IACUC and Animal Welfare Resources: Step 4: The Search Query

Once you have selected your keywords and potential subject headings, it is time to build your search query. The IACUC requires researchers to include the search query in the protocol, including the results.

When constructing the search query, consider the following: 

• Not all databases use the same search terms. However, most use or understand some form of Boolean searching, truncation and and phrase searching. Using all three techniques to connect and enhance your keywords can help produce precise results. 
• Not all databases have subject headings. Certain databases (such as Scopus) only use keywords. Understanding the types of search terms that each database recognize, can help you translate and adapt the search strategy across multiple databases. 
• Several databases, have help pages that help guide researchers on the unique features and capabilities of the database. 
• Modify your search strategy as needed. Expect to find yourself changing or altering the search strategy for precise results. 

While keywords and subject headings are necessary for the search query, additional techniques should also be employed to develop the search. Here are some additional strategies you can use in conjunction with keywords and subject headings. 

Boolean Searching

Boolean, uses the connector terms AND, OR and NOT to structure your search query. These terms serve to "connect" your keywords and subject headings to deliver broader or narrower search results. 

• AND: The database must search retrieve ALL search terms
• OR: Use OR to connect similar concepts 
• NOT:  Will exclude words from the search 

Using Parentheses

Using parentheses can help enhance your Boolean search by encapsulating like terms that are combined with OR. It is a way to combine like terms into a series of concepts. 

Example: (Animal Welfare OR Animal Care) 

Truncation Searching 

Truncation, also known as "wildcard searching", lets you search for for multiple variations in a keyword. Truncation is characterized as an asterisk (*) or question mark (?) at the end of the root/keyword. 

Example: Cell* = cell, cells, cellular etc. 

It is recommended that you truncate words carefully as placement of truncation can search root words not relevant to your search. For example, the root word Rat* will search for Rat and Rats, but also rationale, ratio and rate. 

Phrase Searching 

Phrase searching, searches for words in precise order by placing quotation marks ("___") around two or more words. For example, searching for the phrase tissue sample without quotation marks, will result in the words "tissue" and "sample" being searched separately. Adding quotation marks (EX. "blood tissue") will tell the database to search them together rather than separate. 

Here is an example search query for PubMed using the search strategies outlined in this section.  It contains three groups of terms (aka search hedges*), one to represent the concept of rabbits, another to represent the concept of repeated blood sampling, and a third to represent the concept of minimizing discomfort.  

(rabbit OR "oryctolagus cuniculus" OR hare OR hares OR lepus OR jackrabbit* OR "jack rabbit*" OR  "Lagomorpha"[Mesh]) 

AND

( "blood specimen collection/veterinary"[MeSH] OR  "blood collection" OR "blood draw*" OR "blood sampl*" or phlebotomy)

AND

(discomfort OR pain OR physiological stress* OR “psychological stress” OR distress OR "stress, physiological"[MeSH Terms] OR "pain"[MeSH Terms])

* The rabbit and discomfort search term groups are modified from hedges created by the Strauss Health Sciences Library at University of Colorado.

This search retrieves papers such as:

Massányi M, Kohút L, Argente MJ, Halo M, Kováčik A, Kováčiková E, Ondruška Ľ, Formicki G, Massányi P. The effect of different sample collection methods on rabbit blood parameters. Saudi J Biol Sci. 2020 Nov;27(11):3157-3160. doi: 10.1016/j.sjbs.2020.07.016.

Baby PM, Jacob SS, Kumar R, Kumar P. An innovative approach for serial injection in marginal vein and blood collection from auricular artery in New Zealand white Rabbit. MethodsX. 2017 Nov 11;4:457-460. doi: 10.1016/j.mex.2017.11.001.

Nelson EA, Keller GL, Mitchell TW, Pennypacker B, Rebbeck P, Rogers IT. A jugular bleeding technique in rabbits. Lab Anim (NY). 2010 Jan;39(1):17-22. doi: 10.1038/laban0110-17. 

The abstract of this third paper specifically mentions studying pharmacokinetics and refinement to reduce surgery to insert a port -- "When studying pharmacokinetics in rabbits, researchers must often take multiple blood samples from conscious rabbits.....[section redacted] This jugular bleeding technique serves as a refinement to blood sampling methods that require rabbits to undergo surgery (e.g., to insert a port) because it requires no alleviation of pain..." [see complete abstract, similar articles, and associated terms] 

Citation Searching or Pearl Growing

You can also use citation searching features in Google Scholar, Scopus or Web of Science to find papers that cite articles you already know about:

Ludders JW, Thomas CB, Sharp P, Sedgwick CJ. An anesthetic technique for repeated collection of blood from New Zealand white rabbits. Lab Anim Sci. 1987 Dec;37(6):803-5. [see Google Scholar citation results]

Smith PA, Prieskorn DM, Knutsen CA, Ensminger WD. A method for frequent blood sampling in rabbits. Lab Anim Sci. 1988 Oct;38(5):623-5.

Fick TE, Schalm SW. A procedure for arterial blood sampling in the rabbit. Lab Anim. 1986 Apr;20(2):138-9. doi: 10.1258/002367786780865179.

The following are a series of resources to help you construct your search query.