- Levy Library
- Levy Library Guides
- Topic Guides
- Library Resources & Services for Residents & Fellows
- USMLE and Board Review Resources
Library Resources & Services for Residents & Fellows: USMLE and Board Review Resources
About USMLE
The United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) is a three-step examination for medical licensure in the United States. The USMLE assesses the ability to apply knowledge, concepts, and principles, as well as demonstrate fundamental, patient-centered skills. The Office of Student Affairs at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai provides additional USMLE Learning and Preparation Resources.
Read more about the USMLE here:
USMLE Step 1, Step 2 and Step 3, Shelf Exam and Residency Case Learning Resources
The Levy Library provides access to electronic and print materials that help learners prepare for USMLE Step 1, Step 2, Step 3. Learners have access to cases, illustrations, and questions that are commonly related to the exams. Below are select E-Books to assist in preparation for USMLE exams. Visit the library catalog for more USMLE resources.
Note: McGraw Hill is discontinuing online access to most of the "FIRST AID" USMLE books effective December 31, 2024. The books for Medicine are moving into Access Medicine--Books, the books for Emergency Medicine are moving into Access Emergency Medicine--Books. All others will not be available after 12/31/24.
USMLE Step 1
First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2023, 33rd Edition by ISBN: 9781264947201Publication Date: 2023Written by students who recently passed the exam and reviewed and approved by top faculty, First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 provides the most high-yield topics and concepts found on the USMLE Step 1 exam. E-book available until December 31, 2024.
First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1, Fourth Edition by ISBN: 9781260143133Publication Date: 2018Now in full color, this powerful study guide provides valuable experience in working through the patient cases you will be presented on exam day. E-book available until December 31, 2024.
First Aid for the Basic Sciences: General Principles, Third Edition by ISBN: 1259587010Publication Date: 2017Comprehensive, single-source coverage of the entire first year of medical school! First Aid for the Basic Sciences: General Principles, Third Edition provides readers with a solid understanding of the basic science principles with which all medical students must be familiar. E-book available until December 31, 2024.
First Aid for the Basic Sciences: Organ Systems, Third Edition by ISBN: 1259587037Publication Date: 2017A full-color single-source review of second-year medical school First Aid for the Basic Sciences: Organ Systems, Third Edition is a unique single-source review of the entire second year medical school curriculum. E-book available until December 31, 2024.
High-Yield Q&a Review for USMLE Step 1: Biochemistry and Genetics by ISBN: 9781260474046Publication Date: 2022This full-color review offers a fast and effective way for you to prepare for regular course examinations in biochemistry and medical biochemistry, as well as medical board exams and the USMLE Step 1.
USMLE Step 2
Test-Taking Strategies for the USMLE Step 2 Exam by ISBN: 9781264258758Publication Date: 2023Build the test-taking skills you need to ace your coursework and USMLE exams The very first resource of its kind, this innovative resource helps you build the skills specifically required to pass the first two years of coursework and the USMLE exams.
Step-Up to USMLE Step 2 CK by ISBN: 9781975106263Publication Date: 2019urrent, concise, and easy to use, the updated fifth edition of Step-Up to USMLE Step 2 CK makes essential information engaging and retainable, delivering the perfect exam prep for today's busy medical student.
First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK, Eleventh Edition by ISBN: 9781264855100Publication Date: 2023E-book available until December 31, 2024
Boards and Wards for USMLE Step 2 by ISBN: 9781496349897Publication Date: 2017Boards and Wards for USMLE Step 2 is the solution! Updated to reflect the current USMLE Step 2 test blueprint, and organized to parallel the clerkships that all 3rd and 4th year medical students are required to take, this bestselling resource makes it easy for you to study only what you truly need to know for the USMLE as well as end-of-rotation exams.
USMLE Step 3
First Aid for the USMLE Step 3, Fifth Edition by ISBN: 1260440311Publication Date: 2018The resident's trusted guide to acing the USMLE® Step 3 - co-written by residents who recently took the exam and know what it takes to pass. E-book available until December 31, 2024
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by ISBN: 978126468511Publication Date: 2022Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine is the world’s most trusted clinical medicine text and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison’s provides the informational foundation clinicians need for the best patient care possible.
Clinical Judgment USMLE Step 3 Review by ISBN: 0071739084Publication Date: 2014-05-30Your critical next step in preparing for the USMLE Step 3 To excel on the USMLE Step 3, you need to demonstrate that you can understand and apply foundational and clinical science to patient care, and that you have the capacity to make sound clinical judgments. E-book available until December 31, 2024
IM essentials questions : a medical knowledge self-assessment program® (MKSAP®) for students by ISBN: 9781938921100Publication Date: 2015
- Board Vitals This link opens in a new window
Board Vitals is board exam review tool for students, residents & fellows, nurses and nursing students, physician assistants and practicing physicians. Contains question banks and practice exams for specialty boards and maintenance of certification for many physician and advanced practice provider specialties. The nursing module includes NCLEX practice exams. Requires free registration with your Mount Sinai email address.
- LWW Health Library Clerkship/Clinical Rotations This link opens in a new window
A collection of books and multimedia covering 6 clerkship rotations- Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Surgery. Self-Assessment Question Banks available with free registration using your Mount Sinai email address.
- Draw It to Know It This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Master the medical sciences through this active learning approach to anatomy, biochemistry, biology, neuroanatomy, neuroscience, and physiology. Offers tutorials and rapid-fire quiz questions for any basic science or pre-clinical medicine education. Includes High Yield Tutorials for USMLE Step 1, 2 and 3.
- NEJM Resident 360 This link opens in a new window
NEJM Resident 360 is a resident resource center containing career tips and guidance, and clinical case presentations with quizzes.
Access Note: To access all content, create a personal Resident 360 account while connected to the Mount Sinai network. Offsite/remote need to connect to VPN to create the personal account. - Case Files® Collection This link opens in a new window
Access the complete collection of 23 AccessMedicine’s Case Files® books with basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases in an interactive format.
- LWW Health Library Clerkship/Clinical Rotations This link opens in a new window
A collection of books and multimedia covering 6 clerkship rotations- Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Surgery. Self-Assessment Question Banks available with free registration using your Mount Sinai email address.
Below are select print titles available in The Levy Library at the Reserve Section at the circulation desk. This list is not exhaustive of the collection, and other books can be found by browsing the catalog.
USMLE Step 1
Lange Outline Review: USMLE Step 1, Second Edition by Call Number: RESERVE WB 18.2 G618 2006ISBN: 9780071451918Publication Date: 2006-03-01A concise outline review of exam essentials, this outline formatted study guide reviews diseases and syndromes by organ system and focuses on presentation and pathology for hundreds of diseases to prepare you for the USMLE Step 1.
First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition by Call Number: RESERVE W 18.2 F527 2018 STEP 1ISBN: 9781260116120Publication Date: 2017-12-21An unmatched collection of more than 1,300 must-know facts and mnemonics provide a complete framework for your USMLE® preparation and coursework.
Step-Up to USMLE Step 1 2014 by Call Number: RESERVES WB 18.2 S887u 2014 Step 1ISBN: 9781451192773Publication Date: 2013-12-18USMLE Step 1 content outline and helps students synthesize the information from their basic science courses.
USMLE Step 3
Master the Boards USMLE Step 2 CK by Call Number: RESERVES WB 18.2 F529 2017ISBN: 9781506208534Publication Date: 2017-07-04With Dr. Fischer's 20+ years of experience in the USMLE arena, Master the Boards USMLE Step 2 delivers what you need to excel on the exam and math into the residency program you want.
First Aid for the Usmle Step2 CK by Call Number: RESERVES WB 18.2 F5275 2012ISBN: 9780071761376Publication Date: 2012-04-02An indispensable high-yield review for the The eighth edition of First Aid for the USMLE Step 2 CK is written by medical students who successfully passed the exam and reviewed by top faculty. The result is proven information and strategies that maximize your study time and deliver the results you want!
USMLE Step 2 by Call Number: BOOKSTACKS WB 18.2 N738 2012ISBN: 9780781787390Publication Date: 2011-06-06The thoroughly updated Fourth Edition of this popular and widely used review book offers excellent preparation for the CK (clinical knowledge) component of the USMLE Step 2. This edition contains twenty simulated USMLE tests.
USMLE Step 3
Lange Outline Review: USMLE Step 3, Fifth Edition by Call Number: RESERVES WB 18.2 G618 2006ISBN: 9780071451932Publication Date: 2006-03-03Audience for this book include: 16,500 US and Canadian Medical students preparing for the USMLE Step 3.
Brochert's Crush Step 3 by Call Number: RESERVES W 18.2 B863 2013ISBN: 9781455703104Publication Date: 2012-11-21This best-selling resource is completely updated, and still the most easy-to-use and effective high-yield review for USMLE Step 3. Covering all specialties and subspecialties included on the exam, it's perfect for the busy house officer who needs a review that hits all the important and commonly tested concepts in a concise format. Over 100 high-yield figures illustrate important concepts, conditions, and imaging modalities.- IM essentials questions : a medical knowledge self-assessment program® (MKSAP®) for students by Call Number: RESERVES WB 18.2 I61 2015 QUESTIONSISBN: 9781938921100Publication Date: 2015
