Nutrition and Dietetic Resources: Nutrition Databases

An overview of resources on nutrition, dietetics, and food science for students, clinicians, and researchers

Dietary Supplement and Natural Medicine Databases

Dietary Supplements Compendium (DSC)
Includes United States Pharmacopeia (USP) Dietary Supplements and Dietary Ingredients monographs, reagents and reference tables, and USP general tests and assays.
Access Note: To access the DSC, create a USP Academic Connection account using your Mount Sinai email address.
Dietary Supplements Labels Database
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) contains information taken from the labels of approximately 50,000 dietary supplement products available in the U.S. marketplace.
LactMed Drug and Lactation Database
LactMed, freely available from the National Library of Medicine, provides monographs on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and possible effects in breastfed infants and on lactation.
Peer reviewed and fully referenced.
Natural Medicines & Supplements Database
Natural Medicines database is an authoritative resource on dietary supplements, herbal medicines, and complementary and integrative therapies. This database also contains interactive tools for safety, effectiveness and interactions as well as over 1,400 natural medicine monographs.

To Create a Personal Account

Please click "Get Your Login ID" to create a personal account.

SciFinder-n and ChemZent®
In addition to reference, substance, reaction and supplier content, SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing.