Special Topics: Nutrition & Alternative Medicine

Invitation to Holistic Health: A Guide to Living a Balanced Life, Fourth Edition, features solid principles and proven practices to promote optimal health and well-being using a holistic approach. The text is divided into four parts: Strengthening Your Inner Resources; Developing Healthy Lifestyle Practices; Taking Charge of Challenges to the Body, Mind, and Spirit; and Safe Use of Complementary and Alternative Therapies. This easy-to-read guide provides how-to information for dealing with a variety of health-related issues, including nutrition, exercise, herbal remedies, and homeopathic remedies, to name a few. Unlike other holistic health textbooks, the Fourth Edition promotes a variety of therapies and provides evidence to support the practice of each one. New to the Fourth Edition:* Updated research related to holistic health and practices* Expanded coverage of obesity and diversity* Tips for practitioners on providing holistic care in conventional settings* Discussion around the integration of conventional medicine and alternative therapies

This textbook is a practical guide to the application of the philosophy and principles of Integrative and Functional Medical Nutrition Therapy (IFMNT) in the practice of medicine, and the key role nutrition plays in restoring and maintaining wellness. The textbook provides an overview of recent reviews and studies of physiological and biochemical contributions to IFMNT and address nutritional influences in human heath overall, including poor nutrition, genomics, environmental toxicant exposures, fractured human interactions, limited physical movement, stress, sleep deprivation, and other lifestyle factors. Ultimately, this textbook serves to help practitioners, healthcare systems, and policy makers better understand this different and novel approach to complex chronic disorders. It provides the reader with real world examples of applications of the underlying principles and practices of integrative/functional nutrition therapies and presents the most up-to-date intervention strategies and clinical tools to help the reader keep abreast of developments in this emerging specialty field. Many chapters include comprehensive coverage of the topic and clinical applications with supplementary learning features such as case studies, take-home messages, patient and practitioner handouts, algorithms, and suggested readings. Integrative and Functional Medical Nutrition Therapy: Principles and Practices will serve as an invaluable guide for healthcare professionals in their clinical application of nutrition, lifestyle assessment, and intervention for each unique, individual patient.

Provide effective treatment with evidence-based natural medicine! Textbook of Natural Medicine, 5th Edition shows how to use natural medicine, Western medicine, or a blend of both to develop scientific treatment plans. Based on a combination of philosophy and clinical studies,?this text explains how to diagnose the underlying causes of disease and provide therapeutic interventions that support the body's own healing processes. Written by noted educators Joseph Pizzorno and Michael Murray, this text summarizes the pharmacology of herbal supplements, and emphasizes preventive, non-invasive, and natural treatments. UNIQUE! Practical diagnostic and therapeutic guidance is designed specifically for practicing clinicians, and includes key diagnostic criteria, pathophysiology of diseases, and therapeutic rationales. UNIQUE! In-depth coverage of science-based natural medicine makes this the most comprehensive textbook in this field. UNIQUE! Six separate sections on every aspect of natural/integrative medicine include philosophy, diagnosis, therapeutics, pharmacology, and specific disorders and diseases. UNIQUE! Detailed coverage of the most common medical conditions includes not just the recommended interventions but also an in-depth discussion of their fundamental causes. Content on the philosophy of natural medicine includes its history and background, with discussions of toxicity, detoxification, and scientific documentation of the healing actions of natural substances. Internationally known authors Joseph Pizzorno and Michael Murray lead a team of expert, practicing contributors in providing authoritative information on natural medicine. NEW tables, charts, graphs, and other visuals depict important data and summarize key points. NEW! Thirty new chapters cover even more disease and therapeutic agents than were covered in the previous edition. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations enhance reading and understanding. NEW! 50 new images have been added.

Written by leading authorities in complementary and integrative medicine, this convenient, quick-reference handbook provides clear and rational directives on diagnosing and treating specific diseases and disorders with natural medicine. You'll get concise summaries of diagnostic procedures, general considerations, therapeutic considerations, and therapeutic approaches for 84 of the most commonly seen conditions, 12 of which are new to this edition, plus naturopathic treatment methods and easy-to-follow condition flowcharts. Based on Pizzorno's trusted Textbook of Natural Medicine and the most current evidence available, it's your key to accessing reliable, natural diagnosis and treatment options in any setting. More than 80 algorithms throughout text synthesize therapeutic content and provide support for clinical judgment with a conceptual overview of case management. Combination of expert author team and scientifically verified content assures this handbook contains the most reliable coverage of diagnostic and natural treatment methods. Well-organized format utilizing consistent headings helps you make fast and accurate diagnoses. Light, portable size enables you to easily carry the handbook along with you in practice. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest research, data, and trends - including the most current recommendations related to specific diseases and newly emerging treatments. NEW! Four new chapters cover female infertility, maldigestion, bronchitis and pneumonia, and pregnancy health and primary prevention of adult disease.