- Levy Library
- Levy Library Guides
- Research Support
- IACUC and Animal Welfare Resources
- Laboratory Animal Medicine
IACUC and Animal Welfare Resources: Laboratory Animal Medicine
This guide provides resources for researchers on the conducting, facilitating, and overseeing of the use of animals in research. It also includes step by step instructions for how to search for alternatives in the literature required for the IACUC protoco
Laboratory Animal Medicine
At Mount Sinai, veterinary medical care for laboratory animals is provided by the Center for Comparative Medicine and Surgery (CCMS). For researchers seeking support, the CCMS provides assistance in training in the care and use of laboratory animals as well as protocol design support.
The following list outlines resources recommended by the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine (ACLAM) for those interested in taking the 2023 ACLAM certification exam. They are excellent resources for anyone who is involved or interested in laboratory animal medicine, care, husbandry and anesthesia, and want to learn more.
- Application and Study Tools, ACLAMACLAM provides a series of study materials including updated examination reference lists, exam registration templates and test templates.
Mount Sinai staff and students may request items not part of our collection at no charge to you through the Library's Interlibrary Loan Service
Journals
- Comparative MedicineComparative Medicine (CM), an international peer-reviewed journal of comparative and experimental medicine. Published works include promoting human and animal health through the study of laboratory animal disease, animal models of disease, and basic biologic mechanisms related to disease in people and animals.
- Institute for Laboratory Animal Research Journal (ILAR)ILAR is a peer reviewed journal which provides information on the for all who study, use, care for, and oversee the use of animal in research.
- Journal of the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science (JAALAS)The Journal of the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science (JAALAS) is a peer reviewed journal publishes works on animal biology, technology, facility operations, management, and compliance as relevant to the AALAS membership.
Books
Nonhuman Primates in Biomedical Research: Biology and Management by ISBN: 1280582839Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Statistics for Veterinary and Animal Science by Call Number: SF 760.S73 2013ISBN: 9780470670750Publication Date: 2013-05-06
The Laboratory Rabbit, Guinea Pig, Hamster, and Other Rodents by ISBN: 1283394049Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Regulatory Guidances
A list of websites, books and guides as it pertains to policies and regulations surrounding animals in research, teaching and testing in clinical and non-clinical settings as well as certification.
- American College of Laboratory Medicine (ACLAM)ACLAM is a specialty board recognized by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) as the certifying organization for laboratory animal medicine, a recognized specialty within the veterinary medical profession.
- Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care International (AAALAC)AAALAC is a nonprofit organization that promotes the humane treatment of animals in science through voluntary accreditation and assessment programs.
- The American Association for Laboratory Animal Science (AALAS)The AALAS is a membership association of professionals employed around the world in academia, government, and private industry who are dedicated to the humane care and treatment of laboratory animals, as well as the quality research that leads to scientific gains that benefit people and animal
- Animal Welfare Act (AWA), USDAThe Animal Welfare Act is a U.S federal law that regulates the treatment of animals in research.
- AVMA Guidelines on Euthanasia, 2020A set of guidelines that provide guidance in relieving pain and suffering of animals that are to be euthanized.
- Biosafety in Microbiological and Biomedical Laboratories, CDC, 6th EditionPublished by the Center of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the National Institute of Health (NIH), the BMBL provides best practices for a safe work environment in biomedical and clinical laboratories.
- Good Laboratory Practice for Nonclinical Laboratory StudiesDeveloped by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the Good Laboratory Practice for Nonclinical Laboratory Studies a series of regulations on how to plan, perform, monitor, record, report and retain information of animals involved in research in a non-clinical setting.
- Guide for the Care and Use of Agricultural Animals in Research and Teaching, 4th EditionPublished in 2020 by the American Dairy Science Association, the American Society of Animal
Science, and the Poultry Science Association, this book provides information on how to handle and transport agricultural animals. - Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, 8th EditionThe purpose of the Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals (the Guide), as expressed in the charge to the Committee for the Update of the Guide, is to assist institutions in caring for and using animals in ways judged to be scientifically, technically, and humanely appropriate.
- Guidelines for the Care and Use of Mammals in Neuroscience and Behavioral ResearchThis book offers guidelines on how to care for mammals in neuroscience and behavioral research laboratories and how to adapt these guidelines in various settings.
- Occupational Health and Safety in the Care and Use of Research AnimalsThe book identifies principles for building a safety program and discusses the accountability of institutional leaders, managers, and employees for a program's success
- Public Health Service Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory AnimalsThe PHS policy is a set of standards that institutions must follow for the proper care and use of all live vertebrates used in research.
- Recognition and Alleviation of Distress In Laboratory AnimalsThis book focuses on understanding on the causes and function of pain and distress, how to recognize and alleviate pain and distress, as well as how to recognize the transition from stress to distress.