Books: E-Book Collections

Search for and browse clinical and basic science print and e-books, peruse special topics collections, look for course reserves, or search the Library catalog for our materials on a wide range of topics from education to research methods.

E-Book Collections

Access Emergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Integrates over a dozen emergency medicine textbooks with a large collection of procedural videos, practice guidelines and calculators. Includes video case presentations from the Clinical Pathological Case (CPC) conferences, published in partnership with the Council of Residency Directors (CORD).
Access Mobile App activation instructions:
1. On a desktop or mobile browser, navigate to AccessMedicine homepage while on the Mount Sinai network.
2. Select the ISMMS button in the upper right corner of the page and choose 'Sign in or Create a Free Access Profile from the drop down.
3. Either sign in or Create a free MyAccess Profile. Use your Mount Sinai institutional email address to ensure your account can be verified.
4. Once you create an account, download and install the app on your mobile device. *The app is not yet optimized for viewing on iPad or tablet*
5. After installing, you will be prompted to sign in with your Access profile credentials.
6. If you downloaded the app first, you will automatically be validated once you are on-site or connected via VPN.

NOTE:
You will need to re-authenticate to your Mount Sinai subscription every 90 days. To do this, you will visit the library website while on-site or using VPN. You will receive an in-app reminder when you need to reconnect to the subscription.
Access Surgery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessSurgery is an integrated surgical resource organized around the ACGME's mandate for a core curriculum. Content includes: surgical videos and animations; textbooks such as Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, Maingot's Abdominal Operations, and Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations; self-assessment and board review materials and more.

Access Mobile App activation instructions:
1. On a desktop or mobile browser, navigate to AccessMedicine homepage while on the Mount Sinai network.
2. Select the ISMMS button in the upper right corner of the page and choose 'Sign in or Create a Free Access Profile from the drop down.
3. Either sign in or Create a free MyAccess Profile. Use your Mount Sinai institutional email address to ensure your account can be verified.
4. Once you create an account, download and install the app on your mobile device. *The app is not yet optimized for viewing on iPad or tablet*
5. After installing, you will be prompted to sign in with your Access profile credentials.
6. If you downloaded the app first, you will automatically be validated once you are on-site or connected via VPN.

NOTE:
You will need to re-authenticate to your Mount Sinai subscription every 90 days. To do this, you will visit the library website while on-site or using VPN. You will receive an in-app reminder when you need to reconnect to the subscription.
Books@Ovid eBooks This link opens in a new window
Browse titles or search the full-text of a collection of over 250 e-books covering clinical medicine, nursing, the allied health professions and more.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey is a clinical search resource available from Elsevier. Clinical Key includes patient education materials, drug information, practice guidelines and CME, as well as many high-quality books and journals.
App activation instructions:
1. While on the Mount Sinai network, register for a ClinicalKey account with your Mount Sinai email.
2. Download and install app.
3. Login to the app with your username and password to get full text access.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for Open Access monographs. DOAB provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an Open Access business model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.

All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
E-Books on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Browse thousands of ebooks in health and medicine, and related fields.

LWW Health Library
Access to medical education books, video/audio, self assessments, cases, and more.

First Aid Test Prep This link opens in a new window
This McGraw Hill Medical eBook collection provides unlimited access to the First Aid Board Book Collection online.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
The National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Oxford Academic, Oxford University Press (OUP)’s platform for research provides a single point to search: Oxford Journals, Oxford Books, Oxford Medicine Online, Oxford Scholarship Online, Oxford University Press Scholarship online.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers. Note: Please choose "Athens log in" located at the upper right corner of the page below the login section to access subscribed content.
ScienceDirect Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect offers a journal collection of over 2500 titles and a growing collection of ebooks.
ScienceDirect Reference Works This link opens in a new window
Browse hundreds of reference works in physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
SpringerLink Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 10 million scientific documents from Springer journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.
USMLE First Aid eBooks This link opens in a new window
This McGraw Hill Education eBook collection provides unlimited access to a popular set of USMLE Step 1-3 examination preparation books.
Wiley Online Books This link opens in a new window
Browse or search over 20,000 books published by Wiley.