Phillips School of Nursing Information Commons: Home
Quick Links
Mobile Apps
- BrowZine This link opens in a new window
- Complete Anatomy This link opens in a new window
- e-Anatomy This link opens in a new window
- Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
- PDFelement This link opens in a new window
- Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
About the Library
The Phillips School of Nursing Information Commons serves the population of the Phillips School of Nursing at Mount Sinai, and liaises between affiliated institutions within the Mount Sinai Health System, including the Levy Library at the Icahn School of Medicine. The Commons is available to support the optimal academic and research curricula needs of the students and faculty of the Phillips School of Nursing.
Library Research and Instructional Support:
Linda Paulls, MLIS is the Phillips School of Nursing librarian. The PSON librarian is available to provide library support during business hours [Monday-Friday from 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM]. You can meet 1:1 with her either via Zoom or in-person. To submit a question or schedule a consultation for support, email Linda.Paulls@mountsinai.org
Get Help With::
-
Using library resources
-
Literature searching (CINHAL, PubMed, others)
-
Getting full text /articles
-
Research & class assignments
-
Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) & Nursing
-
APA Citation & Formatting
-
Reference Management (Zotero)
-
Other (request)
The PSON librarian is your 'go-to' librarian. The Levy Library provides some supplemental support for quick questions through Ask-a-Librarian service. To Chat (live) with a librarian during business hours, please access https://askalibrarian.mssm.edu/
Levy Library online (catalog, databases and resources)
Access the Levy Library at library.mssm.edu You will need to login. You will be prompted to authenticate with Azure. Here are instructions on which credentials you need to use to login You can start the login process by clicking the blue button labeled: 'Sign-in via MyAthens'. If prompted, select: Icahn School of Medicine. For Login issues, email IT@pson.edu
IT Support:
For problems with your login, VPN, technical issues, or password reset, Information Commons printing or computer issues, or Moodle issues, please email PSON technical support: IT@pson.edu or submit a Moodle IT form.
To access the PSON Library Resources Moodle page go to: https://pson.moonami.com/
Printing at the Levy Library:
Please see the Levy Library's Technology Services Guide. Color printing is available at the Levy Library for a fee of .50 cents per side. B/W printing .10 cents. The Circulation Desk staff can assist with setting up a Levy Library printing account during business hours.
Writing Support (by appointment)
Icahn School of Medicine writing tutors are is available by appointment to PSON students. Please read the instructions regarding the type of writing support services provided, and how to schedule an appointment.
Library workshops: The Levy Library offers 30 - 60 minute open workshops via Zoom. These are open to all MSHS staff, PSON students and faculty. View our calendar of open workshops/events: https://libcal.mssm.edu/
Nursing Database Resources
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing and allied health literature plus additional resources. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 38 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more.
NOTE: As of July 1, 2025, Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRCP) will become part of the new Nursing & Allied Health Reference Source and users will no longer be able to obtain continuing education (CE) credits. To download existing CE certificates from NRCP, please visit https://ceu.cinahl.com.
As an alternative resource to earn nursing CE credits, please see Dynamic Health.
- Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
An integrated search platform for multiple drug databases including the Mount Sinai Formulary and Lexi-Drugs. Includes a drug interaction and compatibility tool, generic drug availability, as well as pricing information.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed provides relevant information in an easy to digest format for fast implementation at the point-of-care.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a clinical information resource that aims to synthesize the latest research evidence with best practices in order to provide detailed recommendations. Register for an account or simply begin searching using the search bar at the top.
- HAPI - Health & Psychosocial Instruments (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
HAPI provides information about measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. It assists in the identification of measures for studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, and program evaluation.
- PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports as well as citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, and education.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA large interdisciplinary database that provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in thousands of subjects. Citation information is tracked back to 1996, allowing you to identify articles that reference earlier articles, calculate metrics such as the h-index and compare journal citation information.
- Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Search or browse a collection of medical, nursing and allied health reference books such as Stedman's Medical Dictionary, AHFS Drug Information, High Acuity Nursing; Therapeutic Exercise: Foundations and Techniques. and the ICDM-9-CM.
- TRIP This link opens in a new windowTrip is a clinical search engine designed to easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support patient care.
