USMLE & Board Review: Resources
Be prepared for your next board examination with study aids available from the Levy Library.
About this Guide
Welcome to the USMLE and Board Review Guide, curated by the Levy Library team at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. This guide supports our medical students, residents, and fellows preparing for the USMLE Step 1, Step 2, Step 3, and various specialty board exams.
All these resources are available to Mount Sinai students, residents, and faculty through our library portal. If you have any questions or need help accessing materials, please don’t hesitate to contact us via our Ask a Librarian service.
Board Review Materials in the Library Catalog
Find more board review content in the library's collection [within the last 5 years]: Board Review content search
Tips for searching:
- Type board (review or exam) in the search field. Then select ALL BOOKS from the search field's drop-down menu
- Filter by publication date and click on Refine
- You can also conduct a subject term search with Examination Questions
- Add a specialty to the search query, such as Gynecology or Emergency Medicine
-
Dermatology High-Yield Self-Assessment : Supplement to Dermatology: Illustrated Study Guide and Comprehensive Board Review.
ISBN: 9783031732638Publication Date: 2024 -
-
General Surgery Board Review
by
ISBN: 0197630529Publication Date: 2024-08-30General Surgery Board Review: A Guide to the 99th Percentile is aimed at general surgery residents preparing for the annual in-service training exam and board exam in the United States.
Interactive Question Banks
Interactive Board Review Tools at Mount Sinai
Mount Sinai provides access to various interactive question banks and educational platforms designed to support comprehensive board exam preparation and clinical knowledge development across various specialties.
-
ACC CardioSource Plus This link opens in a new window
ACC CardioSource Plus provides access to the American College of Cardiology’s online educational resources, including: board prep activities in general cardiology, interventional cardiology, echocardiography, and nuclear cardiology; self-assessment questions; points toward Part II of the ABIM’s MOC program; hours of CME credit; a library of heart murmurs (Heart Songs); yearly highlights from ACC’s annual scientific session.
-
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Access Medicine is a collection of full text, searchable textbooks covering internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, emergency medicine, ob/gyn, surgery, and more. Textbook titles include Harrison's Online, Fuster and Hurst's the Heart, and Metabolic and Molecular Basis of Inherited Disease. Images from the textbooks may be saved, printed or downloaded for personal and educational use. AccessMedicine's mobile app content includes: Diagnosaurus DDX tool, Quick Medical DX and RX, Fitpatrick's Color Atlas of Dermatology, and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests and more!
-
Board Vitals This link opens in a new window
Board Vitals is board exam review tool for students, residents & fellows, physician assistants and practicing physicians. Contains question banks and practice exams for specialty boards, including USMLE 3, and maintenance of certification for many physician and advanced practice provider specialties.
-
Draw It to Know It This link opens in a new window
Master anatomy, biochemistry, biology, neuroanatomy, neuroscience, and physiology through this active learning approach for all levels of learners. Offers tutorials and rapid-fire quiz questions for basic science or pre-clinical medical and nursing education. Includes High Yield Tutorials, videos, and questions for USMLE Step 1, 2 and 3.
Clinical Cases
Developing strong clinical reasoning and decision-making skills is crucial for patient care and board exam success as a resident or fellow. Case-based learning offers an immersive and practical way to deepen your understanding of core medical concepts across specialties. Mount Sinai's library provides access to a rich collection of clinical case resources tailored to different training stages and practice areas.
-
Case Files® Collection This link opens in a new window
Access the complete collection of 23 AccessMedicine’s Case Files® books with basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases in an interactive format.
-
LWW Health Library Clerkship/Clinical Rotations This link opens in a new window
A collection of books and multimedia covering 6 clerkship rotations- Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Surgery. Self-Assessment Question Banks available with free registration using your Mount Sinai email address.
-
BMJ Case Reports This link opens in a new window
BMJ Case Reports contains thousands of peer-reviewed cases in many disciplines. It is the largest single collection of case reports online with more than 15,000 articles from over 70 countries.
About USMLE
The United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) is a three-step examination for medical licensure in the United States. The USMLE assesses the ability to apply knowledge, concepts, and principles, as well as demonstrate fundamental, patient-centered skills. The Office of Student Affairs at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai provides additional USMLE Learning and Preparation Resources.
Read more about the USMLE here:
USMLE Step 1: Books
The Levy Library provides access to electronic and print materials that help learners prepare for USMLE Step Exams. Learners have access to cases, illustrations, and questions that are commonly related to the exams. Below are select titles to assist in preparation for USMLE Step 1 exams. Visit the library catalog for more USMLE resources.
USMLE Step 1
-
First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2025
by
Call Number: W 18.2 F527 2025 STEP 1ISBN: 9781266346460Publication Date: 2025-02-20 -
First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2018, 28th Edition
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. SCORE YOUR HIGHEST ON THE USMLE® STEP 1 WITH HELP FROM THE WORLD'S MOST POPULAR MEDICAL REVIEW BOOK An unmatched collection of more than 1,300 must-know facts and mnemonics provide a complete framework for your USMLE® preparation and coursework! This annually updated review delivers a comprehensive collection of high-yield facts and mnemonics that pinpoint exactly what you need to know to pass the exam. Co-authored by medical students who recently took the boards, it provides a complete framework to help you prepare for the most stressful exam of your career. Here's why this is the ultimate USMLE Step 1 review: *A complete framework for USMLE® Step 1 preparation, annually updated with crowdsourced contributions from thousands of students *Written by students who excelled on their Step 1 exam and reviewed by top faculty for accuracy *1,300 must-know topics with mnemonics to focus your study *1,000+ color photos and illustrations - 100 new or revised -- help you visualize processes, disorders, and clinical findings *Student-proven study and exam prep tips backed by learning science *Reorganized Rapid Review section for efficient, last-minute preparation *Revised and expanded recommendations for high-yield print and digital study resources s *Bonus material and real-time updates exclusively at FirstAidTeam.com
ISBN: 9781260116120Publication Date: 2017-12-21 -
Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology
by
More detailed than an outlined review but less overwhelming than an encyclopedic reference, Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 6th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know in a concise, easy-to-understand manner. Authored by Craig W. Stevens, PhD, this highly illustrated introductory text helps you learn and retain key information in pharmacology-taking you from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice. New and extensively revised content keeps you up to date with the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications. Teaches the fundamental aspects of pharmacology using full-color illustrations, detailed explanations, and a consistent format to present classification of drugs for each system/disease. Helps you understand both the basic science foundations and clinical applications of pharmacology, with useful tables, drug classifications boxes, case studies, and self-assessments in each chapter to help you review and prepare for course exams and Step 1. Includes the latest drugs and therapeutic indications (more than 100 are new to this edition), along with an entirely new chapter on recent developments of immunopharmacology drugs, including antivirals and vaccinations. Addresses key topics such as antiviral and monoclonal drugs to treat COVID-19, the opioid epidemic, and gene therapy. Features more than 700 new and updated images, with many revised figures focused on clearing presenting the mechanism of action of drugs. Includes access to bonus eBook content such as animations, an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323758987Publication Date: 2022-08-17 -
High-Yield Q&a Review for USMLE Step 1: Biochemistry and Genetics
by
Essential for USMLE Step 1 review! A rigorous full-color review for any biochemistry or medical biochemistry examination This full-color review offers a fast and effective way for you to prepare for regular course examinations in biochemistry and medical biochemistry, as well as medical board exams and the USMLE Step 1. A unique feature of this review is the integration of medical biochemistry with physiology, pathophysiology, pathology, and anatomy, making it perfect for today's rapidly changing medical school curriculum. Important related topics such as carbohydrate, lipid, protein metabolism, and associated disease/pathologies are incorporated into a concise, focused review of biochemistry. High-Yield Q & A Review for USMLE Step 1 is packed with learning aids: 1,100 multiple-choice questions and thorough explanations for each answer 350 full-color illustrations Detailed clinical boxes with high-yield information concerning diseases and disorders related to defects in the pathways being discussed Every chapter includes: - An outline listing the major topics covered - A list of high-yield terms related to the content - Numerous explanatory figures and tables designed to increase your understanding of must know material - A checklist that recaps important and high-yield concepts
ISBN: 9781260474046Publication Date: 2022-10-24 -
High-Yield(tm) Gross Anatomy
by
High-Yield Gross Anatomy, Fifth Edition provides a concise review of gross anatomy material tested on course and board exams. The streamlined outline format includes tables, diagrams, clinical photos, and radiographs for a concentrated, efficient review. In response to student feedback, the Fifth Edition features:  * A new and updated design -- now in full color!  * New clinical considerations, clinical photos, and radiographs  * Concise illustrations and diagrams to clarify important material  * Eye-catching case studies to test your knowledge before course and board exams
ISBN: 9781451190236Publication Date: 2014-02-19
USMLE Step 2: Books
The Levy Library provides access to electronic and print materials that help learners prepare for USMLE Step Exams. Learners have access to cases, illustrations, and questions that are commonly related to the exams. Below are selected titles to assist in preparation for USMLE Step 2 exams. Visit the library catalog for more USMLE resources.
USMLE Step 2
-
Step-Up to Medicine
by
Make the most of your study time and confidently take the next step in your medical career with this bestselling review.! Step-Up to Medicine, 6th Edition, makes it easy to find information fast and take a confident next step toward a successful medical career. Ideal for preparing for clerkships or clinical rotations, shelf exams, and the USMLE Step 2, this bestselling volume in the popular Step-Up series provides a high-yield review of medicine in a concise, comprehensive approach. This 6th Edition is thoroughly updated and enhanced throughout. Clinical pearls, full-color illustrations, and "Quick Hits" provide essential information in an efficient, easy-to-remember manner to ensure excellence on exams and confidence in clinical settings, and a 100-question practice exam reinforces exam readiness and boosts test-taking confidence. NEW! More than 50 additional NBME-style review questions with answers and explanations reinforce key content in context with how students will encounter it on their exams. UPDATED! New and enhanced images throughout--including expanded coverage of dermatology--clarify essential concepts in vibrant detail. UPDATED! Concise tables and figures summarize treatment protocols, drug details, and other essential information for fast, efficient review. NEW! Additional online review questions test students' retention and alert them to areas requiring further study. "Quick Hits" help students save time and stay focused on core content.
ISBN: 9781975192716Publication Date: 2023-05-18 -
Test-Taking Strategies for the USMLE STEP 2 Exam: Proven Methods to Succeed
by
Build the test-taking skills you need to ace your coursework and USMLE exams The very first resource of its kind, this innovative resource helps you build the skills specifically required to pass the first two years of coursework and the USMLE exams. Test-Taking Strategies for the USMLE Step 2 walks you through the process of how to generally approach questions, how to approach specific types of questions (i.e., those with labs or images), and how to review questions and their answers. Each chapter includes an explanation and/or exam-taking advice and sample questions, which are followed by a breakdown of the question/answer process. Build the skills you need perform at the top of your game on test day, with: Pro Tips provide suggestions on what you should ask yourself about certain exam questions, such as, "Did the test writer include this as useful information, unnecessary information, or a trap to lead me to the wrong answer?" Randomized practice questions help you synthesize the concepts and strategies taught throughout this text. Insightful content helps you determine your personal test-taking strengths and weaknesses, so you can focus on skills you need to build most.
ISBN: 9781264258758Publication Date: 2023-01-12 -
Step-Up to USMLE Step 2 CK
by
Now includes Step 2 practice Questions and Answers, with explanations, for each chapter! Current, concise, and easy to use, the updated fifth edition of Step-Up to USMLE Step 2 CK makes essential information engaging and retainable, delivering the perfect exam prep for today's busy medical student. Access just what you need to ace the USMLE Step 2 CK and make a confident transition to clinical practice with this high-yield, system-based review. This updated fifth edition of Step-Up to USMLE Step 2 CK helps you quickly memorize essential information and gives you the realistic test-taking practice to succeed. Full-color illustrations, "Quick Hits," and mnemonics clarify must-know information on causes, risk factors, history and physical exam, lab studies and radiology, treatment, and complications for the most common diseases and disorders. USMLE-style study questions for each chapter mimic those found on the Step 2 exams, accompanied by complete explanations for maximum comprehension and test preparation. Revised and updated content reflects the current USMLE exam. Succinct, Step-Up outline approach focuses on the core content students need to know for quick, efficient study. New USMLE-style questions at the end of each chapter give students unparalleled test-taking practice. "Quick Hits" in the margins highlight commonly encountered exam topics. Easy-to-remember mnemonics help students ensure quick, efficient recall of essential clinical information on their exams. "Next Steps" margin notes guide students through the workup of a patient with practical tips for success. Easy-to-follow algorithms clearly demonstrate effective clinical reasoning, particularly for similar complaints. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
ISBN: 9781975106263Publication Date: 2019-08-08 -
Boards and Wards for USMLE Step 2
by
Master the answers for your boards and wards! Medical students have no time to waste. Boards and Wards for USMLE Step 2 is the solution! Updated to reflect the current USMLE Step 2 test blueprint, and organized to parallel the clerkships that all 3rd and 4th year medical students are required to take, this bestselling resource makes it easy for you to study only what you truly need to know for the USMLE as well as end-of-rotation exams. Study on the go thanks to a portable format that's ideal for clinical rotations. Efficiently master the essentials through focused coverage of frequently tested topics, presented in a succinct, organized manner. Test your knowledge with 100 USMLE-style questions inside the book - with answers and rationales. Boost your test-taking skills with a new feature on USMLE "Pearls." Grasp facts quickly through at-a-glance color graphs, tables, charts, and algorithms. Easily look up rare diseases in a "Zebras and Syndromes" appendix.
ISBN: 9781496349897Publication Date: 2017-05-13 -
Master the Boards USMLE Step 2 CK
by
Always study with the most up-to-date prep! Look for Master the Boards USMLE Step 2 CK, fifth edition, ISBN 9781506235943, on sale February 5, 2019. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from third-party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entities included with the product.
ISBN: 9781506208534Publication Date: 2017-07-04 -
USMLE Step 2 CK Lecture Notes 2018: Pediatrics
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entities included with the product. Kaplan Medical's USMLE Step 2 CK Lecture Notes 2018: Pediatrics offers in-depth review with a focus on high-yield topics - a comprehensive approach that will help you deepen your understanding while focusing your efforts where they'll count the most. Used by thousands of medical students each year to succeed on USMLE Step 2, Kaplan's official lecture notes are packed with full-color images and clear review. The Best Review Organized in outline format with high-yield summary boxes for efficient study Bridges between specialties and basic science highlighted throughout Updated annually by Kaplan's all-star expert faculty Looking for more prep? Our USMLE Step 2 CK Lecture Notes 2018: 5-Book Set has this book, plus the rest of the 5-book series.
ISBN: 9781506220840Publication Date: 2017-09-05 -
Family Medicine PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, Fourth Edition
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The closest you can get to the Family Medicine clerkship shelf exam without actually taking it Family Medicine: PreTest Self-Assessment & Review, Fourth Edition is the perfect way to assess your knowledge of Family Medicine for the USMLE Step 2 CK and clerkship shelf exam. You'll find approximately 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that target the clerkship's core competencies, along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been reviewed by students who recently passed the boards and completed their clerkship to ensure they match the style and difficulty level of the exam - so you know you are studying the most relevant, high-yield material possible. *Approximately 500 USMLE-style questions - just like you will see on the exam *Detailed explanations for right and wrong answers, that zero-in on must-know information *Targets what you really need to know for exam success *Thoroughly reviewed by students who aced their clerkship
ISBN: 9781260143584Publication Date: 2018-12-12 -
Pediatrics PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, Fifteenth Edition
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ace your shelf exam--and take the next step to a career in medicine! Pediatrics: PreTest® Self-Assessment & Review provides the knowledge and confidence you need succeed on your shelf exam and during your clinical interactions. Filled with prep questions addressing the clerkship's core competencies, it explains both correct and incorrect answers--so you can focus your attention on areas of difficulty and make the very most of your study time. This unbeatable study resource includes updates on the latest treatments and therapies for infants, children, and adolescents, making it an ideal review tool for the pediatric shelf exam and the USMLE Step 2. Reviewed by top-tier students who passed the boards and completed their clerkship, the style and difficulty level of every question match those you'll see on exam day. *500 USMLE-style questions and answers *Detailed explanations for every answer--right and wrong *Targets what you really need to know for exam success *Thoroughly reviewed by students who aced their clerkship
ISBN: 9781260440331Publication Date: 2019-11-08
USMLE Step 3: Books
The Levy Library provides access to materials that help learners prepare for USMLE Step Exams. Learners have access to cases, illustrations, and questions that are commonly related to the exams.
Draw it to Know It (ditki) includes a QBank of 3200+ quiz questions and 700+ Clinical Correlations to prepare you for USMLE 3. It includes 350+ (48 hours) of 6-8 minute animated, narrated tutorials and bulleted notes. Follow this link to registration instructions on the Library website.Visit the library catalog for more USMLE resources.
USMLE Step 3
-
Master the Boards USMLE Step 3 7th Ed
by
With exclusive tips and targeted review from USMLE expert Conrad Fischer, MD, Master the Boards USMLE Step 3 has the information you need to excel on the exam and match into the residency program you want. Master the Boards USMLE Step 3 helps you identify highly tested concepts, sharpen recall, and recognize the most likely answer on the exam. With expert tips, up-to-date content, and high-yield review, this full-color book will ensure there are no surprises on test day. The Best Review Exam-like focus on best initial diagnostic test, most accurate test, and most likely diagnosis New Urology chapter Current pharmacology updates throughout Hundreds of full-color diagnostic images Practical tips for the CCS (Computer-based Case Simulations) Expert Guidance Avoid surprises on test day with exclusive tips and targeted review from USMLE expert Conrad Fischer, MD.
Call Number: W 18.2 F529m 2022ISBN: 9781506276458Publication Date: 2022-01-04 -
USMLE Step 3 Secrets
by
Succinct, easy to read, and highly effective-the highly regarded Secrets Series® provides students and practitioners in all areas of health care with focused, engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. In USMLE Step 3 Secrets, 2nd Edition, bestselling review author Dr. Ted O'Connell, along with co-authors Drs. Thomas Blair and Ryan Pedigo, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of topics on this high-stakes exam, positioning you to clear that final USMLE hurdle with confidence. This enjoyable, easy-to-read book features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that prepares you for one of the most important exams you'll take in your medical career. A concise, integrated, clinical overview of Step 3 content, perfect for a refresher and practical preparation for this challenging vignette-style exam. Extensively revised and updated, reflecting high-yield content on the USMLE Step 3. Highly engaging Q&A format interactively reviews your knowledge of diagnosis, treatment, and management of common disorders. New full-color images, figures, tables, and summary boxes provide a concise visual overview of important board-relevant content. Top 100 Secrets, tips, and memory aids offer a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Review board composed of students and residents who performed highly on all steps of the USMLE and have experience with USMLE-style question development. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: W 18.2 O182u 2023ISBN: 9780323878555Publication Date: 2022-05-03
