Levy Library Blog - Levy Library Guides at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

The Transgender, Nonbinary, and Gender Diverse Health page has general resources for providers and patients including:

TransAtlas – a digital directory and resource map for people of transgender, non-binary, and/or intersex experience living in NYC
Trans Health Insurance Guide – a guide from Out 2 Enroll for navigating health insurance related to trans health needs and information about enrollment assisters for additional support
“Transgender Medicine for General Medical Providers” Online Course – this free and asynchronous Coursera course from Mount Sinai contains 10 modules for providers to learn about care strategies for trans patients and how to advise on gender affirming care

The Mount Sinai and NYC Resources page also has more localized health information for transgender and gender-diverse patients and their providers including:

These are just some of the trans and gender diverse health resources available through this guide and the Levy Library. Supporting the health information needs of transgender and gender diverse individuals and their providers is vital to upholding Mount Sinai’s commitment to advance health equity and provide compassionate, inclusive care for all - not only during Transgender Awareness Week but throughout the entire year.

Recent Posts

Transgender Awareness Week Health Resources

The Mount Sinai Health System acknowledges Transgender Awareness Week as an opportunity to increase visibility of transgender and other gender diverse people and their experiences. The week culminates with Transgender Day of Remembrance on November 20, as a day to honor the memory of transgender and gender diverse individuals lost to acts of violence. The oppression and violence faced by transgender people directly impacts their health and well-being and their access to safe and trans-inclusive healthcare. To address some of the health information needs of transgender and gender diverse patients and their healthcare providers, we want to highlight several resources available through the Levy Library guide LGBTQIA+ Resources for Health Professionals. The Transgender, Nonbinary, and Gender Diverse Health page has general resources for providers and patients including:TransAtlas – a digital directory and resource map for people of transgender, non-binary, and/or intersex experience living in NYCTrans Health Insurance Guide – a guide from Out 2 Enroll for navigating health insurance related to trans health needs and information about enrollment assisters for additional support“Transgender Medicine for General Medical Providers” Online Course – this free and asynchronous Coursera course from Mount Sinai contains 10 modules for providers to learn about care strategies for trans patients and how to advise on gender affirming careThe Mount Sinai and NYC Resources page also has more localized health information for transgender and gender-diverse patients and their providers including:Center for Transgender Medicine and Surgery at Mount SinaiTransgender Voice Care at Mount SinaiGender Affirming Surgeries at Mount SinaiThese are just some of the trans and gender diverse health resources available through this guide and the Levy Library. Supporting the health information needs of transgender and gender diverse individuals and their providers is vital to upholding Mount Sinai’s commitment to advance health equity and provide compassionate, inclusive care for all - not only during Transgender Awareness Week but throughout the entire year. ...

iCORE Training Program Advances Student Scholarship in Partnership with Levy Library Press’s Journal of Scientific Innovation in Medicine

We invite you to explore the special issue of the Levy Library Press's Journal of Scientific Innovation and Medicine (JSIM) highlighting student research from the 2025 Interdisciplinary Collaborative Research (iCORE) Training Program. About the Special IssueThis special issue represents an important milestone for the iCORE Training Program and its participants. It features 22 abstracts and highlights the diversity of topics explored by participating students, including research and other systematic inquiry such as quality improvement, operations, evidence-based practice, and community health projects.For many participants, this publication marks their first opportunity to engage in scholarly communication and contribute to academic literature. The issue demonstrates the program’s commitment to translating experiential learning into tangible academic outcomes, fostering research integrity, and promoting collaborative scholarship across disciplines.Developed with the support of iCORE Program Director Dr. Kimberly Souffront, Associate Dean of Libraries and Information Sciences Dr. Kris Alpi, and the JSIM editorial team, this publication underscores the value of mentorship, structured guidance, and interdisciplinary collaboration in advancing both student learning and research excellence.Explore the iCORE Training Program Special Issue in JSIM About the iCORE Training ProgramThe Interdisciplinary Collaborative Research (iCORE) Training Program is a partnership between the Department of Emergency Medicine (EM), the Institute for Health Equity Research (IHER), and the Center for Nursing Research and Innovation (CNRI). The iCORE Program is led by founding director Dr. Kimberly Souffront, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine and Health Equity Science, and Associate Director of the Center for Nursing Research and Innovation. The iCORE Program is strengthened by the leadership of Ms. Cindy Clesca, Senior Program Manager (EM and IHER), and Ms. Kavita Rampertaap, CNRI Senior Program DirectorDesigned as a summer research experience for students across learning levels and disciplines, the iCORE Program provides a structured learning experience combining classroom instruction, hands-on research immersion, and clinical skills workshops. Participants—who this year represented institutions across the United States and Puerto Rico—engage in mentored research or other systematic inquiry, such as quality improvement, operations, and evidence-based practice, for 16 hours each week. In addition, students participate in four hours of weekly didactic sessions led by faculty and research team members, covering research methodology, research integrity, and peer review. Hands-on clinical skills workshops, including simulation, suturing, and ultrasound, further enrich the program, giving the students a well-rounded clinician-scientist experienceThe program’s bidirectional design ensures that both mentors and mentees benefit: mentors gain research support and enhance their productivity, while mentees build essential skills in research design, collaboration, and professional development. Levy Library librarians support mentees in discovering scholarly literature that informs their research. Learn more about the iCORE Training Program.About the Journal of Scientific Innovation and Medicine The Journal of Scientific Innovation and Medicine (JSIM) is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal that showcases transformative discoveries from the lab to clinical and community settings. It welcomes work from students, trainees, and faculty that advances the understanding, prevention, and treatment of human disease. Supported by the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and the Levy Library, JSIM provides a mentored, fee-free publishing experience accessible to authors and readers worldwide. Learn more at: journalofscientificinnovationinmedicine.orgAbout Levy Library Press The Levy Library Press supports open and equitable access to scholarship within Mount Sinai and beyond. It offers a platform where students, trainees, faculty, and librarians collaborate across all stages of publishing. Through this interprofessional environment, the Press fosters learning, innovation, and sustainable scholarly communication. Learn more at: levylibrarypress.org...

Get to Know Dynamic Health: Transitioning from NRC+ on October 15, 2025

Beginning October 15, 2025, the Mount Sinai Health System will transition from Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRC+) to Dynamic Health CDS + Skills—an innovative, evidence-based resource designed to help nurses and health professionals strengthen learning, critical thinking, and confidence at the point of care.Dynamic Health builds on the trusted foundation of NRC+ with a more interactive design, expanded clinical coverage, and enhanced tools for professional growth. The platform offers continuing education modules, patient education handouts, care plans, leadership and management topics, quick lessons, videos, cultural competence resources, and test and lab summaries—all in one place.To learn more about how Dynamic Health supports nursing and allied health practice, visit our earlier post:👉 Supporting Nursing and Allied Health Practice with Dynamic HealthYou can also read the official announcement on Mount Sinai Daily.For a quick overview, download our information sheet:📄 Get to Know Dynamic Health (PDF)Key Transition DetailsEffective Date: October 15, 2025New Platform: Dynamic Health CDS + Skills (by EBSCO Clinical Decisions)Replacing: Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRC+)Continuing Education: Certificates earned in NRC+ remain available at ceu.cinahl.com. New CE credits can be earned by creating a personal account in Dynamic Health.Visit our guide for access and training resources:🔗 libguides.mssm.edu/dynamichealthNeed help getting started?📧 library@mssm.edu📞 212-241-7793💬 askalibrarian.mssm.edu...

Supporting Nursing and Allied Health Practice with Dynamic Health

Wondering where to go for answers to quick clinical nursing questions since Nursing Reference Center Plus is being discontinued? We suggest using Dynamic Health, a database made by nurses, for nurses and allied health professionals. Designed to support evidence-based practice and clinical decision-making, it includes many of the great features of Nursing Reference Center Plus with some new additions. You can see our previous blog post introducing Dynamic Health here (https://libguides.mssm.edu/blog/Dynamic-Health), but in this post, we’ll look more closely at a few of its features.How to Access Dynamic HealthFirst, how do you get there? There are a few ways! Access Dynamic Health on the Levy Library website under Databases: https://libguides.mssm.edu/dynamichealth; by clicking on the Dynamic Health: Nursing Resources icon on the Mount Sinai launcher, which replaces the Nursing Reference Center Plus icon;or by going to the Nursing Resources Guide (https://libguides.mssm.edu/nursing):All of the features discussed below can be found either on the top ribbon or under the Explore Resources section in the middle of the main Dynamic Health page. You can browse the categories or utilize the search bar at the top if you have a specific topic in mind.Patient Handouts Patient handouts have four categories: Diseases & Conditions, Procedures & Tests, Health & Wellness, and Discharge Instructions. If you’d like to browse them, handouts are arranged alphabetically (with a find feature at the top to easily filter down) and are available to print out in English and Spanish. Many have accompanying images. There are two options for saving as a PDF or printing; when choosing the print icon, you can choose which of these sections you’d like to include in the handout if you do not want to include them all. Examples of patient handout topics include:Acute PancreatitisIntubation and Mechanical VentilationDiabetes and Footcare How to Care for a Surgical WoundSkillsSkills guides have several categories as well: Nursing Skills, Health Profession Skills, Clinical Assistant Skills, Cultural Care Skills, and Patient Instruction Skills. These range from basic to specialty-specific skills, and also include information for allied health professions. A useful feature of these summaries is that they have accompanying checklists, which can be printed out and used for evaluation. When printing, you can choose to select all steps: Preprocedure, Procedure, and Postprocedure Steps, or just one or two.Examples of skills guides include:Assessing False Labor Braxton Hicks Contractions Preventing Pressure Injuries in AdultsCulturally Sensitive Care for Patients of Cuban Heritage With Mental Health ConcernsEducating About Asthma in Pediatric PatientsPerforming Point-of-Care HbA1c Testing in Ambulatory Care: Clinical AssistantCultural OverviewsCultural Overviews provide information on providing care to diverse faith and heritage groups. Guides go into special health considerations, communication dietary practices, decision-making with regard to relationships, and traditional health beliefs and medicines. Related Skills content is also linked on the right side of the page.Examples of cultural overviews:Amish Faith OverviewBuddhist Faith Overview American Indian and Alaska Native Heritages Overview Black American Heritage Overview Indian Heritage OverviewEarning CE Credit Dynamic Health does offer continuing education credits, but in a different way than Nursing Reference Center Plus did (to access your previous credits from Nursing Reference Center Plus, please go to this link: https://ceu.cinahl.com/login). To obtain contact hours in Dynamic Health, register for a personal account (pictured). When you answer a knowledge-based question on the topic and another on the topic’s applicability to your practice, you earn 0.1 contact hours. The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) is the approving credentialing organization for the professional development offered in Dynamic Health.There are several other categories available through Dynamic Health, ranging from leadership topics to drug monographs from Davis’s Drug Guide for Nurses. You can view an introductory video to Dynamic Health here: https://www.ebsco.com/resources/dynamic-health-practice and a user guide here: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/Dynamic-Health-User-Guide?language=en_US. If you’d like to share links from Dynamic Health with other Mount Sinai colleagues, please add this prefix in front of the link you’re sharing so they authenticate on the way into the resource: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/mssm.edu?url=Questions? Contact us: RefDesk@mssm.edu ...