Employment Opportunities: Academic IT & Library Positions

• Reference & Instruction Librarian  -  Application review begins Monday, September 9, 2024. Applications will be accepted until the position is filled.
• Assistant Director, Scholarly Resources and Licensing - Application review begins Monday, December 2, 2024. Applications will be accepted until the position is filled.
• Medical Librarian (Digital Archivist) -  Posted October 17, 2024. Applications will be accepted until the position is filled.

To apply for open positions, please visit the Mount Sinai Careers Portal. 

Description

Reporting to the Associate Dean of Libraries & Information Sciences, the Assistant Director of Scholarly Resources & Licensing collaborates across all Scholarly & Research Technologies units to ensure the selection, licensing, promotion and evaluation of library resources to meet the education, research and clinical care needs of the Mount Sinai community.  In coordination with the Digital Library Administrator, they ensure continuous resource access through library discovery and reporting systems including Ex Libris’ Alma/Primo and Springshare LibApps. They enable and promote Mount Sinai scholarly activity by providing learning activities and expert guidance on scholarly communication and copyright. They also focus on further development and promotion of research impact services and contributing to managing the Levy Library Press. As part of the library’s leadership team, they provide vision, direction, and leadership for libraries across the MSHS locations and supervise direct reports. This hybrid position offers the flexibility of predominantly remote / virtual work for US-based candidates only; occasional onsite work in New York City is required. 

Core Duties & Responsibilities

 Collection Development and Licensing  

Oversees the discovery, selection, acquisition and licensing, of collections, research tools, and information resources that enhance the missions of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and the MSHS programs and departments.   

• Maintains awareness of user communities and their needs in collaboration with all areas of the library.  

• Develops and applies a sustainable collections assessment model that uses metrics and criteria to support data-driven collection development decisions.  Compiles and analyzes collection usage data and presents this data to stakeholders.  

• Works closely with the director and finance officers to provide budget projections for collections, and to ensure the effective management of general account and endowed collection funds, in accordance with university and library fiscal policies. 

• Ensures spending remains within fiscal year budgetary limits. 

• Evaluates requests for new purchases; solicits vendor offers, evaluates vendor offers and reviews license terms; leads vendor negotiations  

• Selects resources and supervises the Licensing and Scholarly Resources Coordinator in the acquisition, payment, and cataloging of those resources.   

• Prepares and presents information to stakeholders to help inform collection decisions. 

• Collaborates with Access Services to deselect titles as needed. 

• Chairs the Collection Development Committee. 

• As the backup to the Digital Library Administrator, serves as a second point of contact for technical and systems-related user access issues; liaises between library and vendors to ensure successful resolution. Ensures electronic resources promised and paid for are delivered and discoverable.  

Scholarly Communication Education, Consulting and Outreach  

• Provides online and in-person instruction, consultation or reference services on topics pertaining to scholarly publishing, such as open access, predatory publishing and copyright and author agreements. 

• Contributes to administration of Levy Library Press Journals, including meeting with editors, enabling platform improvements, copyediting articles and promoting awareness of the Press. 

• Promotes scholarly activity services and tools across the health system. 

 Scholarly Activity/Publishing Reporting and Analysis  

• With the Director of Education & Research Services, assesses administrative and researcher needs for scholarly activity and publishing based on metrics and requests for service.  

• Provides reports of scholarly activity throughout the health system and by department or unit as requested. 

• Compiles and evaluates metrics for areas of responsibility. 

 Unit-Wide Engagement and Professional Development

• Advances diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility for all Health System library users. 

• Develops and maintains awareness of trends and best practices in collection development and licensing, publishing/scholarly communication, and copyright.   

• Engages in lifelong learning/continuing education and professional association activities. 

• Provides occasional back-up Ask a Librarian service coverage (chat, email, Zoom phone).  

• Chairs committees or task forces 

Qualifications

Required:

• Bachelors Degree required; Masters Degree earned from an ALA-accredited Library/Information Science program or internationally-recognized equivalent preferred. 

• Minimum of 3 years of experience with Library collection development, acquisitions, vendor relations, or licensing, preferably with vendors of health sciences knowledge resources.  

• Knowledge of the complex, ever-changing publishing environment and scholarly communications issues. 

• Strong customer service orientation and experience providing timely and effective support  

• Ability to work independently and collaboratively, using excellent interpersonal and organizational skills. 

• Experience with content discovery and electronic resource management systems such as Ex Libris Alma | Primo.   

• Excellent written and spoken communication skills  

• Proficiency with spreadsheets, including advanced functions, pivot tables, formulas, and data analysis.

Preferred/Desired Knowledge, Skills and Abilities:

• Experience with research information management platforms such as Elsevier PURE or bibliometrics tools. 

• Experience supporting and working in web-based content management, preferably LibGuides. 

• Knowledge of libraries’ evolving roles in education, research, clinical practice, and dissemination of scholarly activity.   

• Knowledge of metadata, cataloging and e-resources management standards. 

• Experience with copyediting or writing for scientific audiences.  

The Levy Library is dedicated to building a diverse, inclusive and authentic workplace. If you’re excited about this role, but your experience doesn’t align perfectly with every qualification, we encourage you to apply anyway. 

Additional Information

• Position Location: Levy Library at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai - New York, NY.  This hybrid position offers the flexibility of predominantly remote / virtual work for US-based candidates only; occasional onsite work in New York is required. 
• Salary Range: Salary range: $78,884 - $153,057.94 annually; anticipated hiring salary between $78,884-$117,000.. Actual salaries depend on a variety of factors, including experience, education, and hospital need. The salary range or contractual rate listed does not include bonuses/incentive, differential pay or other forms of compensation or benefits.
• Deadline: Application review begins Monday, December 2; applications will be accepted until the position is filled.
• To Apply: Qualified applicants who wish to be considered for this position should submit the following information requested: a cover letter, a complete resume, and a list of three professional references (names and contact information only) via the Mount Sinai Careers Portal.

Non-Bargaining Unit, 876 - Levy Library - ISM, Icahn School of Medicine

Employer Description

Description

Reporting to the Manager of Reference & Instruction Services, the Reference & Instruction Librarian supports the information seeking, learning, and knowledge creation needs of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and Mount Sinai Health System communities. We welcome candidates who are service-oriented information professionals interested in continuously growing their knowledge about information literacy and evidence-based practice, searching online databases, and using reference management tools.
 

Responsibilities

 Reference & Research Services 

• Participates in the Library’s Ask a Librarian service, fielding reference inquiries via email, text, chat, phone, and in-person and providing usage data to inform service development.
• Provides research consultation services to the ISMMS and MSHS user community on literature searching, evidence synthesis methods, journal selection, and other relevant topics.
• As a key member of the library’s systematic review service team, provides guidance on systematic review methodology, best practices and search strategy development for systematic, scoping and other types of reviews, contributing as an author as appropriate.
• Assists in the identification and evaluation of resources and tools for library or organizational acquisition or continuation.

Education & Instruction Services

• Develops and delivers instructional sessions for clinical and academic programs in collaboration with requestors.
• Provides instruction to members of the ISMMS and MSHS user community by teaching online and in-person classes on effective use of library resources, citation management tools, and a variety of topics pertaining to scholarly publishing.
• Maintains and enhances LibAnswers knowledgebase, LibGuides content, and other online learning content, generates content for new areas, and offers suggestions to others. 
• Contributes to marketing by providing content for the blog, web, etc. to promote educational and research programming and encourage use of library resources and services.

Institutional Engagement and Professional Development

• Advances diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility for all Health System library users.
• Develops, maintains and shares awareness of advances, trends, and best practices in reference and instruction services, within and beyond the health sciences library community. 
• Engages in lifelong learning/continuing education and professional association activities.

Qualifications
 

Required:

• Master's degree earned from an ALA-accredited Library/Information Science program or internationally-recognized equivalent.
• Minimum one year of experience providing library reference or instruction services in an academic, hospital, or research library or an information services setting.
• Strong customer service orientation.
• Proficient written and spoken communication skills.
• Demonstrated aptitude for teaching; finalist candidates will be asked to present as part of the interview process.
• Ability to work independently and collaboratively, with effective interpersonal and organizational skills.

Preferred:

• Experience using biomedical and interdisciplinary resources such as PubMed/MEDLINE, CINAHL, and Scopus or Web of Science. 
• Experience with reference management tools, such as EndNote or Zotero.
• Experience with conducting and providing support for evidence syntheses such as systematic and scoping reviews.
• Experience advertising and/or marketing resources and services to diverse stakeholders, including faculty and students.
• Familiarity with Springshare LibApps platform (LibGuides, LibAnswers, etc.).
• Familiarity with Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) practice model.
• Familiarity with best practices and trends in Data Management, including data management plans, sharing, and open data.

Additional Information

• Position Location: Levy Library at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai - New York, NY.  This is a hybrid position with a typical week combining remote work with time on-site engaging with clinicians, staff, and students to enhance the visibility of library education and research services at the Mount Sinai Health System (MSHS) campuses.
• Salary Range: $74,500-$111,805; anticipated hiring salary will be between $74,500-82,000. Actual salaries depend on a variety of factors, including experience, education, and hospital need. The salary range or contractual rate listed does not include bonuses/incentive, differential pay or other forms of compensation or benefits.
• Deadline: 

  Application review begins Monday, September 9, 2024. Applications will be accepted until the position is filled.

• To Apply: Qualified applicants who wish to be considered for this position should submit the following information requested: a cover letter, a complete resume, and a list of three professional references (names and contact information only) via the Mount Sinai Careers Portal.

Non-Bargaining Unit, 876 - Levy Library - ISM, Icahn School of Medicine

Employer Description