Skip to main content

Reference Management: Reference Management Tools

Using a reference management tool enables you to import references from online databases, organize your research, and automatically format papers and bibliographies.

Introduction to EndNote X9 Class

Join us on Tuesday, December 11, 2018, 3pm, to discover the power of EndNote to search online databases, organize references, images and PDFs.

Register

#ProTip

Did you know that your librarians are available to meet with you to introduce you to EndNote, Mendeley, or Zotero? We're happy to help you download the software of your choice and show you the reference management ropes! Simply complete the email form at the bottom of this page and you'll be contacted by a librarian to schedule your personalized training.

What is a reference management tool?

Reference management tools allow you to collect, organize, and store bibliographic information about source material such as journal articles, books, reports, and multimedia. A reference management tool also makes creating and formatting bibliographies and in-text citations easy.

Use the menu on the left for tutorials and instructions on how to obtain a copy of Endnote, Zotero, or Mendeley for your own use.

EndNote

COLLECT   COLLABORATE   CREATE

Search, organize, and share your research. Create bibliographies while writing your paper; import, search & annotate PDFs and automatically update records. Whether you're on your desktop, laptop, online, or iPad, EndNote's syncing capabilities allow you to access all of your references, attachments, and groups from any location.

  • Search hundreds of online resources for references and PDFs
  • Find full text in one click
  • Import records from PubMed with the new direct export format
  • Share your library with colleagues
  • Format references for any project
  • Search, hightlight, & annotate PDFs
  • Create uniform citations and footnotes

You may download EndNote by clicking on the button below (login required). Installation instructions are provided on the download page, but if you need further help installing the program contact ASCIT.

Zotero

 

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your information sources. It automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add citations and pdf's to your personal library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint on arXiv.org, a journal article on PubMed, a news story from the New York Times, or a book from the library catalog, Zotero has you covered with support for thousands of sites. 

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free desktop and web-based program that combines reference management and social networking to help researchers stay on top of an increasing number of PDFs and to work collaboratively with their colleagues. Mendeley operates in PC, Mac and Linux environments and links with Microsoft Word and OpenOffice.

The charm of Mendeley is the magic behind the curtain after the Drag and Drop of a PDF. Mendeley automatically extracts metadata and fills out citation information fields with author last name, title, date, etc. Mendeley's file management system creates a directory of your PDFs with names that make sense instead of "fulltext.pdf."

Experience the Social Networking benefits of Mendeley. Create a user profile, collaborate with colleagues, join groups, follow publication trends and discover articles and journals that are being discussed and read in your field right now.

Enjoy the mobility of having your library wherever you go with Mendeley Online and download Mendeley Desktop to any number of computers. Have a version at home, office or school. Just make sure to Sync your libraries.