Public Health Resources: Finding Literature on Health Disparities and Social Determinants of Health

Health disparities—preventable differences in health outcomes experienced by socially disadvantaged populations—are a critical area of study in public health and healthcare research. Investigating these disparities requires a systematic approach to identifying relevant literature that addresses the multifaceted factors contributing to unequal health outcomes, such as race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, geography, gender, and disability.

To effectively search for literature on health disparities, researchers must begin with a clear definition of the specific disparity of interest and identify relevant keywords and subject headings. Databases such as PubMed, Scopus, Web of Science, and CINAHL are valuable resources for peer-reviewed articles, while platforms like Google Scholar can provide access to grey literature. Using a combination of controlled vocabulary (e.g., MeSH terms such as "Health Status Disparities," "Minority Health," or "Health Equity") and free-text terms (e.g., “racial disparities,” “access to care,” “social determinants of health”) enhances search sensitivity and specificity.

A well-constructed search strategy also includes using Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT), truncation symbols, and filters (e.g., publication date, language, study type) to refine results. Researchers should also consider interdisciplinary sources that draw from sociology, economics, and political science to capture the broader context of health disparities.

By following a structured and comprehensive search methodology, researchers can ensure that they capture the breadth of existing evidence and identify gaps that warrant further investigation, ultimately contributing to efforts to achieve health equity. Mount Sinai students, faculty, and staff have access to Mount Sinai’s Levy Library, which offers specialized support, curated resource guides, and training on advanced search techniques.

🔗 Levy Library Databases: https://libguides.mssm.edu/az/databases

Here are some example search queries you can try in PubMed: 

Example 1: Racial disparities in maternal mortality in the United States

Research Question:
What are the racial disparities in maternal mortality outcomes in the U.S.?

("Maternal Mortality"[MeSH Terms] OR "maternal death" OR "maternal outcomes") AND ("Health Status Disparities"[MeSH] OR "racial disparities" OR "ethnic disparities") AND ("United States"[MeSH] OR "U.S." OR "America")

Suggested Filters:

• Publication Date: Last 10 years

• Language: English

• Article type: Systematic Reviews, Reviews, or Original Research

Example 2: Socioeconomic status and diabetes management in urban populations

Research Question:
How does socioeconomic status affect diabetes management in urban communities?

("Diabetes Mellitus"[MeSH] OR "type 2 diabetes") AND ("Socioeconomic Factors"[MeSH] OR "income level" OR "education" OR "poverty") AND ("Urban Population"[MeSH] OR "urban health")

Suggested Filters:

• Publication Type: Cohort Studies, Cross-Sectional Studies

• Population: Adults

• Geography: Add “New York City” or a relevant city if needed

Example 3: Health disparities in cancer screening among LGBTQ+ populations

Research Question:
Are there disparities in cancer screening rates among LGBTQ+ individuals?

("Neoplasms/prevention and control"[MeSH] OR "cancer screening") AND ("Sexual and Gender Minorities"[MeSH] OR "LGBTQ" OR "transgender" OR "sexual minority") AND ("Health Disparities"[MeSH] OR "barriers to care" OR "healthcare access")

Suggested Filters:

• Date Range: Last 5–10 years

• Study Type: Qualitative or Mixed Methods, if exploring experiences or perceptions

• Language: English

How to Search for Literature on Social Determinants of Health (SDOH)

Why Search for SDOH Literature?

Social determinants like housing, education, employment, income, food access, and discrimination profoundly shape health. Understanding and addressing these factors requires strong evidence from the literature across clinical, public health, and policy perspectives.

Step-by-Step Search Strategy

Step 1: Define Your Topic

• What health outcome am I interested in?

• Which social determinant?

• What population or setting?

Example Topic:
How does housing insecurity affect mental health in low-income adults living in urban areas?

Step 2: Choose Keywords and MeSH Terms

Use free-text keywords and Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to complete the search.

Common MeSH & Keyword Pairings:

Step 3: Build a Search Strategy

Use Boolean operators:

• AND = narrows search (includes both terms)

• OR = broadens search (either term)

• Use quotation marks for phrases

• Use truncation to capture word variants (educat → educate, education)

Example PubMed Search:

("Housing"[MeSH] OR "housing insecurity" OR "homelessness") AND ("Mental Health"[MeSH] OR "depression" OR "anxiety") AND ("Social Determinants of Health"[MeSH] OR "social factors") AND ("Urban Population"[MeSH] OR "low-income adults")

Step 4: Search These Databases 

🔗 Levy Library Databases: https://libguides.mssm.edu/az/databases

Step 5: Use Filters

• Publication Date (e.g., last 5–10 years)

• Language (e.g., English)

• Study Type (qualitative, reviews, RCTs)

• Population (children, adults, marginalized groups)

Bonus: Include Grey Literature

Consider reports from:

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Social Determinants

• Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

• Urban Institute

• New York City Department of Health

• New York State Department of Health