Continuing Education: Continuing Medical Education (CME) Resources

Access Medicine

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Access Medicine is a collection of full text, searchable textbooks covering internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, emergency medicine, ob/gyn, surgery, and more. Textbook titles include Harrison's Online, Fuster and Hurst's the Heart, and Metabolic and Molecular Basis of Inherited Disease. Images from the textbooks may be saved, printed or downloaded for personal and educational use. AccessMedicine's mobile app content includes: Diagnosaurus DDX tool, Quick Medical DX and RX, Fitpatrick's Color Atlas of Dermatology, and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests and more!
Access Mobile App activation instructions:
1. On a desktop or mobile browser, navigate to AccessMedicine homepage while on the Mount Sinai network.
2. Select the ISMMS button in the upper right corner of the page and choose 'Sign in or Create a Free Access Profile from the drop down.
3. Either sign in or Create a free MyAccess Profile. Use your Mount Sinai institutional email address to ensure your account can be verified.
4. Once you create an account, download and install the app on your mobile device. *The app is not yet optimized for viewing on iPad or tablet*
5. After installing, you will be prompted to sign in with your Access profile credentials.
6. If you downloaded the app first, you will automatically be validated once you are on-site or connected via VPN.

NOTE:
You will need to re-authenticate to your Mount Sinai subscription every 90 days. To do this, you will visit the library website while on-site or using VPN. You will receive an in-app reminder when you need to reconnect to the subscription.

CME eligible multiple choice quizzes

Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Surgery, 15e
230 Questions

Laposata's Laboratory Medicine: The Diagnosis of Disease in the Clinical Laboratory, 3e
312 Questions

Medical Genetics: An Integrated Approach
73 Questions

Vanderbilt IM/Peds Review Questions
474 Questions

AAP Grand Rounds

AAP Grand Rounds This link opens in a new window
Literature review newsletter published by the American Academy of Pediatrics. Every month, physician experts from the Academy scan more than 75 journals for the most recent advances in pediatrics, summarize them, and add their expert commentary. Criteria for selection include methodological soundness as well as relevance to practicing pediatricians.

How to Claim ABP MOC Part 2 Credit in AAP CME Journals:

Pediatrics in Review (PIR):
- Claim up to 30 ABP MOC Part 2 points by passing 30 quizzes per year.
NeoReviews:
- Claim up to 10 ABP MOC Part 2 points by passing 10 quizzes per year.
AAP Grand Rounds:
- Claim up to 18 ABP MOC Part 2 points by passing 5 quizzes per year.
Achieve a 60% passing score and complete the required number of quizzes from the yearly subscription, claiming full credit within the calendar year.

Notes:

The completion date of the required quizzes will be the Earned Date recorded.
MOC can only be claimed once per journal year.
You must have an active subscription to this content in order to access the activities.

Accreditation: The American Academy of Pediatrics is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education (CME) for physicians. CME journal activities and enduring materials are designated for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™.

BMJ Best Practice

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice is a point of care tool from BMJ Evidence Centre designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment.
App activation instructions:
1. While on Mount Sinai's network, go to the BMJ Best Practice website.
2. Click 'Create account' on the top right to make your personal account.
3. Install/open the app, and sign in with your personal account to activate and download content.
4. To remain active, you need to login on the app from Mount Sinai's WiFi network once/year.

Offers CME, CNE (does not mention CNE specifically, but Internet Point of Care CME is "offered to nurses.. and other healthcare providers").

Accrediting Bodies: American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), The Cleveland Clinic Center for Continuing Education is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a clinical search resource available from Elsevier. Clinical Key includes patient education materials, drug information, practice guidelines and CME, as well as many high-quality books and journals.
App activation instructions:
1. While on the Mount Sinai network, register for a ClinicalKey account with your Mount Sinai email.
2. Download and install app.
3. Login to the app with your username and password to get full text access.

How to Earn CME Credits (A ClinicalKey account is required)

Identify a clinical question relevant to your professional practice.
Perform a search in ClinicalKey to answer you clinical question.
Access the most relevant book, journal, or Clinical Overview content, and your search will automatically be recorded as "Potential CME."

How to Claim CME Credits

When you are ready to claim your CME credit, click on the CME link, and filter by the time frame you would like to review.
Select the “Query” for which you would like to claim credit.
Review your Credit Details, answer the evaluation questions and click “Submit” to obtain AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™.
Certificates can then be viewed and/or printed.

DynaMed

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed provides relevant information in an easy to digest format for fast implementation at the point-of-care.
App activation instructions:
1. Access DynaMed via the link above.
2. Select the Sign In/Create Account link at the top of the page. Fill out the fields and submit.
3. You will receive an automated email from DynaMed prompting you to authenticate your account. Follow the link and subsequent prompts.
4. Once you have completed the authentication, sign in to your account within the browser.
5. Download the DynaMed app and login using your email address and the password you created.

Psychiatry Online

Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline is an integrated collection of psychiatric resources from American Psychiatric Publishing including: reference works, e-books, journals, news articles, self-assessment tools, PDA downloads, and more. You can pair your mobile device with Psychiatry Online to download core ebooks and ejournals including the DSM-5 on your smartphone. Mobile Access Guide PsychiatryOnline
Core resources include: The DSM-IV-TR and DSM-IV Casebook, American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders, Essentials of Clinical Psychopharmacology, and Clinical & Research News from Psychiatric News.

UpToDate

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a clinical information resource that aims to synthesize the latest research evidence with best practices in order to provide detailed recommendations. Register for an account or simply begin searching using the search bar at the top.
Mobile App Activation Instructions
1. Download the UTD app from the App Store and login EITHER by using your personal UpToDate account username/password OR by selecting the Sign in with Open Athens option.
2. Every few months you will be prompted to re-authenticate, which you can do by following the login process from step 1.

Credits are automatically earned each time a clinical question is researched.
Watch a demo on convenient tracking of AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ and redemption of CME/CE/CPD credits through UpToDate.