The Levy Library is excited to announce the newest addition to our collection, Natural Medicines & Supplements database (formally known as Natural Standard). Natural Medicines database includes daily updates to dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies; and the Natural Medicines Brand Evidence-based Ratings system (NMBER®) for safety and effectiveness. Now, members of the Mount Sinai community can get access to evidence-based natural medicines resources including:
- Interactive tools for safety, effectiveness and interactions
- Over 1,400 natural medicine monographs
- Easy-to-use, industry-leading NMBER® evidence-based rating system for 185,000+ commercial brand products
- CE for condition/disease state clinical management using natural or alternative medicines
You can view an example of evidence-based monographs available from the database HERE.
Access the Natural Medicines database through the library catalog HERE.
In addition to Natural Medicines, the Levy Library has access to several other great resources and tools for information on interaction checkers and alternative and complementary healthcare that we think you should check out:
Lexicomp
- Lexicomp Online is available through the library catalog HERE.
- The Lexicomp mobile app is available to download. learn more on how to access the app HERE.
Alt HealthWatch
Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies. Subjects include acupuncture, aromatherapy, childbirth, Chinese medicine, chiropractic, creative therapies, cross-cultural therapies, energy medicine, herbalism, homeopathy, mind-body medicine, naturopathy, nutrition, osteopathy, and more.
- Alt HealthWatch is available through the library catalog HERE.
Featured Journals in the Levy Library Collection
- Alternative Therapies in Health an Medicine
- BMC Complementary Medicine and Therapies
- Journal of Evidence-based Integrative Medicine
- Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine
- Journal of Complementary & Integrative Medicine
For help with finding other resources available from the Levy Library, contact us at refdesk@mssm.edu.
Each month Levy Library showcases the achievements of Mount Sinai faculty and researchers by highlighting an article and its altmetrics. Altmetrics are alternative measures of impact that capture non-traditional data like abstract views, article downloads, and social media activity. Our altmetrics data is provided by the PlumX platform.
This month we highlight Risk Factors for Mortality in Patients with COVID-19 in New York City. This article was written in part by Daniel I. Steinberg, MD and Evan Siau, MD.
Background
New York City emerged as an epicenter of the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic.
Objective
To describe the clinical characteristics and risk factors associated with mortality in a large patient population in the USA.
Design
Retrospective cohort study.
Participants
6493 patients who had laboratory-confirmed COVID-19 with clinical outcomes between March 13 and April 17, 2020, who were seen in one of the 8 hospitals and/or over 400 ambulatory practices in the New York City metropolitan area MAIN MEASURES: Clinical characteristics and risk factors associated with in-hospital mortality.
Key results
A total of 858 of 6493 (13.2%) patients in our total cohort died: 52/2785 (1.9%) ambulatory patients and 806/3708 (21.7%) hospitalized patients. Cox proportional hazard regression modeling showed an increased risk of in-hospital mortality associated with age older than 50 years (hazard ratio [HR] 2.34, CI 1.47-3.71), systolic blood pressure less than 90 mmHg (HR 1.38, CI 1.06-1.80), a respiratory rate greater than 24 per min (HR 1.43, CI 1.13-1.83), peripheral oxygen saturation less than 92% (HR 2.12, CI 1.56-2.88), estimated glomerular filtration rate less than 60 mL/min/1.73m2 (HR 1.80, CI 1.60-2.02), IL-6 greater than 100 pg/mL (HR 1.50, CI 1.12-2.03), D-dimer greater than 2 mcg/mL (HR 1.19, CI 1.02-1.39), and troponin greater than 0.03 ng/mL (HR 1.40, CI 1.23-1.62). Decreased risk of in-hospital mortality was associated with female sex (HR 0.84, CI 0.77-0.90), African American race (HR 0.78 CI 0.65-0.95), and hydroxychloroquine use (HR 0.53, CI 0.41-0.67).
Conclusions
Among patients with COVID-19, older age, male sex, hypotension, tachypnea, hypoxia, impaired renal function, elevated D-dimer, and elevated troponin were associated with increased in-hospital mortality and hydroxychloroquine use was associated with decreased in-hospital mortality.
View the PlumX article profile