Levy Library Blog

The ISMMS Levy Library is delighted to announce our website is being refreshed with new design!

What's New?

• Aligned Look and Feel: The Library homepage now mirrors the style of the school's main website. This cohesive design supports our institutional identity and provides a seamless experience moving between the school and library sites.
• Improved Navigation: We've put the search box at the top and restructured the layout to ensure you find what you need quickly and easily.
• Enhanced Accessibility: The new design is more accessible and fully optimized for mobile devices, ensuring all community members can use it effectively.
• More Direct Links: We added a few more key items to the Popular Tools, Collections, and Services menus.

What Remains the Same?

• Your Essential Links: While the website has undergone a visual transformation, all links to your vital resources and services on pages within the library website, such as research guides, workshops, and interlibrary loans, remain the same.
• The Best Starting Point for Access to Articles, Books and Databases: The Library homepage offers the quickest connection to resources and the Mount Sinai instance of PubMed. For more about login and access methods which transitioned In December to Open Athens, visit https://libguides.mssm.edu/login.

This redesign represents our commitment to enhance your library experience and ensure that our resources are accessible and user-friendly. We encourage you to explore the new homepage and familiarize yourself with the new look and feel.  We would like to thank our colleagues in Mount Sinai’s Marketing and Communication department for supporting these efforts.

You can check out the new website design at: library.mssm.edu 

If you have any questions, please contact us at refdesk@mssm.edu. Enjoy!

Kerry McKee, Director of Access Services
Kris Alpi, Associate Dean of Libraries & Information Sciences

Dear Mount Sinai Community,

The Library team carefully reviews the use of journals, books, databases and knowledge management tools each year to ensure we have the resources Mount Sinai needs for learning, research and clinical care.  There will be a few new or restored resources starting in January as the result of swapping out or cancellation of lesser used resources.  

With the financial challenges facing health care, Mount Sinai has reduced the budget to support library resources for 2024. Based on usage data, costs and contract limitations, we made the difficult decision to stop subscribing to the journals and databases listed at the end of this post. This is the initial list of resources that will not be available online to you starting January 1, 2024.  During 2024, there will be other resources impacted and we will add those to the list as decisions are made.   

We recognize that the loss of immediate online access is an inconvenience, but you can still get the materials you need from the Library by request. Please use our interlibrary loan service (ILL) to request articles you need from any journal at no cost to you. You will typically receive them within 2 business days, rush requesting is available, and we use the data from ILL to make decisions about the need for future subscriptions.  If you do not have an ILL account, please register now so that when you need something, you are ready to request it seamlessly.  

For the databases and tools, below we identify alternatives that you can use or other locations where you can access the resources. If you have any questions, please contact us at library@mssm.edu.  

Hearing from you about how you are impacted by these budget reductions will allow us to prioritize restoring the most needed resources should the budget situation improve.  We welcome partnerships with others that may have funds to support subscriptions to titles that we cannot currently afford.  

If you are having access issues with resources not on this list, please check the blog post Access to Library Resources Evolves in 2024 to see if your issue is a known problem. 

We appreciate your understanding during this challenging time.   

Sincerely yours,  

Kris Alpi, Associate Dean of Libraries and Information Sciences

New Resources starting January 1, 2024

Scriver’s OMMBID:Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease

Journal additions through swapping

• Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
• Arthroscopy
• Clinics in Chest Medicine
• Gastroenterology
• Journal of Gastrointestinal Surgery
• Journal of Hand Surgery
• Journal of Minimally Invasive Gynecology
• Journal of Nuclear Cardiology
• Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences
• Ophthalmology Glaucoma

Resources stopping / Cancellations as of December 31, 2023

Journals cancelled or swapped

• Chem Catalysis (swapped)
• Edizioni Minerva Medica 
• Emergency Medicine Practice 
• International Angiology 
• International Journal of Neural Systems 
• Joule (swapped)
• Journal of Cardiovascular Surgery 
• Journal of Medical Robotics Research 
• Journal of Personality Disorders 
• Journal of Wound Care 
• One Earth (swapped)
• Optics Letters 
• Physical Review Letters 
• Psychodynamic Psychiatry 
• Trends in Chemistry (swapped)

Publishers where we no longer subscribe to all the journals, but renewed the journals you use the most:

• DeGruyters (we renewed access to four journals:  Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine, Journal of Pediatric Endocrinology and Metabolism, Journal of Perinatal Medicine, and Reviews in the Neurosciences)
• IOP Press (we renewed access to Physics in Medicine & Biology)
• Karger (we renewed access to eight journals: American Journal of Nephrology, International Archives of Allergy and Immunology, Nephron. Neuroendocrinology, Respiration, Dermatology, Cardiology, Complex Psychiatry
• Royal Society of Chemistry (we renewed access to seven journals:  Biomaterials Science, Chemical Society Reviews, Chemical Communications, Nanoscale, Lab on a Chip, Journal of Materials Chemistry B, Food & Function

For access issues, please check the list at Access to Library Resources Evolves in 2024.

A new year means new library workshops and we are happy to announce that our Spring 2024 library workshops are now open for registration!  

Join us via Zoom as our experienced librarians discuss a wide range of topics, including how to conduct a literature review, how to stay organized with reference management tools, evaluating patient education resources, selecting journal submission targets, and more! 

How do I register? 

For a full list of our Spring 2024 library workshops, please visit our Library Events and Workshops page.  

Can’t make it to one of our scheduled live sessions?  

We’ve got you covered! Simply visit the Levy Library YouTube Channel to watch our pre-recorded sessions anytime.  

For more information about library workshops, please contact us at refdesk@mssm.edu.