- Levy Library
- Levy Library Guides
- Topic Guides
- Nutrition and Dietetic Resources
- Statistics and Data on Nutrition
Nutrition and Dietetic Resources: Statistics and Data on Nutrition
This guide provides resources on nutrition, dietetics, and food science.
Nutrition Status and Food Access Data
A short list of data sets on nutrition including policy, access, and food status from various government and organizational platforms.
- GHDx - Global Health Data Exchange This link opens in a new windowA catalog of the world's health and demographic data. Includes census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health. Links to public-use datasets from other organizations.
Access provided by The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) at the University of Washington.
- CDC Overweight and Obesity Data and StatisticsA list of the latest statistics of obesity in the United States including interactive maps, reports, and fact sheets provided by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
- FAOSTATThe Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations provides free access to food and agricultural data for for over 245 countries and territories from 1961 to the most recent year.
- USDA Food Access Research AtlasThe USDA's Food Access Research Atlas presents food access data in various domains as it pertains to the social determinants of health.
Food Composition and Safety Data
Food composition data can vary by location and dates, the selected data sets are a short list of food composition data from organizational and government platforms. Additional data sets can be found in the literature.
- Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database (DSID)The DSID provides estimated levels of ingredients in dietary supplement products sold in the United States. These statistically predicted estimates may differ from labeled amounts and are based on chemical analysis of nationally representative products.
- FAO International Food Composition DatabasesThe Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations has compiled a series of databases looking at the food composition and nutrient values of various foods and supplements. Tables and databases can be filtered by continent.
- Food Data Central (USDA)Food Data Central presents food and nutrient profiles from a variety of sources and links to agricultural experimental research.
- USDA Purine Content of Food DatabaseDeveloped by USDA scientists, this database includes data of purine bases in foods and to identify gaps. Four purine bases are included, including xanthine, guanine, adenine, and hypoxanthine.
Nutrition Data for New York City
Major New York City specific data sets on nutrition including data on nutrition status and access, food policy, and environmental factors from government platforms.
- New York City Food Metrics ReportThe food metric reports provides a snapshot of data from city initiative programs including food insecurity, chronic diseases, food access and more.
- New York City Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NYCHANES)Data sets and documentation for the NYC version of NHANES. The NYCHANES study is a population study with data collected from various areas including laboratory tests, interviews, and physical examinations.
- New York City Nutrition Data and StatisticsA list of data from recent nutritional reports in NYC. Here you will find behavioral risk factor surveillance system reports, programming reports, and action nutrition reports.
- NYC Health DataWhile not nutrition specific, the NYC Health Data site data sets in various domains including environmental health and safety.
Large Scale Studies with Data Available
Some of the most well known nutrition data comes from large scale studies such as NHANES and the USAID Demographic and Health Surveys. The selected studies are just some of the currently known major studies on nutrition. Each study includes their research data.
- FDA Total Diet Study (TDA)The Food and Drug Administration's total diet study monitors levels of nutrients and contaminants in foods eaten by people in the United States. Datasets for this study is included.
- National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States.
- What We Eat in America (WWEIA)What We Eat in America is the dietary interview component of NHANES conducted as a partnership between the U.S Department of Health and Human Services, and the U.S Department of Agriculture.
Additional Resources
- Dietary Assessment Resources (National Cancer Institute)A list of dietary assessment resources including dietary intake collection and analysis, and databases.
- Dietary Index AnalysisDietary index is an R package that provides user-friendly, streamlined methods for standardizing the compilation of dietary intake data into index-based dietary patterns to enable the assessment of adherence to these patterns in epidemiologic and clinical studies, promoting precision nutrition.
- USDA Food Service Research Group Surveys and DatabasesA list of surveys and databases from the USDA. You will also find here the Automated Multiple Pass Method, which is a computerized tool for collecting results of the 24-hour dietary recall assessment.
- WHO Nutrition and Food Safety DatabasesA list of databases from the World Health Organization ranging from food safety, nutrition, chemical safety etc.