Levy Library Blog

Beginning October 15, 2025, the Mount Sinai Health System will transition from Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRC+) to Dynamic Health CDS + Skills—an innovative, evidence-based resource designed to help nurses and health professionals strengthen learning, critical thinking, and confidence at the point of care.

Dynamic Health builds on the trusted foundation of NRC+ with a more interactive design, expanded clinical coverage, and enhanced tools for professional growth. The platform offers continuing education modules, patient education handouts, care plans, leadership and management topics, quick lessons, videos, cultural competence resources, and test and lab summaries—all in one place.

To learn more about how Dynamic Health supports nursing and allied health practice, visit our earlier post:
👉 Supporting Nursing and Allied Health Practice with Dynamic Health

You can also read the official announcement on Mount Sinai Daily.

For a quick overview, download our information sheet:
📄 Get to Know Dynamic Health (PDF)

Key Transition Details

• Effective Date: October 15, 2025
• New Platform: Dynamic Health CDS + Skills (by EBSCO Clinical Decisions)
• Replacing: Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRC+)
• Continuing Education: Certificates earned in NRC+ remain available at ceu.cinahl.com. 
  New CE credits can be earned by creating a personal account in Dynamic Health.

Visit our guide for access and training resources:
🔗 libguides.mssm.edu/dynamichealth

Need help getting started?
📧 library@mssm.edu

📞 212-241-7793
💬 askalibrarian.mssm.edu

Dear Mount Sinai Community,

The Library team reviews the use of journals, books, databases and knowledge management tools each year to ensure we subscribe to the resources Mount Sinai needs for learning, research and clinical care.  We have a few new and restored journals starting in January as the result of swapping out lesser used resources.  

With the financial challenges facing health care, Mount Sinai's budget for library resources for 2025 could not support all of our subscriptions. Based on usage data, costs and contract limitations, we made the difficult decision to stop subscribing to the journals and databases listed at the end of this post. Many of these will not be available online to you starting January 1, 2025.  For others, the subscription ends later in 2025 on the listed dates.   

We recognize that the loss of immediate online access is an inconvenience, but you can still get the materials you need from the Library by request. Please use our interlibrary loan service (ILL) to request articles you need from any journal at no cost to you. You will typically receive them within 2 business days, rush requesting is available, and we use the data from ILL to make decisions about the need for future subscriptions.  If you do not have an ILL account, please register now so that when you need something, you are ready to request it seamlessly.  

For the databases and tools, below we identify alternatives that you can use or other locations where you can access the resources. If you have any questions, please contact us at library@mssm.edu.  

Hearing from you about how you are impacted by these budget reductions will allow us to prioritize restoring the most needed resources should the budget situation improve.  We welcome partnerships with others that may have funds to support subscriptions to titles that we cannot currently afford.  

Sincerely yours,  

Kris Alpi, Associate Dean of Libraries and Information Sciences

New Resources starting January 1, 2025

Journal additions through swapping:

• Dermatitis
• International Journal of Adolescent Medicine and Health
• International Journal of Gynecological Cancer

Platform additions:

• McGraw-Hill Access Neurology
  Includes titles such as Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology, Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Neurology, and Lange Clinical Neurology
• McGraw-Hill Access ObGyn
  Includes titles such as Williams Obstetrics, First Aid for the Obstetrics & Gynecology Clerkship, and Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Obstetrics & Gynecology
• McGraw-Hill Access Pediatrics
  Includes titles such as Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Pediatrics, Rudolph's Pediatrics, First Aid for the Pediatrics Clerkship

Resources stopping / Cancellations as of December 31, 2024

Journals cancelled or swapped:

• AI Precision in Oncology 
• Chem
• GEN Edge 
• Integrative and Complementary Therapies
• Journal of Chiropractic Humanities
• Journal of Nuclear Medicine Technology 
• Matter
• Pediatric Dentistry

Databases and ebooks not renewed:

• Encyclopedia of Reagents (EROS) 
• McGraw-Hill Primary Care eBook Library - The publisher is discontinuing this collection. The Levy Library catalog provides a number of comparable online books as an alternative.

Resources stopping later in 2025:

• Nursing Specialties from Board Vitals
  • Access ends January 25, 2025.
  • PSON students have access to NCLEX and other nursing exam prep materials through PSON. 
  • Nurses at Mount Sinai studying for NCLEX have access to LearningExpress Library (through New York Public Library) --everyone at Mount Sinai eligible for NYPL card. Choose "Careers" and then "Prepare for Nursing Exams"
• DynaMed
  • Access ends July 1, 2025. 
  • Comparable point of care resources available include UpToDate, Dynamic Health, and BMJ Best Practice.
• Market Research
  • Access ends September 30, 2025.
  • Market research data sources available from New York Public Library (NYPL)--everyone at Mount Sinai eligible for NYPL card. 

November 22, 2024, marks a momentous occasion: the 50th anniversary of the Gustave L. and Janet W. Levy Library. For half a century, Levy Library has been a cornerstone of learning, discovery, and collaboration at Mount Sinai. From our origins as a library staff stewarding a physical collection of books and journals to our transformation into your partners in a state-of-the-art digital and collaborative learning environment, Levy Library has evolved to meet the needs of all learners in our dynamic academic health center. 

This anniversary is not just about looking back—it’s about moving forward. Over the next year, we invite you to help us celebrate our golden anniversary as we dive into four key themes that reflect the Library’s integral role in advancing Mount Sinai’s mission: 

Learning with the Library 

Levy Library provides a virtual and physical learning environment with current high-quality knowledge resources and expert guidance by library staff. We educate our community, fostering curiosity and critical thinking.  We leverage artificial intelligence and educational technology in collaborative activities that prepare learners to navigate a rapidly evolving world. 

Fueling Discovery & Scholarship 

For five decades, Levy Library has been at the heart of Mount Sinai's journey in discovery and scholarship. As a hub for scholarly activity, our digital library is available whenever inspiration hits.  We provide equitable access to biomedical illustration, publishing tools and workshops, and open access publishing in Levy Library Press journals.  We champion Mount Sinai authors and promote their work through the Scholars Portal. 

Advancing Clinical Care 

The Levy Library seamlessly integrates immediate, evidence-based information critical to patient care within the clinical environment to support the dynamic needs of our healthcare professionals. We partner with Graduate Medical Education, the Center for Nursing Research and Innovation, and a broad network of healthcare teams to ensure access to essential resources, training, and support. We equip every member of our health system with the tools to drive healthcare excellence and advance clinical care. 

Connectedness 

Our strength lies in the connections we build with our users, the physical and virtual places we provide for learners to connect, and the partnerships we foster across Mount Sinai. Levy Library serves as vital connective tissue, seamlessly linking our users with biomedical literature, collaborations, and partnerships. Committed to equity and accessibility, we ensure that every member of our diverse community can connect, learn, and grow. 

Join the Celebration Today! 

As part of our 50th-anniversary kickoff, we’re inviting everyone to explore the rich history and lasting impact of Levy Library. Here’s how you can participate: 

• Read More About Our History: Discover the Library’s journey and its influence on Mount Sinai’s hospital and school community over at Mount Sinai Daily. 

• Visit Our Archival Visual Display: Stop by the Levy Library to view an engaging display showcasing archival images from the past 50 years. Can’t make it to campus? Explore our image showcase online and visit the Mount Sinai Archives online collection at archives.mssm.edu. 

• Attend Our Panel Discussion Today: Join us at noon for AI in the Library: Open Dialogue Series, a fascinating panel discussion on the role of artificial intelligence in teaching and learning. Join the panel in person at Levy Library or online via Zoom. 

• Share your Levy Moment and Vision of your Library: We invite you to join us in honoring our history, exploring our present, and imagining our future. Share your "Levy Moment" and your vision of your Library. 

This is just the beginning of a year-long celebration filled with events, stories, and opportunities to connect. As we celebrate this milestone year, we invite you to join us in honoring our history, exploring our present, and imagining our future. Let’s celebrate Levy Moments, share stories, and define what the next 50 years of the Levy Library will look like—together. 

Here’s to 50 years of knowledge and community—and many more to come! 

Looking for the perfect spot to study? The Levy Library has you covered! Whether you prefer quiet, independent work or a collaborative space to study with colleagues, the open areas on the 11th floor provide a range of study environments, including access to several computer workstations and docking stations for your study and research needs. Need an extra space for a zero noise study session, take a meeting or make a phone call? Reserve one of our three meeting pods, ideal for short study sessions, collaborative meetings, or even virtual discussions.

If you’re on the 10th floor, you’ll find more reservable spaces, including two group rooms that can accommodate up to six people and four individual study rooms for those who prefer a more private setting.

And if you’re studying at other Mount Sinai campuses, we've got you covered there too! The Mount Sinai West Library is open 24/7 with ID card access, ensuring you can study whenever it suits you. At Mount Sinai Morningside, the Information Commons is also available around the clock. For those in East Harlem, the Phillips School of Medicine Information Commons offers study space for current ISMMS, GSBS and PSON students Monday through Thursday from 7:00 AM to 7:00PM and Friday from 7:00 AM to 6:00PM—just show your Mount Sinai ID card to the security guard for entry.

If you have any questions about accessing these spaces or reserving rooms, don’t hesitate to reach out to us at the library. We’re here to help make your study season as smooth as possible!

Levy Library 

The Levy Library is on the 10th and 11th floors of the Annenberg Building, on the Mount Sinai Hospital campus at 1 Gustave Levy Place. The Library main entrance located is on the 11th floor. For more information, visit the Levy Library website - library.mssm.edu 

Library Hours – 11th Floor 

• 7:30am – 12:50am  Monday- Friday 
• 10:00am – 10:50pm  Saturday 
• 12:00pm – 10:50pm Sunday 

Overnight Access – 10th Floor 

• After 9pm –6am on weekdays – 10th floor is open to ISMMS, GSBS,  and PSON Students and Mount Sinai trainees with a valid Mount Sinai ID card. 
• 24 hours on weekends - 10th floor is open to ISMMS, GSBS, and PSON Students and Mount Sinai trainees with a valid Mount Sinai IC card.

Study Spaces, Meeting Pod, Group Study, and Individual Study Reservations

• Check out the spaces available and get started with a reservation here: libguides.mssm.edu/findaspace 

Mount Sinai Morningside Information Commons

The Mount Sinai Information Commons is located inside the Clark building of the Mount Sinai Morningside campus at 440 West 114 St. The Library is located on the 8th floor, Room MU5C23 and is accessible 24/7 to current Mount Sinai faculty, staff, and students with a valid Mount Sinai ID card. For more information, visit Mount Sinai Information Commons website - libguides.mssm.edu/MSM

Mount Sinai West Library

The Mount Sinai West Medical Library is located in the Mount Sinai West Hospital campus at 1000th 10th Ave. The Library is located on the second floor, near the chapel in room 2A-10 and is accessible 24/7 to current Mount Sinai faculty, staff, and students with a valid Mount Sinai ID card. For more information, visit Mount Sinai West Library website - libguides.mssm.edu/MSW

PSON Information Commons

The PSON Information Commons is located on the second floor of the PSON building at 148 E.126 St. This space is only accessible to current PSON, ISMMS and GSBS students with a valid Mount Sinai ID card Monday - Thursday 7:00AM - 7:00PM and Friday 7:00AM - 5:00PM.

Dear Mount Sinai community, 

We are excited to announce to Mount Sinai students and your faculty and academic programs that there are new options to preserve and share your scholarly work with readers outside of academic institutions.

When you are ready to submit your student thesis, dissertation or culminating work/capstone, there are new options in the Thesis and Dissertation Submission workflow for your consideration.   Mount Sinai now offers you the option to also make your work available through its digital collections hosted by the Arthur H. Aufses, Jr., MD Archives.  Having your work preserved in the Archives will generate a unique URL that allows you to share a link to your work with people outside of Mount Sinai who do not subscribe to the ProQuest Theses and Dissertation database. If you are requesting delayed sharing of your work due to publication or patent embargoes, you can indicate that you would like to share and then set the time periods delays, just as you do for the ProQuest database. 

If you are planning to submit your Graduate School thesis or dissertation soon, please review the instructions at https://libguides.mssm.edu/dissertations/ETDsubmission and let us know if you have any questions. Have a great summer!  

Kris Alpi, Associate Dean of Libraries & Information Sciences

Image by Memed_Nurrohmad from Pixabay.

Please be aware that due to upcoming Zoom tenant migration, the Levy Library's reference line will be unavailable from 7pm Friday, June 21, 2024 to 2am Saturday June 22, 2024. If you need to leave a message for library staff, please call the library's main line at 212-241-7791 and leave a voicemail there. You may also email us at refdesk@mssm.edu or contact us through our Ask-A-Librarian service.

The ISMMS Levy Library is delighted to announce our website is being refreshed with new design!

What's New?

• Aligned Look and Feel: The Library homepage now mirrors the style of the school's main website. This cohesive design supports our institutional identity and provides a seamless experience moving between the school and library sites.
• Improved Navigation: We've put the search box at the top and restructured the layout to ensure you find what you need quickly and easily.
• Enhanced Accessibility: The new design is more accessible and fully optimized for mobile devices, ensuring all community members can use it effectively.
• More Direct Links: We added a few more key items to the Popular Tools, Collections, and Services menus.

What Remains the Same?

• Your Essential Links: While the website has undergone a visual transformation, all links to your vital resources and services on pages within the library website, such as research guides, workshops, and interlibrary loans, remain the same.
• The Best Starting Point for Access to Articles, Books and Databases: The Library homepage offers the quickest connection to resources and the Mount Sinai instance of PubMed. For more about login and access methods which transitioned In December to Open Athens, visit https://libguides.mssm.edu/login.

This redesign represents our commitment to enhance your library experience and ensure that our resources are accessible and user-friendly. We encourage you to explore the new homepage and familiarize yourself with the new look and feel.  We would like to thank our colleagues in Mount Sinai’s Marketing and Communication department for supporting these efforts.

You can check out the new website design at: library.mssm.edu 

If you have any questions, please contact us at refdesk@mssm.edu. Enjoy!

Kerry McKee, Director of Access Services
Kris Alpi, Associate Dean of Libraries & Information Sciences

Dear Mount Sinai Community,

The Library team carefully reviews the use of journals, books, databases and knowledge management tools each year to ensure we have the resources Mount Sinai needs for learning, research and clinical care.  There will be a few new or restored resources starting in January as the result of swapping out or cancellation of lesser used resources.  

With the financial challenges facing health care, Mount Sinai has reduced the budget to support library resources for 2024. Based on usage data, costs and contract limitations, we made the difficult decision to stop subscribing to the journals and databases listed at the end of this post. This is the initial list of resources that will not be available online to you starting January 1, 2024.  During 2024, there will be other resources impacted and we will add those to the list as decisions are made.   

We recognize that the loss of immediate online access is an inconvenience, but you can still get the materials you need from the Library by request. Please use our interlibrary loan service (ILL) to request articles you need from any journal at no cost to you. You will typically receive them within 2 business days, rush requesting is available, and we use the data from ILL to make decisions about the need for future subscriptions.  If you do not have an ILL account, please register now so that when you need something, you are ready to request it seamlessly.  

For the databases and tools, below we identify alternatives that you can use or other locations where you can access the resources. If you have any questions, please contact us at library@mssm.edu.  

Hearing from you about how you are impacted by these budget reductions will allow us to prioritize restoring the most needed resources should the budget situation improve.  We welcome partnerships with others that may have funds to support subscriptions to titles that we cannot currently afford.  

If you are having access issues with resources not on this list, please check the blog post Access to Library Resources Evolves in 2024 to see if your issue is a known problem. 

We appreciate your understanding during this challenging time.   

Sincerely yours,  

Kris Alpi, Associate Dean of Libraries and Information Sciences

New Resources starting January 1, 2024

Scriver

As we step into 2024, the Library is transforming the ways you can access Library-subscribed online resources. A significant part of this transformation is the introduction of OpenAthens, our new authentication tool that provides secure access to Mount Sinai's licensed online resources via single sign-on (SSO) technology.

Accessing Library Resources with OpenAthens

OpenAthens streamlines the login process by providing single sign-on access to a wide range of library resources, allowing you to enter your institutional credentials once to access multiple databases and journals. You can learn more about OpenAthens and how to sign into library resources on our Connect to Resources: OpenAthens Guide at https://libguides.mssm.edu/login/openathens.

Temporary Access Issues

As we integrate OpenAthens, you might encounter issues accessing library resources. If you're facing difficulty in accessing a resource off-site, it might be temporarily be available on-site at Mount Sinai locations or through VPN only. Here are resources where Open Athens access is still in progress and therefore they are currently available on-site or while connected to VPN. This list is updated to reflect the latest changes. You can request that we send you materials from these resources by contacting us at refdesk@mssm.edu. If you have issues with a resource not on this list, please also let us know.

Navigating Changes to Subscriptions

Access issues may also be due to changes in the Library subscriptions as there are several resources which will not be available for direct online access to Mount Sinai in 2024. For the most current information about our subscriptions and access, read about these changes and view the list of impacted resources at: https://libguides.mssm.edu/blog/2024subscriptionchanges.

We're Here to Help

If you're unable to access a resource, please reach out. Our Library team is always ready to assist you in accessing the resources you need for your research, studies and clinical care. Contact us at refdesk@mssm.edu with the title of the resource you are looking for, and we'll work with you to get the information you need.

The Levy Library is excited to announce that starting December 21, 2023 we are changing the sign-in process for users to authenticate for all Library resources from EZ Proxy to OpenAthens, a secure platform integrated with Mount Sinai single sign-on. OpenAthens allows users to access Library subscriptions directly from the publisher websites in addition to the current method of accessing resources through links from the Library website and catalog.

This transition to OpenAthens marks a significant enhancement in accessing our library resources. Library users will now enjoy streamlined access across resource provider websites, simplifying access to online resources with a single login, whether on or off-campus. Once logged in via OpenAthens, users will no longer need to repeat the log in process and will have uninterrupted access to library resources.

A new sign in experience for our users

With a secure platform integrated with Mount Sinai single sign-on, users will be able to authenticate with their Mount Sinai email address. Here's a preview of what users will see when they sign in to access an online resource. Learn more about accessing online resources in the OpenAthens Guide. 

Stay tuned for further information and guidance on utilizing OpenAthens on the launch date. We're excited about the possibilities this change brings to enhance user access to Library resources.