Levy Library Blog

An update to your book suggestions for the grant-funded collection additions

We have an exciting update to share regarding your book suggestions for our grant-funded collection additions. We are thrilled to inform you that we are moving forward with purchasing the books you recommended. Your valuable input has been essential in shaping our collections!

We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to the Mount Sinai community for submitting suggestions for new titles. Your engagement in this initiative highlights the shared commitment we have to spotlight resources from emerging and historically marginalized voices and promote diverse viewpoints on a variety of topics that play a major role in health. Additionally, we extend our thanks to the Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM) Region 7 for the Collection Equity Grant* which has made it possible for us to acquire these books.

We will keep you updated on the progress of these new additions, and we anticipate providing another update soon when the books are available to be check out. In the meantime, we encourage you to explore our current library collections.

Thanks again and we look forward to sharing these exciting titles with you in the near future!

Coming soon to our digital or physical shelves:

• The Age of Scientific Wellness: Why the Future of Medicine Is Personalized, Predictive, Data-Rich, and in Your Hands
• Automating Inequality
• Breathtaking: Asthma Care in a Time of Climate Change
• Change your Brain, Change your Life
• Children's Health and the Peril of Climate Change
• Climate Change and the People's Health
• The Creative Arts in Palliative Care
• The Death Gap: How Inequality Kills
• Deep Medicine: How Artificial Intelligence Can Make Healthcare Human Again
• The Drama of DNA: Narrative Genomics
• Extra Life: A Short Story of Living Longer
• The Grant Writing Guide
• Medicine in Art (A Guide to Imagery)
• Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain
• The Nature of Nature
• Seeing Science: How Photography Reveals the Universe
• Self Matters: Creating your Life From the Inside Out
• Take My Hand 
• Therapy Tech : The Digital Transformation of Mental Healthcare
• Treating Trauma in Trans People:  An Intersectional, Phase-Based Approach
• Twice as Hard: The Stories of Black Women Who Fought to Become Physicians, From the Civil War to the 21st Century
• The Uninhabitable Earth: Life After Warming
• Virtual You : How Building Your Virtual Twin will Revolutionize Medicine and Change Your Life
• What is Chat GPT Doing ... And Why Does It Work?
• Your Brain on Art:  How the Arts Transform Us

*NIH Grant Support and Disclaimer:

Developed resources reported in this communication are supported by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH) under cooperative agreement number UG4L M012347. The content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the National Institutes of Health.

In observance of the Memorial Day holiday, on Monday, May 29, 2023 the Levy Library will be open from 8:00am - 5:50pm. 

ANBG-10 will remain open and available to medical, graduate, and PhD students for studying 24 hours a day. The Levy Library will re-open on Friday, November 25th at 8:00am.

Library reference services and circulation services will not be available during the holiday, but you can still get access to our resources and help through the library website. Here are some links to help you get started:

• Access the Levy Library electronic collection of e-books, e-journals, databases and more!
• Have a question? Search the library FAQ knowledgebase for an answer.
• Looking for assistance? You can always send us an email and we'll be happy to get back to you when we re-open the next day. Send your email to refdesk@mssm.edu. 

The Mount Sinai West Library and Mount Sinai Morningside Information Commons will still be accessible by faculty, staff, and students by using their Mount Sinai ID card. To register for access to either location, please submit an access request form: https://mountsinai.formstack.com/forms/msmw_libraryafterhours

For more information about the library operating and service hours schedule and to view upcoming holiday hours, please visit: https://libguides.mssm.edu/libraryhours

By Linda Paulls, MLIS

May 6^th – 12^th is National Nurses Week, a time to show gratitude to nurses for their hard work, dedication, indispensable knowledge, and the care they provide. The Levy Library honors and thanks nurses for their invaluable contribution to healthcare.

A little history on National Nurses Week:

In 1953 the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare urged President Eisenhower to create an official “Nurse Day.” One year later, the first “National Nurses Week” was observed in October, the 100th year anniversary of Florence Nightingale's service during the Crimean War. Nightingale is known for her pioneering work in nursing, which significantly reduced death rates among wounded soldier by improving hygiene and other standards.  In 1955 a bill for a “National Nurse Week” was introduced to Congress, but unfortunately action wasn’t taken.

Twenty years later, in January 1974, the International Council of Nurses (ICN) declared May 12^th, the birthday of Florence Nightingale, as "International Nurse Day.” One month later, in February, President Nixon issued a proclamation for “National Nurse Week.”  But things weren’t exactly official yet and the Nixon’s recognition date wasn’t in May.  The May celebration of nurses was established in 1978 when New Jersey Governor Brendon Byrne declared May 6th as "Nurses Day.”

Finally, in 1982, President Ronald Reagan, in appreciation for the nursing care he’d received after being wounded during an assignation attempt, signed an Executive Order officially making May 6^th “National Recognition Day for Nurses.”  And, in 1990 the American Nurses Association (ANA) extended the recognition to a full week May 6^th - May 12^th, with the last day being the birthday of Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing.  

Image from the National Library of Medicine Digital Collections

Levy Library Support for Nurses:

Levy Library librarians and resources are available to support nursing, nursing practice, and nurse research. Here are a few helpful library services and resources:

• Ask-A-Librarian – Live Chat, email or meet with a medical librarian for assistance with literature searches, reference questions, publishing support, and instruction on library resources.
• Nursing Reference Center Plus –  Find Evidence-Based information, free CE modules, Skills videos, Competency Checklists, Patient handouts, Care sheets, Quick lessons, and Management topics.
• CINAHL – Database that specifically searches nursing and allied health literature.    
• PubMed – Search 28 million citations for biomedical literature. Easy access to full-text with “Find at the Library” feature. 
• Zotero and EndNote – Reference Management tools which you can download and use to collect, organize, cite, format, and share references. 
• Levy Library’s Guide on Nursing Resources – Curated pages on resources and topics for nursing specialties.
• Levy Library Open classes – Check our schedule of Zoom sessions on Patient Education Resources; Nursing Reference Center Plus; EndNote, and others.  Many past sessions are available on the Levy Library’s YouTube Channel

MSHS support for well-being and stress management:

• Mount Sinai Calm for Self-Care and Stress Reduction  - Offers yoga, meditation, self-care workshops, and more, including dial-in and virtual meditation, relaxation music, and personal consultations.
• Employee Assistance program  - Provides support and resources to MSHS faculty and staff.   
• Levy Library Guide, Special Topics: Wellness and Mindfulness – Collection of books. 

For more on the timeline and history of National Nurses Day see  Nurses Week History  by the American Nurse Association (ANA) 

References:

History of national nurses week: American Nurses Association. 18 October 2017, accessed 8 May, 2023. https://www.nursingworld.org/education-events/national-nurses-week/history/

Biography: Florence Nightingale. Kerri Lee Alexander. National Women's History Museum. 8 May, 2023, accessed 8 May 2023. https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/florence-nightingale

American Nurses Association has designed May as National Nurses Month, with each week dedicated to a different theme: self-care, recognition, professional development, and community engagement. (cite https://www.incrediblehealth.com/blog/celebrating-nurses-week/)