Employment Opportunities: Academic IT & Library Positions
Licensing & Scholarly Resources Coordinator
Roles & Responsibilities:
Reporting primarily to the Assistant Director, Licensing & Procurement with additional reporting to the Education & Research Services Director, the Licensing & Scholarly Resources Coordinator helps ensure continuous access to knowledge resources, assists with collection development, and supports scholarly communication activities in the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (ISMMS) and Mount Sinai Health System.
Resource Access and Management
- Copy catalogs, creates original MARC records, edits, and imports bibliographic records.
- Monitors Technical Services inquiry queue and assists users in troubleshooting access issues.
- Compiles usage statistics for print and electronic resources.
- Maintains and performs quality assurance processes for Springshare products (LibAnswers, LibGuides, A-Z database list), and other content in assigned areas.
Licensing and Collection Development
- Works collaboratively with Library Leadership to maintain and develop the Levy Library collection to meet user needs within the Library budget.
- Collaborates on development and maintenance of efficient workflows and tools for licensing and resource management. Maintains documentation, including electronic resource management (ERM) login credentials for vendor administrative portals.
- Assists in the identification, purchase and evaluation of resources, including individual print and e-Books via direct purchase platforms such as EBSCO, GOBI, R2, and ProQuest Central or other vendors, as well as other tools for potential library or organizational acquisition.
- Develops and maintains Special Topics Collections in response to the needs of the ISMMS community.
- In collaboration with Access Services and academic program directors, keeps the Course Reserves list up to date with new editions.
- As a member of the Levy Library Scholars Portal team, serves as a primary contact and administrator of the Elsevier Pure researcher profile management system.
- Provides support and 1-1 training for Scholars Editors managing researcher profiles. Creates and edits profiles and escalates technical and policy inquiries as appropriate.
- Participates in scoping, implementing and evaluating system enhancements.
- In collaboration with the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and the Arthur H. Aufses, Jr. MD Archives team, ensures discoverability of ISSMS Theses and Dissertations by contributing to publication and archiving workflows and maintaining guidance for submitters.
- In collaboration with Education & Research Services, coordinates the library’s Writing Support Service by triaging requests, engaging with the Writing consultants, and participating in service evaluation.
- Participates in the library’s Ask-A-Librarian service, fielding inquiries via email, text, chat, phone, and in-person, and referring as appropriate.
- Develops messaging and prepares print and digital marketing content for the blog, web, etc. to promote usage of library resources and services.
- Advances diversity, equity, inclusion and accessibility for all Health System library users.
- Engages in professional development to learn about best practices in collection access, e-resource management, or scholarly communications that can impact their work.
- Bachelor’s degree, or equivalent combination of education and experience
- Demonstrated experience using database or library management software and applications.
- Experience with administrative functions of Integrated Library Systems (ILS), such as catalog records management, collection maintenance and running reports, preferably with Ex Libris Alma | Primo VE environments.
- Knowledge of metadata & cataloging standards and e-resources management best practices
- Able to communicate, provide technical support, and troubleshoot customer issues effectively, verbally and in writing, with a diverse population of students, faculty, clinicians, and staff.
- Strong customer service orientation
- Ability to work independently and collaboratively, with effective interpersonal and organizational skills.
- Knowledge of the lifecycle of electronic resources from acquisition to usage evaluation.
- Experience working in web-based content management, preferably familiar with Springshare LibApps platform (LibGuides, LibAnswers, etc.).
- Cataloging skills
- Familiarity with research information management platforms (e.g. Elsevier’s Pure)
- Proficiency and/or demonstrated capacity to learn new technologies and computer applications. This includes, but is not limited to, office software (MS Office) and platforms for project management, web searching and team communication, and learning management systems/customer relationship management/content management systems.
The Levy Library is dedicated to building a diverse, inclusive and authentic workplace, so if you’re excited about this role, but your past experience doesn’t align perfectly with every qualification in the job description, we encourage you to apply anyway.
This is a hybrid position requiring some on-site collaborative and individual work.
Anticipated hiring salary range: $58,661-67,500
To apply, visit the Mount Sinai Careers Portal at https://careers.mountsinai.org/jobs/2803358 and upload your resume and cover letter.
Applications received by Monday, October 10 will receive first consideration; applications will be accepted until the position is filled.
If you have any questions, please contact the hiring manager, Evita Rodrigues at firstname.lastname@example.org
Circulation Services Supervisor - REVISED
Under the direction of the Manager of Public Services, the Circulation Services Supervisor participates as a member of the Access Services team to support the operations, activities, and projects of the Levy Library. This includes supervising activities of Access Services staff, facilities and security, and enforcing policies for maintaining a scholarly environment in the Library. The incumbent supports the library’s resource sharing services ensuring timely access for users requesting interlibrary loan (ILL) or other content delivery.
Essential Duties and Responsibilities
Supervisory Responsibility (20%)
In collaboration with the Manager of Public Services, coordinates daily library operations and maintenance of library facilities and equipment. Serves as a contact for escalated inquiries and/or issues.
Responsible for scheduling Circulation Services coverage and supervising daily activities of Access Services staff, provides feedback on staff performance to the Manager of Public Services.
Writes documentation, updates training materials and web-based circulation services support guides.
Advances diversity, equity, inclusion and accessibility for all Health System library users.
Circulation Services Responsibility (30%)
Provides coverage for opening and/or closing of the library. This may include regular weeknight and occasional weekend hours as Library hours expand or we make the Library available for events.
Monitors library spaces and facilities and responds to related issues and emergencies.
Performs all circulation services desk responsibilities, such as creating and updating accounts, checking materials in and out, and handling small financial transactions.
Listens to user inquiries or issues; attempts to resolve these problems as appropriate. Responds in an effective and timely manner to user inquiries and requests for service through a variety of media, including telephone, chat, LibAnswers, and email.
Assists users with library technology and troubleshoot common issues for computers, laptops, printers, and other technologies, referring to Academic IT as needed.
Interprets Library policies for users, referring concerns or suggesting policy enhancements to the Manager of Public Services, the Library Leadership team, and/or Academic IT Leadership.
Resource Sharing Services Responsibility (50%)
Provides interlibrary loan services (ILL) operations which includes processing and responding to borrowing, lending, and document delivery requests; managing user and lender accounts, and processing materials for shipment.
Serves as a contact for users' inquiries and issues pertaining to resource sharing services; collaborates with Education & Research Services and Licensing & Procurement on difficult to fill requests.
Prepares statistics on borrowing/lending using ILLiad, Docline, and OCLC WorldCat.
Required Qualifications and Skills
Associates or bachelor’s degree or equivalent education and experience.
A minimum of one year experience in an academic, public, hospital or research library.
Experience scheduling multiple shifts, supervising or coordinating a team.
Strong customer service and communication skills; able to communicate effectively, verbally and in writing, with a diverse population.
Demonstrated ability to identify, prioritize, and resolve problems quickly and effectively, including handling difficult situations with patience, diplomacy, respect, and discretion.
Proficiency with computer applications, including but not limited to office software (MS Office), scanning, web searching, and email communications platforms.
Preferred Qualifications and Skills
Experience in circulation services, particularly using Ex Libris Alma/Primo software.
Experience with interlibrary loan services, particularly using ILLiad, Docline, or OCLC Worldcat.
Experience with learning management systems/customer relationship management/content management system-type platforms.
Experience searching online bibliographic databases.
Aptitude for learning and troubleshooting software/hardware systems efficiently and thoroughly.
Aptitude for project management, organization, prioritization, coordination, and implementation.
Shift changes and/or evening work may be required based on changes to library operating hours.
- Deadline for Submissions: Applications received by September 2, 2022 will receive first consideration.
- Apply for this position via the Mount Sinai Careers Portal.
Reference and Instruction Librarian
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Reporting to the Manager of Information and Education Services, the Reference & Instruction Librarian supports the information seeking, learning and knowledge creation needs of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and Mount Sinai Health System communities. The ideal candidate for this role will be a service-oriented information professional interested in continuously growing their knowledge about information literacy and evidence-based practice, searching online databases, and using reference management tools. Core duties and responsibilities are outlined below:
Reference & Research Services
- Participates in the library’s Ask-A-Librarian service, fielding reference inquiries via email, text, chat, phone, and in-person and providing usage data to inform service development.
- Provides research consultation services to the ISMMS and MSHS user community on literature searching, research synthesis methods, journal selection, and other relevant topics.
- Serves as the library’s reference management expert, maintaining online education content, and assisting users through training sessions and on-the-fly troubleshooting.
- Participates in the library’s systematic review/meta-analysis service, providing guidance on methodology/best practices and search strategy development, as well as serving as an author-level contributor.
- Assists in the identification and evaluation of resources and tools for potential library or organizational acquisition.
Education & Instruction Services
- Maintains and enhances LibAnswers knowledgebase, LibGuides content, and other online learning content in assigned areas of responsibility.
- Develops and delivers instructional sessions for clinical and academic programs in collaboration with requestors.
- Provides instruction to members of the ISMMS and MSHS user community by teaching online and in-person classes on effective use of library resources, citation management tools, and a variety of topics pertaining to scholarly publishing.
- Develops messaging and prepares print and digital marketing content for the blog, web, etc. to promote educational and research programming as well as usage of library resources and services.
Library-wide Engagement and Professional Development
- Advances diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility for all Health System library users.
- Develops and maintains awareness of current trends and best practices in reference and instruction services, within and beyond the health sciences library community.
- Engages in lifelong learning/continuing education and professional association activities
- Master's degree earned from an ALA-accredited Library/Information Science program or internationally-recognized equivalent.
- Minimum one year of experience providing library reference or instruction services in an academic, hospital, or research library or an information services setting.
- Strong customer service orientation.
- Proficient written and spoken communication skills.
- Demonstrated aptitude for teaching; finalist candidates will be asked to present as part of the interview process.
- Ability to work independently and collaboratively, with effective interpersonal and organizational skills.
- Experience with reference management tools, such as EndNote or Zotero.
- Experience using biomedical and interdisciplinary resources such as PubMed/MEDLINE, CINAHL, Scopus, and Web of Science.
- Experience advertising and/or marketing resources and services to diverse stakeholders, including faculty and students.
- Graphic design skills with application to print or digital media, presentations or video development.
- Familiarity with Springshare LibApps platform (LibGuides, LibAnswers, etc.).
- Familiarity with Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) practice model.
- Familiarity with best practices and emerging trends in Data Management, including data management plans, sharing, and open data.
The Levy Library is dedicated to building a diverse, inclusive and authentic workplace, so if you’re excited about this role but your past experience doesn’t align perfectly with every qualification in the job description, we encourage you to apply anyway.
- Deadline: Applications received by 9am September 26, 2022 will receive first consideration.
- To Apply: Qualified applicants who wish to be considered for this position should submit the following information requested: a cover letter, a complete resume, and a list of three professional references (names and contact information only) via the Mount Sinai Careers Portal.
- Salary Range: $58,661- $78,000
About the Levy Library
The mission of the Gustave L. and Janet W. Levy Library is to support the educational, research and patient care activities of the faculty, students and staff of the Mount Sinai Health System. The Library implements its mission by providing access to biomedical information resources in paper, digital and electronic formats, and by serving as a resource on communications, Web and computing issues for the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.
About the Icahn School of Medicine
The Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai is an international leader in medical and scientific training, biomedical research, and patient care. It is the medical school for the Mount Sinai Health System, which includes eight hospital campuses, and has more than 5,000 faculty and nearly 2,000 students, residents and fellows. Our unwavering pursuit of intellectual exchange, breakthrough research, and multidisciplinary teamwork propels us ever forward in biomedical discoveries and advances. We pursue ideas that often challenge conventional wisdom to revolutionize the practice of medicine and produce dramatically better outcomes for patients. We make big, bold bets by investing in radical free thinkers and technology at the cutting edge.