Phillips School of Nursing Information Commons: Home

Quick Links

Mobile Apps

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete Anatomy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access Notes: For access instructions to Complete Anatomy login to the Library Resources Special Directions page.This resource is restricted to Mount Sinai faculty, staff, and students.You must have a Mount Sinai email address to use this mobile app. Remote/Off-site users will need to connect to VPN to access activation instructions.
e-Anatomy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
App activation instructions:
1. While on Mount Sinai's network (you may need to briefly turn off Zscaler), create your personal account using your Mount Sinai email at IMAIOS Register
2. Download and install IMAIOS e-Anatomy on your mobile device.
3. While on Mount Sinai's network, start IMAIOS e-Anatomy App and login using your IMAIOS username and password.
4. This will activate the app for two weeks. If you use the app again while on Mount Sinai's network within these two weeks, you'll be activated for two more weeks. If you logout or your two weeks expire, you must connect your device to the Mount Sinai network and login again to restore access.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mobile App Access Instructions
For mobile app activation instructions, login to the Library Resources Special Directions page.
PDFelement This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References On Tap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mobile App Activation Instructions
In order to use the mobile app, you must register for a person UpToDate account through the UpToDate website. Please follow the steps below to register for an account.

1. From Mount Sinai's network go to the UpToDate search page and click the register option in the upper right corner if you are not prompted to register on the main page.
2. Register for a personal account. Choose whatever username/password you want - does not need to be your Mount Sinai credentials.
3. Download the UTD app from the App Store and login using your personal account username/password.
4. Every few months you'll need to authenticate yourself as an active Mount Sinai user. To do this, just login to UpToDate from a computer on Mount Sinai's network.

About the Library

The Phillips School of Nursing Information Commons serves the population of the Phillips School of Nursing at Mount Sinai, and liaises between affiliated institutions within the Mount Sinai Health System, including the Levy Library at the Icahn School of Medicine. The Commons is available to support the optimal academic and research curricula needs of the students and faculty of the Phillips School of Nursing.

Library Research and Instructional Support:

Linda Paulls, MLIS is the Phillips School of Nursing librarian. She is available to provide library support for reference inquires during business hours [Monday-Friday from 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM]. For more in-depth questions or research related support, please schedule an appointment for a consultation. Consultations are via Zoom or in-person. To submit a question or schedule a consultation, please email Linda.Paulls@mountsinai.org

The Levy Library provides supplemental support for quick questions through Ask-a-Librarian service. To Chat (live) with a librarian during business hours, please access https://askalibrarian.mssm.edu/

Get Help With::

APA Citation & Formatting
Using the library's Catalog
Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) & Nursing
Literature Searching & Literature Reviews
Research Assignments
Navigating databases
Reference Management
Library website orientation
Nursing Reference Center Plus database
Other (request)

Levy Library online (catalog, databases and resources)

Access the Levy Library at library,mssm.edu You will need to login. You will be prompted to authenticate with Azure. Here are instructions on which credentials you need to use to login You can start the login process by clicking the blue button labeled: 'Sign-in via MyAthens'.

IT Support:

For VPN, technical issues, or password reset questions email technical support (on Moodle) or submit a Moodle IT form.

To access the PSON Library Resources Moodle page go to: https://pson.moonami.com/

For Information Commons printing and computer issues, please contact PSON IT at: IT@pson.edu

Printing at the Levy Library:

Please see the Levy Library's Technology Services Guide. Color printing is available at the Levy Library for a fee of $1.00 per side. B/W printing .10 cents. The Circulation Desk staff can assist with setting up a Levy Library printing account during business hours.

Writing Support (by appointment)

Icahn School of Medicine writing tutors are is available by appointment to PSON students. Please read the instructions regarding the type of writing support services provided, and how to schedule an appointment.

Library workshops: The Levy Library offers 30 - 60 minute open workshops via Zoom. These are open to all MSHS staff, PSON students and faculty. View our current calendar of open workshops/events: https://libcal.mssm.edu/

Levy Library

PSON Moodle

Nursing Database Resources

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing and allied health literature plus additional resources. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.

Access Note: While on the Mount Sinai network, you can download the mobile app by clicking on the link at the bottom of the CINAHL site which states: "iPhone and Android apps". Open the confirmation email and install the app according to the instructions.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Provides citations and abstracts for the journal literature of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences. Articles are indexed using National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). MEDLINE citations published in Index Medicus, and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
With Nursing Reference Center (NRC), nurses can get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills and read full-text journal articles anytime and anywhere.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An integrated search platform for multiple drug databases including the Mount Sinai Formulary and Lexi-Drugs. Includes a drug interaction and compatibility tool, generic drug availability, as well as pricing information.
Mobile App Access Instructions
For mobile app activation instructions, login to the Library Resources Special Directions page.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DynaMed provides relevant information in an easy to digest format for fast implementation at the point-of-care.
App activation instructions:
1. Access DynaMed via the library's homepage or open the following link in a new web browser Dynamed Database
2. Click the Sign In/Create Account link at the top of the page. Fill out the fields and click submit.
3. You will receive an automated email from DynaMed prompting you to authenticate your account. Follow the link and subsequent prompts.
4. Once you have completed the authentication, sign in to your account within the browser.
5. Download the DynaMed app and login using your email address and the password you created.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a clinical information resource that aims to synthesize the latest research evidence with best practices in order to provide detailed recommendations. Register for an account or simply begin searching using the search bar at the top.
Mobile App Activation Instructions
In order to use the mobile app, you must register for a person UpToDate account through the UpToDate website. Please follow the steps below to register for an account.

1. From Mount Sinai's network go to the UpToDate search page and click the register option in the upper right corner if you are not prompted to register on the main page.
2. Register for a personal account. Choose whatever username/password you want - does not need to be your Mount Sinai credentials.
3. Download the UTD app from the App Store and login using your personal account username/password.
4. Every few months you'll need to authenticate yourself as an active Mount Sinai user. To do this, just login to UpToDate from a computer on Mount Sinai's network.
HAPI - Health & Psychosocial Instruments (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
HAPI provides information about measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. It assists in the identification of measures for studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, and program evaluation.
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports as well as citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, and education.
Coverage extends back to 1887. Also known as PsychINFO.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary database that provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in thousands of subjects. Citation information is tracked back to 1996, allowing you to identify articles that reference earlier articles, calculate metrics such as the h-index and compare journal citation information.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse a collection of medical, nursing and allied health reference books such as Stedman's Medical Dictionary, AHFS Drug Information, High Acuity Nursing; Therapeutic Exercise: Foundations and Techniques. and the ICDM-9-CM.
TRIP This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support patient care.

Nursing E-Book Quick Links

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
ISBN: 9781719646406
Publication Date: 2022
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by 9th ed
ISBN: 9781975178581
Publication Date: 2023
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing by Shelia L. Videbeck
ISBN: 1496355911
Publication Date: 2018

NCLEX Resources

NCLEX Prep Questions: Basic Care & Comfort
Nurse Labs NCLEX Practice Questions
Nurse Plus NCLEX Test Prep Questions
RN Practice Exam
LearningExpress Library (through NYPL) Offers practice exams, ebooks, and flashcards to prepare for nursing exams. This is a resource available through the New York Public Library (NYPL). Get your NYPL card here: https://www.nypl.org/library-card/new. Choose the section on Careers and then "Prepare for Nursing Exams".

Board Vitals (on Levy Library)