship has been updated with the latest clinical perspectives and research. Ask just about any student who has been through their psychiatry rotation and they will tell you that THIS was the resource they turned to. It not only aligns with national clerkship curricula, but also follows the shelf exam blueprint and is full of helpful mnemonics, ward tips, exam tips, and integrated mini-cases. The chapter "How to Succeed in the Psychiatry Clerkship" provides a solid foundation for setting new clerks up for success in their psychiatry rotation. The text highlights all of the important topics, presenting a clear, concise review of psychiatry with a strong clinical emphasis that guides you in the diagnosis and treatment of many problems seen by psychiatrists. First Aid for the Psychiatry Clerkship features: The latest clinical research and perspectives Helpful mnemonics Ward tips and integrated mini-cases Images, diagrams, and flow charts in a fresh new-full color design A complete chapter on How to Succeed on the Psychiatry Clerkship Summary boxes with high-yield information needed for exam success
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 1264257848Publication Date: 2021
Lange Q & A : Psychiatry, 11th Edition by
The most thorough psychiatry review available for the USMLE Step 2 CK and psychiatry clerkship exam - completely updated to reflect the DSM-5 Covering all of the clerkship''s core competencies, LANGE Q&A Psychiatry delivers more than 800 exam-style questions and answers with concise but comprehensive explanations of correct and incorrect answer options. The Eleventh Edition of this this trusted review simulates the USMLE Step 2 CK test-taking experience by delivering multiple-step clinical vignette questions and updates on the latest therapies for psychiatric diseases and disorders. Questions are carefully selected to match the style and difficulty level of what students will face on the test. · 800+ USMLE-style questions with answers and detailed explanations · Two comprehensive practice exams with over 100 questions each · Student and resident reviewed to make sure readers are studying the most relevant material possible · Questions focus on high-yield material, allowing students to maximize their study time · Contributions from Psychiatry faculty and residents
Call Number: Reserve Desk WM 18.2 L274 2017ISBN: 9781259643941Publication Date: 2017
Blueprints Clinical Cases in Psychiatry by
Offers third-and fourth-year medical students valuable preparation for clerkships and the USMLE Steps 2 and 3. Available in print only from the Levy Library.
Call Number: WM 18.2 P9744 2008ISBN: 1405104961Publication Date: 2007
Key Textbooks and Handbooks
Kaplan & Sadock’s comprehensive textbook of psychiatry, 11th Edition by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 1975175743Publication Date: 2025
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Psychiatry by
Accessible, integrated source of clinical psychiatric information. Comprehensive in scope, streamlined in coverage, it is a time-saving clinical companion that reviews essential psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic approaches to the full range of psychiatric disorders.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780071754422Publication Date: 2019
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) by
This manual creates a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis of mental disorders The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013
Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry by
The cornerstone text in the field for 50 years, Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry has consistently kept pace with the rapid growth of research and knowledge in neural science, as well as biological and psychological science. This two-volume Tenth Edition shares the expertise of over 600 renowned contributors who cover the full range of psychiatry and mental health, including neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacology, and other key areas.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781451100471Publication Date: 2017
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry by
For generations of practitioners, the Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry has been and is the "gold standard" guide to consultation-liaison psychiatry and psychosomatic medicine. The fully updated 7th Edition, by Drs. Theodore A. Stern, Oliver Freudenreich, Felicia A. Smith, Gregory L. Fricchione, and Jerrold F. Rosenbaum, provides an authoritative, easy-to-understand review of the diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment of psychiatric problems experienced by adults and children with medical and surgical conditions. Covers the psychological impact of chronic medical problems and life-threatening diseases, somatic symptom disorders, organ donors and recipients, pain, substance abuse, and polypharmacy, including a thorough review of drug actions and interactions, metabolism, and elimination. Features DSM-5 updates throughout, as well as case studies in every chapter. Contains practical tips on how to implement the most current and effective pharmacological therapies as well as cognitive-behavioral approaches. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780323484114Publication Date: 2017
Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry by
The prevalence of psychiatry in popular culture has coincided with the rise of amateur "armchair" psychiatrists--and this often serves to muddy the waters about what, exactly, the field entails. For all the misconceptions, though, psychiatry is an endlessly fascinating field, charged with defining and recognizing mental illnesses, identifying methods for treating them, and discovering their causes and developing measures to prevent them.Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry dispels common misunderstandings and delves into what makes this such an exciting discipline. Now in its seventh edition, this bestselling guide is organized along the lines of DSM-5 and has been updated to reflect changes to the manual, including new medications and therapies.Rigorous in scope, Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry is nevertheless accessible and conversational in tone. It employs fascinating case vignettes, clinical pearls, self-assessment questions, and tables and figures as it offers a summary of: * The DSM-5 diagnostic system* The neurobiological basis of psychiatry* Interviewing and assessment--including specific questions that patients can be asked* The various psychiatric disorders* Legal issues* Psychiatric emergencies* Treatment Initially developed for medical students and beginning residents, this guide is also a valuable reference for nurse practitioners, physician assistants, social workers, and psychologists. And because it has been edited to align with the Pocket Guide to Psychiatric Practice, it makes an excellent companion piece to that volume, as well.
Call Number: Reserve Desk WM 100 B627 2021ISBN: 9781615373123Publication Date: 2021
Related Resources
- Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology Online This link opens in a new windowSearch the full-text of both Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology and The Prescriber's Guide. This database also offers a quick drug look-up that can be searched by drug name, class and use; and a drug interaction tool.