- Levy Library
- Levy Library Guides
- Topic Guides
- Clerkship Resources
- Ambulatory Care-Geriatrics Clerkship
Clerkship Resources: Ambulatory Care-Geriatrics Clerkship
Keys to success in the clerkships and beyond.
Geriatrics Textbooks and Handbooks
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 8th Edition by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781260464450Publication Date: 2022
Fundamentals of Geriatric Medicine by
MOUNT SINAI AUTHORS
A practical guide written by top experts in the field, this book is an excellent overview of geriatric care. The text has a case-based instructional approach that helps readers navigate the complexity of disease prevention, presentation, and treatment for conditions such as depression, dementia, and hypertension.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780387323244Publication Date: 2007
ACC-Geri Cases, Questions and Reviews
Blue Prints Family Medicine. 4th Edition by
Blueprints Family Medicine provides a complete, yet succinct review of the key concepts and topics that students need to know for a four- to six-week family medicine clerkship. With its concise, well-organized format, it serves as an ideal rapid reference for day-to-day patient care as well as subject examinations and board review. Updates throughout reflect the most current treatment and management strategies. A new section covers the 25 drugs most commonly prescribed in the primary care setting. Case vignettes demonstrate clinical applications. 100 USMLE-style review questions, with full explanations, facilitate exam preparation. Key Points at the end of each chapter summarize important information. Clinical boxes highlight clinical manifestations, differential diagnoses, and treatment options. A helpful appendix provides easy access to evidence-based resources.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781496377883Publication Date: 2018
Case Files Family Medicine, 5th Edition by
Case Files: Family Medicine presents realistic clinical scenarios to enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Sixty high-yield cases illustrate essential concepts in patient care. Each case begins with a vignette accompanied by relevant open-ended questions designed to teach diagnostic or therapeutic approaches relevant to family medicine. The answers that follow emphasize mechanisms and underlying principles. This sixth edition features a new format with bulleted summaries, shorter paragraphs, and clearer headings. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life family medicine cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781259587702Publication Date: 2021
Case Files Geriatrics by
**NOTE: You'll need to create a personal account to use this resource.** Case Files: Geriatrics provides 40 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in geriatric care. Each case includes an easy-to understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and board-style review questions to reinforce your learning. Learn from 40 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions. Master key concepts with clinical pearls. Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving and to patient care,
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0071773355Publication Date: 2014
First Aid for the Medicine Clerkship, Fourth Edition by
First Aid for the Medicine Clerkship is a high-yield review of the clerkship's core competencies presented in the trusted First Aid format. You will find hundreds of recently-tested topics from shelf exams and the USMLE Step 2 CK along with mnemonics, typical scenario boxes, insider tips, margin notes to enhance exam and wards performance, a "classifieds" section with scholarship and award opportunities, and NEW mini-cases.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 1260460630Publication Date: 2021
Step-Up to Family Medicine by
This high-yield review book gives you exactly the help you need to succeed on your family medicine clerkship, the NBME Family Medicine Shelf Exam, and the ambulatory component of the USMLE Step 2 CK. Succinct outline approach keeps "extra" material to a minimum, focusing on the core content you need to know.
ISBN: 9781469864211Publication Date: 2017-12-20
Step-Up to Medicine, 5th Edition by
Find what you need to know--fast! This bestselling volume in the popular Step-Up series provides a high-yield review of medicine, ideal for preparing for clerkships or clinical rotations, shelf exams, and the USMLE Step 2. Clinical pearls, full-color illustrations, and "Quick Hits" provide essential information in an efficient, easy-to-remember manner to help you excel on your exams and succeed in the clinical setting. Also includes a 100-question practice exam to support preparation. Updated and revised content reflects extensive research with faculty and students. Figures, charts, tables, graphs, and mnemonics aid visual learners and facilitate retention of essential material. Enhanced high-yield outline format and Quick Hits save time and help students review more efficiently. 100-question practice exam helps students prepare for shelf and board. Succinct, outline approach keeps "extra" material to a minimum, focusing on the core content students need to know. Clinical pearls help students "file away" clinical connections for handy retrieval at test time and aid in the transition from basic science to clinical medicine. Easy-to-follow algorithms demonstrate examples of effective clinical reasoning, particularly for similar complaints. Coverage includes every essential area of medicine, including body system diseases and disorders; fluids, electrolytes, and acid-base disorders; hematologic diseases and neoplasms; infectious diseases; diseases of the skin and hypersensitivity disorders; and ambulatory medicine. Helpful appendices cover radiographic and electrocardiogram interpretation, physical examination pearls, workup and management of common problems on the wards, basic statistics and evidence-based medicine, and end-of-life issues and informed consent. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 1975103610Publication Date: 2020
Ambulatory Care Textbooks and Handbooks
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Confidently Perform Accurate, Efficient, and Effective Physical Examinations. Master the techniques for successful physical examinations with the #1 choice for complete, authoritative guidance. This highly regarded text includes fully illustrated, step-by-step techniques that outline the correct performance of the physical examination and an easy-to-follow two-column format that correlates examination techniques on the left and abnormalities (clearly indicated in red) with differential diagnoses on the right. NEW! Expanded Unit 1 provides an overview of the components of the patient encounter and helps you ensure the most effective information-gathering and decision-making approaches. NEW! Key terms are bolded in chapters and correspond to an online glossary with definitions. UPDATED! Expanded coverage of special populations familiarizes you with important approaches for persons who identify as LGBTQ, persons with physical disabilities, and diverse populations throughout the life cycle. UPDATED! Restructured Regional Exam chapters enhance your understanding of overview material, examination techniques, and health promotion and counseling considerations. UPDATED! Photographs, illustrations, and references reinforce key content based on the latest evidence-based information. UPDATED! Text boxes are numbered to provide quick access to important summaries of clinical conditions and tips for challenging examination techniques. Clinical pearls, printed in blue, highlight key points at a glance. Detailed, highly illustrated tables of abnormal conditions display examination and clinical information in an easy-to-find, quick-reference format at the end of each chapter. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2020
Primary Care Medicine, 8th Edition by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Long regarded as "the book" in the field for in-depth learning as well as decision support at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine, 8th Edition, continues its tradition as a comprehensive, evidence-based, action-oriented information resource. Presented in companion electronic format updated quarterly, its problem-based orientation spans the full spectrum of problems encountered in adult primary care practice. Chapters address screening, diagnosis, prevention and management, including indications for referral and approaches to patient education and shared decision making. Clear, practical, bulleted recommendations and an extensive annotated bibliography of best references follow detailed discussions of pathophysiology, clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, and strategies for workup and treatment. Now with its 40th-anniversary edition, this exceptional text is a must-have resource for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, students, and residents- offering the most complete and up-to-date resource available for primary care education and practice. Included interactive eBook incorporates quarterly updates featuring critically reviewed important new evidence as well as a study guide for students and tables for shared decision making. Fully updated chapter content based on nearly 4,000 new references and real-world advice in bulleted form at the end of each chapter ensure current, easily accessible, evidence-based point-of-care decision support. Unique problem-based chapter organization covers the spectrum of adult primary care, highlighted by more than 400 tables, figures, and photographs, many in color. Chapters present actionable, scientifically validated guidance that allows physicians to go beyond standard consensus guidelines and provide highly personalized care. Best evidence is integrated with considerations of affordability, cost-effectiveness, convenience, and patient preference. Special consideration is given to team-based approaches of primary care delivery, recognizing its increasing importance to achieving high levels of practice performance. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9781496398116Publication Date: 2020
Rapid Interpretation of EKG's, 6th Edition by
The reader's rapid assimilation of medical concepts is the key to the continuing success of this best-selling book. A caption explains the concept illustrated on each page, and a few simple sentences reinforce the concept with interactive (programmed) learning, which links to the following page. Dr Dubin's light and entertaining style, known world-wide, makes learning enjoyable.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0912912065Publication Date: 2000
