- Levy Library
- Levy Library Guides
- Topic Guides
- Clerkship Resources
- Emergency Medicine Clerkship
Clerkship Resources: Emergency Medicine Clerkship
Keys to success in the clerkships and beyond.
EM Practice Database
- EB Medicine This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based CME to advance clinical know-how and improve outcomes in the ED. Includes cutting-edge, evidence-based emergency medicine content.
Cases, Questions, and Reviews
Case Files Emergency Medicine, 5th Edition by
Real-life cases for success on the emergency medicine clerkship and shelf-exam Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately to providing patients with competent medical care. Case Files®: Emergency Medicine, Fifth Edition delivers 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in emergency medicine. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, high-yield presentation of key diagnostic and treatment information, USMLE-style review question to enhance your learning. With Case Files®, you'll learn instead of memorize. This fifth edition includes important new information on COVID-19, opioid overdose, social issues in emergency medicine, medical errors, interprofessional teamwork, endocrine emergencies, viral meningitis, and vertigo. * Learn from 60 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions * Master key concepts with clinical pearls * Solidify your knowledge with 14 new integrated challenge questions * Polish your approach to clinical problem solving and patient care * Maximize your shelf exam score with this proven learning system * NEW! Important information on COVID-19, opioid overdose, social issues in emergency medicine, medical errors, interprofessional teamwork, endocrine emergencies, viral meningitis, and vertigo
ISBN: 9781264268337Publication Date: 2023
PreTest Emergency Medicine, Fifth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The trusted resource that asks the right questions so that you'll will be equipped with the answers Part of the successful PreTest series, the new edition of PreTest Emergency Medicine has been heavily revised to reflect all the critical new information to succeed on the Emergency Medicine rotation and on the shelf exam. It features hundreds of high yield questions, along with clear, targeted answers explaining both correct and incorrect answer choices. To ensure that all content is relevant and timely, this edition was reviewed by students who successfully completed the clerkship and passed the shelf exam.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781260468946Publication Date: 2021
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by
This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781260019933Publication Date: 2020
First Aid for the Emergency Medicine Boards, 3rd Edition by
THE INSIDER''S GUIDE TO ACING THE EMERGENCY MEDICINE BOARDS - NOW WITH FULL COLOR PHOTOS! Features: · A thorough and user-friendly review of the most frequently test topics · NEW! Review questions at the end of each chapter to test your knowledge · NEW! Vibrant full-color photographs · Insider tips and study strategies to maximize your study time and improve your performance · Integrated vignette Q&As prepare you for what you will see on exam day · Hundreds of high-yield tables, diagrams, and illustrations · Key Facts in the margins reinforce must-know information · Mnemonics make learning and memorization fast, fun, and easy · Great for in-training examination preparation, certification, and as a refresher for certification Visit: www.McGraw-Hillresidents.com AccessEmergency Medicine logo A complete resource for emergency medicine diagnosis, treatment, and education - all in one place.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780071849135Publication Date: 2016
Step-Up to Emergency Medicine by
An important addition to the popular Step-Up series, Step-Up to Emergency Medicine uses the proven series format to provide a high-yield review of emergency medicine, ideal for preparing for clerkships/clinical rotations, end of rotation/shelf exams, and the USMLE Step 2. Clinical pearls, full-color illustrations, and "Quick Hits" provide essential information in an efficient, easy-to-remember manner, perfect for medical, physician assistant, and nurse practitioner students. Step-Up to Emergency Medicine delivers exactly what you need to know--both for exam preparation and for practical use in the evaluation and treatment of patients in the emergency department. Succinct, outline approach focuses on the core content you need to know. "Quick Hits" in the margins highlight highly testable topics. Clinical pearls help you identify clinical connections for handy retrieval at test time, and aid in the transition from basic science to clinical medicine. More than 100 full-color photographs and line drawings illustrate key concepts throughout. Easy-to-follow algorithms show examples of effective clinical reasoning, particularly for similar complaints. Numerous charts, tables, graphs, and mnemonics facilitate easy retention of essential material. 100 online questions with complete rationale for correct and incorrect answers, help prepare you for exams and clinical practice. Coverage includes every essential area of emergency medicine, including psychiatric, pediatric, and environmental emergencies; trauma, wounds, toxicology, and medicolegal considerations-as well as must-know information on relevant pathophysiology, clinical features, differential diagnoses, patient evaluation, therapy, and more.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781451195149Publication Date: 2015
Emergency Medicine Textbooks and Handbooks
Top Picks
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care by
Comprehensive, detailed, and up to date, Roberts and & Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, 7th Edition, provides highly visual coverage of both common and uncommon procedures encountered in emergency medicine and acute care practice. It clearly describes the ins and outs of every procedure you're likely to consider, such as how, why, when to, and when not to perform them, in addition to and recommends other emergency or acute care procedures that may be an option.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0323354785Publication Date: 2019
The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! For more than 30 years, health care providers have turned to The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need for Dr. Malcolm S. Thaler's clear and concise guidance on EKG use in everyday practice. Ideal for readers at all levels of experience, the tenth edition of this straightforward, highly visual resource presents must-know information on using an EKG to diagnose cardiac and non-cardiac conditions, with numerous EKG strips, clear illustrations, clinical examples, and case studies throughout. From cover to cover, Dr. Thaler's commitment to "keeping simple things simple and making complicated things easy to understand" helps you learn and understand how to best use an EKG in actual clinical settings. Provides more than 200 EKG strips, including many new to this edition Includes updated clinical scenarios and case studies, step-by-step instructions, newly clarified concepts, and high-quality illustrations throughout Uses a lighthearted, lively writing style designed to be compelling and minimize confusion of principles discussed Outlines processes for identifying and interpreting arrhythmias, myocardial infarctions, hypertrophy, atrial fibrillation, and other disorders Advises on the dangers of over-reliance on computer interpretations and includes many other practical considerations that other books leave out Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781975185831Publication Date: 2023
Manual of Emergency and Critical Care Ultrasound by
This is a practical, concise introduction to what is rapidly becoming an essential tool for all critical care physicians: bedside emergency ultrasound. The Manual covers the full spectrum of conditions diagnosed using ultrasound and gives practical guidance in how to use ultrasound for common invasive procedures. Major applications are introduced using focused diagnostic questions and reviewing the image-acquisition skills needed to answer them. Images of positive and negative findings are presented, and scanning tips for improving image quality.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780521170918Publication Date: 2011
Additional Texts
Atlas of Emergency Medicine 5th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted visual guide to emergency medicine--with 2,100+ full-color images and clinical management guidance from leading experts The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is your "look quick, act fast" guide to accurately diagnosing acute medical problems in emergency practice settings. Packed with the highest-quality images available and fully updated clinical information, this is the definitive resource to assessing, diagnosing, and treating patients quickly, safely, and effectively. Top experts in their field, the authors cover basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions. Organized by organ-system/special populations/general issues and then by problem, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine includes one or more images per topic, succinct "need-to-know" information for each clinical problem, and management options and clinical pearls--making this the most efficient visual learning guide you'll find. This updated edition includes streamlined text to allow for more images, new chapters on Rheumatologic and Mental Health Conditions, and new video clips highlighting the most important topics.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781260134940Publication Date: 2021
Avoiding Common Errors in the Emergency Department by
Avoiding Common Errors in the Emergency Department, 2nd Edition , discusses 365 errors commonly made in the practice of emergency medicine and gives practical, easy-to-remember tips for avoiding these pitfalls. Chapters are brief, approachable, and evidence-based, suitable for reading immediately before the start of a rotation, used for quick reference on call, or read daily over the course of one year for personal assessment and review.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 1496380312Publication Date: 2017
Emergency Medicine Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Emergency Medicine Secrets, 7th Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. New chapter on Professionalism and Social Media Applications. Expanded coverage of cost-effective emergency medicine, as well as weapons of mass destruction including chemical, biologic, and radiologic weapons; explosives; and tactical medicine. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Multiple-choice questions online provide opportunities for further self-assessment. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780323694735Publication Date: 2021
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 8th Edition by
The 8th edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine successfully in today's fast-paced environments. It remains the preferred study guide for in-training and board examinations and re-certification.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780071794763Publication Date: 2017
Wounds and Lacerations by
With Wounds and Lacerations: Emergency Care and Closure, you'll get clear, concise guidance on the latest techniques and strategies for treating lacerations, wounds, and burns. Get step-by-step visual guidance on all aspects of wound care through more than 300 detailed line drawings and photographs showing techniques for wound assessment, irrigation, closure, wound dressing, foreign body removal, administration of local anesthesia, and follow-up care.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780323074186Publication Date: 2012
EM Clerkship Podcast
"The purpose of this podcast is to help medical students crush their emergency medicine clerkship and get top 1/3 on their SLOE. The content is organized in an approach to format and covers different chief complaints, critical diagnoses, and skills important for your clerkship"