AI in Teaching and Learning Blog - Levy Library Guides at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Every month, our AI blog provides a selection of literature and resources on artificial intelligence in teaching and learning. Here’s the roundup for June 2025:

New Resource: National Academy of Medicine. 2025. An Artificial Intelligence Code of Conduct for Health and Medicine: Essential Guidance for Aligned Action. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. https://doi.org/10.17226/29087

Excerpt: “This NAM Special Publication, An Artificial Intelligence Code of Conduct for Health and Medicine: Essential Guidance for Aligned Action, addresses this imperative. By harmonizing existing AI principles, identifying gaps, and aligning them with the core commitments of the NAM’s Learning Health System (LHS), it provides a comprehensive, adaptable set of guidelines for health care organizations and stakeholders. These principles are intended as guideposts for the development, implementation, and continuous improvement of AI systems, ensuring they uphold the highest standards of integrity, safety, and effectiveness.”

Reuscher J. Evaluating Web of Science’s AI-powered research assistant. 2025 Jun 4. In: Choice. LibTech Insights [Internet]. Middletown, CT: Choice. Available from: https://www.choice360.org/libtech-insight/evaluating-web-of-sciences-ai-powered-research-assistant/

Excerpt: “Web of Science (WoS) has released a Research Assistant (RA) intended for research and scholarship at all levels, from undergraduate to faculty and professional study. Because the WoS Core Collection comprises 120 years of indexed research, RA is a new way to visualize and interact with the scholarly record, leaving the detritus of the web outside of its search parameters.”

McMurtrie B. Teaching: What professors want to know about AI and teaching. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Jun 5. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/newsletter/teaching/2025-06-05

Excerpt: “This week, I: Share insights from a conference on teaching with AI; Describe my latest story on the ongoing reading challenge.

Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article.

Barnard B. A call for college application innovation. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 9. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/06/09/call-college-application-innovation-opinion

Excerpt: “AI opens up new avenues to allow applicants to present themselves creatively...”

Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.

Meletiadou E. Empowering mature students through inclusive AI literacy: advancing digital equity and social justice in higher education. HEPI [Internet]. 2025 Jun 9. Available from: https://www.hepi.ac.uk/2025/06/09/empowering-mature-students-through-inclusive-ai-literacy-advancing-digital-equity-and-social-justice-in-higher-education

Excerpt: “As higher education embraces artificial intelligence (AI) to drive digital transformation, there is a growing risk that older, non-traditional, or mature students will be left behind. This blog post draws on insights from the QAA-funded ‘Using AI to promote education for sustainable development and widen access to digital skills' project I have been leading alongside findings from the EU COST Action DigiNet (WG5), where I co-lead research into media portrayals and digital inequalities impacting mature learning workers.”

Frazier K. Please plagiarize my work. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 10. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/06/10/i-want-ai-plagiarize-my-work-opinion

Excerpt: “In an AI era, a preoccupation with issues of credit and citation limits the reach of our research...”

Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.

Warner J. Hasty lurches toward an uncertain AI future. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 12. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/columns/just-visiting/2025/06/12/higher-ed-should-be-very-cautious-about-ai-partnerships

Excerpt: “There have been several points during this era of AI availability in education where I’ve been genuinely shocked that something that seems to me to be clearly out of bounds or incredibly rash is viewed by others as quite workable, or even desirable.”

Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.

Carpenter TA. We need AI standards for scholarly publishing: A NISO workshop report. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Jun 12. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/06/12/we-need-ai-standards-for-scholarly-publishing-a-niso-workshop-report

Excerpt: “Notably last month, NISO ( National Information Standards Organization — full disclosure, my employer) hosted a series of workshops for scholarly publishing leadership to identify and prioritize efforts to address some of the challenges around AI and interoperability. These collective actions can help reduce the number of issues and we can all benefit from the opportunities AI provides.”

Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence at Stanford University. How language bias persists in scientific publishing despite AI tools. [Internet]. 2025 Jun 16. Available from: https://hai.stanford.edu/news/how-language-bias-persists-in-scientific-publishing-despite-ai-tools

Excerpt: “For now, English remains the lingua franca of indexed science, dominating most peer-reviewed journals and international conferences. This puts non-native speakers at a significant disadvantage. While large language models can assist authors to help overcome some language barriers, a new study by two researchers with the Stanford Graduate School of Education suggests that bias against non-native speakers persists even when these tools are used.”

Alonso J. The handwriting revolution. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 17. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/faculty-issues/curriculum/2025/06/17/amid-ai-plagiarism-more-professors-turn-handwritten-work

Excerpt: “Five semesters after ChatGPT changed education forever, some professors are taking their classes back to the pre-internet era.”

Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.

Zheng H. Leveraging GenAI to transform a traditional instructional video into engaging short video lectures. EDUCAUSE Review [Internet]. 2025 Jun 17. Available from: https://er.educause.edu/articles/2025/6/leveraging-genai-to-transform-a-traditional-instructional-video-into-engaging-short-video-lectures

Excerpt: “By leveraging generative artificial intelligence to convert lengthy instructional videos into micro-lectures, educators can enhance efficiency while delivering more engaging and personalized learning experiences.”

Mellors J. The em dash is not the problem. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 20. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/06/20/whats-em-dashai-anxieties-opinion

Excerpt: “What might seem like a minor point of style has, in some cases, become a litmus test for authenticity...Because here is the thing: There is no definitive rule about how em dashes should be spaced. Merriam-Webster, for instance, notes that many newspapers and magazines insert a space before and after the em dash, while most books and academic journals don’t. Yet, a certain kind of scholar will see a tightly spaced dash and declare: ‘AI.’”

Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.

Hinchcliffe LJ. Are AI bots knocking digital collections offline? An interview with Michael Weinberg. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Jun 23. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/06/23/are-ai-bots-knocking-digital-collections-offline

Excerpt: “Last week, the GLAM-E Lab published the results of an investigation into reports that servers and collections were straining – and sometimes breaking – under the load of swarming bots... Today, I interview Michael Weinberg, Executive Director, Engelberg Center on Innovation Law & Policy, NYU Law, and Co-Director of the GLAM-E Lab, about the study and what this phenomenon portends for information access and sustainable infrastructures.”

Georgieva M & Stuart J. Ethics is the edge: the future of AI in higher education. EDUCAUSE Review [Internet]. 2025 Jun 24. Available from: https://er.educause.edu/articles/2025/6/ethics-is-the-edge-the-future-of-ai-in-higher-education

Excerpt: “A new framework outlines eight ethical principles to guide higher education's implementation of artificial intelligence.”

Blake J. Howard and Google aim to advance AI technology for Black users. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 25. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/quick-takes/2025/06/25/howard-and-google-aim-improve-ai-tech-black-users

Excerpt: “Researchers at Howard University and Google are working to improve Black individuals’ experience when using artificial intelligence and automatic speech-recognition technologies, like Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant.”

Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.

Schroeder R. Walking, talking, engaging AI in higher ed. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 25. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/columns/online-trending-now/2025/06/25/walking-talking-engaging-ai-higher-ed

Excerpt: “A front-row seat to the maturing of AI in higher education.”

Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.

Rowsell J. Universities ‘at risk of overassessing’ in response to AI. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 27. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/global/2025/06/27/universities-risk-overassessing-response-ai

Excerpt: “Universities risk overassessing students as they race to future-proof themselves against artificial intelligence, academics have warned.”

Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.

Kaufman R, Anderson R, Carpenter TA. Ask the Chefs — New court decisions issued in cases addressing AI training and copyright. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Jun 30. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/06/30/ask-the-chefs-new-court-decisions-issued-in-cases-addressing-ai-training-and-copyright/

Excerpt: “Last week saw the release of two court decisions in cases addressing the use of copyrighted material for training of artificial intelligence (AI) platforms, Bartz et al., v. Anthropic, and Kadrey et al., v. Meta. We asked the Chefs for their thoughts on these decisions and the potential impacts on publishers and authors.”

Trumbore A. Slaves to the machine. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 30. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/06/30/profit-motives-skew-ed-tech-they-dont-have-opinion

Excerpt: “In 1966, a Stanford University professor promised to harness the power of the computer to provide “the personal services of a tutor as well informed and as responsive as Aristotle.” In 2023, Sal Khan proclaimed, “We’re at the cusp of using AI for probably the biggest positive transformation that education has ever seen. And the way we are going to do that is by giving every student on the planet an artificially intelligent but amazing personal tutor.” Same dream, different era, but with one key difference: Who is building the tools, and why?”

Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.

Recent Posts

Monthly Roundup on Artificial Intelligence and Teaching and Learning: June 2025

Every month, our AI blog provides a selection of literature and resources on artificial intelligence in teaching and learning. Here’s the roundup for June 2025:New Resource: National Academy of Medicine. 2025. An Artificial Intelligence Code of Conduct for Health and Medicine: Essential Guidance for Aligned Action. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. https://doi.org/10.17226/29087 Excerpt: “This NAM Special Publication, An Artificial Intelligence Code of Conduct for Health and Medicine: Essential Guidance for Aligned Action, addresses this imperative. By harmonizing existing AI principles, identifying gaps, and aligning them with the core commitments of the NAM’s Learning Health System (LHS), it provides a comprehensive, adaptable set of guidelines for health care organizations and stakeholders. These principles are intended as guideposts for the development, implementation, and continuous improvement of AI systems, ensuring they uphold the highest standards of integrity, safety, and effectiveness.”Reuscher J. Evaluating Web of Science’s AI-powered research assistant. 2025 Jun 4. In: Choice. LibTech Insights [Internet]. Middletown, CT: Choice. Available from: https://www.choice360.org/libtech-insight/evaluating-web-of-sciences-ai-powered-research-assistant/ Excerpt: “Web of Science (WoS) has released a Research Assistant (RA) intended for research and scholarship at all levels, from undergraduate to faculty and professional study. Because the WoS Core Collection comprises 120 years of indexed research, RA is a new way to visualize and interact with the scholarly record, leaving the detritus of the web outside of its search parameters.”McMurtrie B. Teaching: What professors want to know about AI and teaching. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Jun 5. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/newsletter/teaching/2025-06-05 Excerpt: “This week, I: Share insights from a conference on teaching with AI; Describe my latest story on the ongoing reading challenge.Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Barnard B. A call for college application innovation. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 9. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/06/09/call-college-application-innovation-opinion Excerpt: “AI opens up new avenues to allow applicants to present themselves creatively...”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Meletiadou E. Empowering mature students through inclusive AI literacy: advancing digital equity and social justice in higher education. HEPI [Internet]. 2025 Jun 9. Available from: https://www.hepi.ac.uk/2025/06/09/empowering-mature-students-through-inclusive-ai-literacy-advancing-digital-equity-and-social-justice-in-higher-education Excerpt: “As higher education embraces artificial intelligence (AI) to drive digital transformation, there is a growing risk that older, non-traditional, or mature students will be left behind. This blog post draws on insights from the QAA-funded ‘Using AI to promote education for sustainable development and widen access to digital skills' project I have been leading alongside findings from the EU COST Action DigiNet (WG5), where I co-lead research into media portrayals and digital inequalities impacting mature learning workers.”Frazier K. Please plagiarize my work. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 10. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/06/10/i-want-ai-plagiarize-my-work-opinion Excerpt: “In an AI era, a preoccupation with issues of credit and citation limits the reach of our research...”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Warner J. Hasty lurches toward an uncertain AI future. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 12. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/columns/just-visiting/2025/06/12/higher-ed-should-be-very-cautious-about-ai-partnerships Excerpt: “There have been several points during this era of AI availability in education where I’ve been genuinely shocked that something that seems to me to be clearly out of bounds or incredibly rash is viewed by others as quite workable, or even desirable.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Carpenter TA. We need AI standards for scholarly publishing: A NISO workshop report. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Jun 12. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/06/12/we-need-ai-standards-for-scholarly-publishing-a-niso-workshop-report Excerpt: “Notably last month, NISO ( National Information Standards Organization — full disclosure, my employer) hosted a series of workshops for scholarly publishing leadership to identify and prioritize efforts to address some of the challenges around AI and interoperability. These collective actions can help reduce the number of issues and we can all benefit from the opportunities AI provides.”Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence at Stanford University. How language bias persists in scientific publishing despite AI tools. [Internet]. 2025 Jun 16. Available from: https://hai.stanford.edu/news/how-language-bias-persists-in-scientific-publishing-despite-ai-tools Excerpt: “For now, English remains the lingua franca of indexed science, dominating most peer-reviewed journals and international conferences. This puts non-native speakers at a significant disadvantage. While large language models can assist authors to help overcome some language barriers, a new study by two researchers with the Stanford Graduate School of Education suggests that bias against non-native speakers persists even when these tools are used.”Alonso J. The handwriting revolution. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 17. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/faculty-issues/curriculum/2025/06/17/amid-ai-plagiarism-more-professors-turn-handwritten-work Excerpt: “Five semesters after ChatGPT changed education forever, some professors are taking their classes back to the pre-internet era.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Zheng H. Leveraging GenAI to transform a traditional instructional video into engaging short video lectures. EDUCAUSE Review [Internet]. 2025 Jun 17. Available from: https://er.educause.edu/articles/2025/6/leveraging-genai-to-transform-a-traditional-instructional-video-into-engaging-short-video-lectures Excerpt: “By leveraging generative artificial intelligence to convert lengthy instructional videos into micro-lectures, educators can enhance efficiency while delivering more engaging and personalized learning experiences.”Mellors J. The em dash is not the problem. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 20. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/06/20/whats-em-dashai-anxieties-opinion Excerpt: “What might seem like a minor point of style has, in some cases, become a litmus test for authenticity...Because here is the thing: There is no definitive rule about how em dashes should be spaced. Merriam-Webster, for instance, notes that many newspapers and magazines insert a space before and after the em dash, while most books and academic journals don’t. Yet, a certain kind of scholar will see a tightly spaced dash and declare: ‘AI.’”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Hinchcliffe LJ. Are AI bots knocking digital collections offline? An interview with Michael Weinberg. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Jun 23. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/06/23/are-ai-bots-knocking-digital-collections-offline Excerpt: “Last week, the GLAM-E Lab published the results of an investigation into reports that servers and collections were straining – and sometimes breaking – under the load of swarming bots... Today, I interview Michael Weinberg, Executive Director, Engelberg Center on Innovation Law & Policy, NYU Law, and Co-Director of the GLAM-E Lab, about the study and what this phenomenon portends for information access and sustainable infrastructures.” Georgieva M & Stuart J. Ethics is the edge: the future of AI in higher education. EDUCAUSE Review [Internet]. 2025 Jun 24. Available from: https://er.educause.edu/articles/2025/6/ethics-is-the-edge-the-future-of-ai-in-higher-education Excerpt: “A new framework outlines eight ethical principles to guide higher education's implementation of artificial intelligence.”Blake J. Howard and Google aim to advance AI technology for Black users. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 25. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/quick-takes/2025/06/25/howard-and-google-aim-improve-ai-tech-black-usersExcerpt: “Researchers at Howard University and Google are working to improve Black individuals’ experience when using artificial intelligence and automatic speech-recognition technologies, like Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Schroeder R. Walking, talking, engaging AI in higher ed. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 25. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/columns/online-trending-now/2025/06/25/walking-talking-engaging-ai-higher-ed Excerpt: “A front-row seat to the maturing of AI in higher education.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Rowsell J. Universities ‘at risk of overassessing’ in response to AI. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 27. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/global/2025/06/27/universities-risk-overassessing-response-aiExcerpt: “Universities risk overassessing students as they race to future-proof themselves against artificial intelligence, academics have warned.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Kaufman R, Anderson R, Carpenter TA. Ask the Chefs — New court decisions issued in cases addressing AI training and copyright. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Jun 30. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/06/30/ask-the-chefs-new-court-decisions-issued-in-cases-addressing-ai-training-and-copyright/ Excerpt: “Last week saw the release of two court decisions in cases addressing the use of copyrighted material for training of artificial intelligence (AI) platforms, Bartz et al., v. Anthropic, and Kadrey et al., v. Meta. We asked the Chefs for their thoughts on these decisions and the potential impacts on publishers and authors.”Trumbore A. Slaves to the machine. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jun 30. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/06/30/profit-motives-skew-ed-tech-they-dont-have-opinion Excerpt: “In 1966, a Stanford University professor promised to harness the power of the computer to provide “the personal services of a tutor as well informed and as responsive as Aristotle.” In 2023, Sal Khan proclaimed, “We’re at the cusp of using AI for probably the biggest positive transformation that education has ever seen. And the way we are going to do that is by giving every student on the planet an artificially intelligent but amazing personal tutor.” Same dream, different era, but with one key difference: Who is building the tools, and why?”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles....

Monthly Roundup on Artificial Intelligence and Teaching and Learning: May 2025

Every month, our AI blog provides a selection of literature and resources on artificial intelligence in teaching and learning. Here’s the roundup for May 2025:Warner J. An AI thought experiment. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 May 1. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/blogs/just-visiting/2025/05/01/adjusting-generative-ai-education-means-getting-rootsExcerpt: “To help folks think through what we should be considering regarding the impact on education of generative AI tools like large language models, I want to try a thought experiment.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.McMurtrie B. Is your online student a bot? Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 May 1. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/is-your-online-student-a-botExcerpt: “As AI gets better, online education becomes more vulnerable to fraud. Just ask instructors in California.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Mintz S. Teaching writing in the age of AI. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 May 2. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/blogs/higher-ed-gamma/2025/05/02/challenges-and-approaches-teaching-writing-age-aiExcerpt: “If writing is to remain a meaningful intellectual endeavor, I—and you—must help our students understand its deeper purpose—not as a task to complete, but as a tool for thinking, analysis and real-world influence.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Watkins M. Your students need an AI-aware professor. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 May 5. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/your-students-need-an-ai-aware-professorExcerpt: “Here’s a sustainable plan to bring you up to speed on a technology that academe can’t afford to ignore.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Galef D. Q&A with an AI on its creative process. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 May 6. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/05/06/qa-ai-its-creative-process-opinionhumorExcerpt: The author prompts an AI tool on how it writes.Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Kim J. 3 questions on AI and innovation for Tawnya Means. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 May 8. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/blogs/learning-innovation/2025/05/08/three-questions-ai-and-innovation-tawnya-meansExcerpt: “I asked if Tawnya would be willing to answer my questions about her work and her thinking about AI and higher education, and she graciously agreed.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.McMurtrie B. Teaching: Can AI improve creative writing? A small study investigates. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 May 8. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/newsletter/teaching/2025-05-08Excerpt: “This week, I: Describe one AI study and what it says about the creative process; Ask how you know whether your students are learning if they use AI.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Mowreader A. Report: Instructors want more guidance on AI usage. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 May 8. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/student-success/academic-life/2025/05/08/professors-using-ai-need-more-administrative-support Excerpt: “A recent report from Ithaka S+R finds professors are increasingly engaging with generative AI but want more support navigating its application and AI policy in the classroom.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Hansen SL. Guest post — Fostering AI adoption and literacy within your organization. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 May 14. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/05/14/guest-post-fostering-ai-adoption-and-literacy-within-your-organizationExcerpt: “For the last two years, AI has dominated our industry: conference agendas, whitepapers, webinars, and even these pages. It feels like AI is everywhere. And yet, organizational adoption of AI is still far from universal, with some companies still outright banning the use of AI tools.”Schroeder R. Becoming AI literate this summer. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 May 14. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/blogs/online-trending-now/2025/05/14/becoming-ai-literate-summerExcerpt: “Artificial intelligence is rapidly becoming a cornerstone of contemporary practice in higher education. This summer is an ideal time to become AI literate for the fall.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Mowreader A. Research: ChatGPT can pass an engineering class. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 May 19. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/student-success/academic-life/2025/05/19/chat-bot-passes-college-engineering-class-minimal Excerpt: “The chat bot earned a B, slightly below the class average. It excelled in practice problems and computing exercises but was unable to justify its work or simplify systems.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Turcio AL. Can AI bring us closer to prospective students? Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 May 19. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/can-ai-bring-us-closer-to-prospective-students Excerpt: “Used with intention, this tech will free up your time to do the human parts of enrollment work that matter most.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article.Ghildiyal A. Guest post — Beyond efficiency: reclaiming creativity and wellbeing in the age of AI and scholarly publishing. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 May 20. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/05/20/guest-post-beyond-efficiency-reclaiming-creativity-and-wellbeing-in-the-age-of-ai-and-scholarly-publishing Excerpt: “The scholarly publishing industry stands at a defining crossroads. Artificial intelligence is rapidly transforming knowledge work, promising increased efficiency, scalability, and automation. Yet in our rush to explore its technical capabilities, we risk overlooking the human dimension — specifically, how AI is impacting the mental health, creative fulfillment, and cognitive engagement of the very people who create, review, and disseminate scholarly content.”Flaherty C. AI and threats to academic integrity: what to do. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 May 20. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/students/academics/2025/05/20/experts-weigh-everyone-cheating-collegeExcerpt: “Three in four chief technology officers say that artificial intelligence has proven to be a moderate or significant risk to academic integrity at their institution. Experts have ideas as to what can help.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Hsien ATC. Deep dive into three AI academic search tools. Katina Magazine [Internet]. 2025 May 20. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1146/katina-052025-2 Excerpt: “AI add-ons incorporating retrieval-augmented generation are everywhere in academic search. But how—and how well—do they work? Our reviewer put Primo Research Assistant, Web of Science Research Assistant, and Scopus AI to the test.”Khushalani B. Empowering student success through AI-driven collaboration. EDUCAUSE Review [Internet]. 2025 May 22. Available from: https://er.educause.edu/articles/2025/5/empowering-student-success-through-ai-driven-collaborationExcerpt: “Student success is a shared institutional commitment. Increasingly diverse student populations, mounting mental health concerns, and the exponential growth of digital information call for a reimagined approach to academic support—one that is proactive, personalized, and collaborative.”McMurtrie B. The reading struggle meets AI. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 May 22. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/the-reading-struggle-meets-aiExcerpt: “The crisis has worsened, many professors say. Is it time to think differently?”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article.Burzlaff J. What AI can’t read: ambiguities and silences. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 May 23. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/05/23/what-ai-cant-read-ambiguities-and-silences-opinion Excerpt: “By using AI for a task for which it is particularly ill-equipped—analyzing the testimony of Holocaust survivors—students deepen their own thinking.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Lim KYT, Hilmy AH, Wei, BKZ. AI operators or creators? Two visions of agency and learning. UNESCO. 2025 May 26. Available from: https://www.unesco.org/en/articles/ai-operators-or-creators-two-visions-agency-and-learningExcerpt: “When seeking to understand how the notion of agency might evolve as learners interact with AI, scenarios play a useful part.”O’Neill J. Dispensed with a matronly air: trust and AI. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 May 28. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/05/28/dispensed-with-a-matronly-air-trust-and-aiExcerpt: “In recent weeks, BBC Maestro released a ‘Making Of’ blog post about their own disruptive AI project, one integrating AI, vocal, and visual technologies to recreate the presence of Agatha Christie. With the involvement of a team of more than 100 individuals and with the consent of the Christie family, the educational streaming platform announced the launch of a writing course taught by the famed author herself.” ...

Monthly Roundup on Artificial Intelligence and Teaching and Learning: April 2025

Every month, our AI blog provides a selection of literature and resources on artificial intelligence in teaching and learning. Here’s the roundup for April 2025:Turner P. Mapping a multidimensional framework for GenAI in education. EDUCAUSE Review [Internet]. 2025 Apr 2. Available from: https://er.educause.edu/articles/2025/4/mapping-a-multidimensional-framework-for-genai-in-education Excerpt: “Prompting careful dialogue through incisive questions can help chart a course through the ongoing storm of artificial intelligence.” McMurtrie B. Should college graduates be AI literate? Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Apr 3. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/should-college-graduates-be-ai-literate Excerpt: “More institutions are saying yes. Persuading professors is only the first barrier they face.” Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Padilla T. Preserving AI. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Apr 4. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/04/04/ai-preservation-unaddressed-challenge-opinion Excerpt: “As artificial intelligence rapidly evolves, how can we effectively preserve it? As a librarian, technologist and community builder who has worked at places like the Internet Archive, the Library of Congress and university research libraries, I see AI preservation as a core challenge that remains to a large extent unaddressed. How can we best understand society moving forward without ongoing access to some version of the tools that fundamentally affect how knowledge in our time is produced?” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Basgen B. AI as a thought partner in higher education. EDUCAUSE Review [Internet]. 2025 Apr 9. Available from: https://er.educause.edu/articles/2025/4/ai-as-a-thought-partner-in-higher-education Excerpt: “When used thoughtfully and transparently, generative artificial intelligence can augment creativity and challenge assumptions, making it an excellent tool for exploring and developing ideas.” McMurtie B. Teaching: Will AI change our uniquely human traits? The Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Apr 10. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/newsletter/teaching/2025-04-10 Excerpt: “This week, I: Share the results of a survey on how human traits might change by 2035; Distill the results from a new survey on how students are using AI tools.” Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Swaak T. Students found out AI will help read their names at commencement. Protest ensued. The Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Apr 10. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/students-found-out-ai-will-help-read-their-names-at-commencement-protest-ensued Excerpt: “This year, the university, which serves more than 19,000 students, plans to adopt a third-party service that uses AI technology to clone the voices of compensated “professional voice artists” and create synthetic recordings of students’ names. Students can then review the recordings before the ceremony and send them back for alterations if they’re wrong.” Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. National Academy of Medicine. Generative artificial intelligence in health and medicine: opportunities and responsibilities for transformative innovation. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press; 2025. Available from: https://doi.org/10.17226/28907Excerpt: “The integration of large language models (LLMs) and generative artificial intelligence (AI) in health care holds the potential to transform the practice of medicine, the work and experiences of health care providers, and the health and well-being of patients. Generative AI can support clinical decision making and streamline workflows, promote patients and their support networks’ engagement in care processes, and support clinical research.” Kaufman R. American Psychological Association’s stepped approach to managing responsible AI: an interview with Aaron Wood on employee policies, rights reservation, and research integrity. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Apr 14. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/04/14/american-psychological-associations-stepped-approach-to-managing-responsible-ai-an-interview-with-aaron-wood-on-employee-policies-rights-reservation-and-research-integrity Excerpt: “During the session, I had the opportunity to interview Aaron Wood, Head of Product and Content Management for APA [American Psychological Association], about APA’s multi-faceted approach to Artificial Intelligence and the change management it engenders. I was especially excited about this interview, given the APA’s comprehensive approach to AI. The following is adapted from the talk.” Clewley C & Clewley L. Building connections with AI industry is vital to keeping degrees relevant. Times Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Apr 14. Available from: https://www.timeshighereducation.com/opinion/building-connections-ai-industry-vital-keeping-degrees-relevant Excerpt: “In rapid innovation lies tension. Nowhere is this tension more evident than in the swift rise of generative AI and its profound impact on higher education. Universities now face a stark reality: students will embrace these technologies regardless of institutional policy.” Decker S. Guest post — The open access – AI conundrum: does free to read mean free to train? In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Apr 14. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/04/15/guest-post-the-open-access-ai-conundrum-does-free-to-read-mean-free-to-train Excerpt: “The readers envisaged by proponents of OA were obviously human (academics as well as the wider public). While text mining had been considered as one potential application, they could not foresee the development of large language models (LLMs) which would begin to rapaciously ingest large amounts of text. OA literature has become particularly attractive for AI training precisely because it lacks the legal and technical barriers that might protect traditionally published content.” Westling C & Mishra MK. Artificial intelligence: lessons learned from a graduate-level final exam. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Apr 15. Available from: https://er.educause.edu/articles/2025/4/artificial-intelligence-lessons-learned-from-a-graduate-level-final-examExcerpt: “The need for deep student engagement became clear at Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine when a potential academic-integrity issue revealed gaps in its initial approach to artificial intelligence use in the classroom, leading to significant revisions to ensure equitable learning and assessment.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Schroeder R. The disruptive future of society as AI dominates the workplace. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Apr 16. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/blogs/online-trending-now/2025/04/16/disruptive-future-society-ai-dominates-workplace Excerpt: “Generative artificial intelligence gained worldwide attention with the initial release of OpenAI’s ChatGPT, and it has continued to expand at awesome speed and capability ever since.” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Chawla DS. AI bots are overwhelming some journals. Chemical & Engineering News [Internet]. 2025 Apr 16. Available from: https://cen.acs.org/policy/publishing/AI-bots-overwhelming-journals/103/web/2025/04 Excerpt: “Traffic from bots run by artificial intelligence companies is disrupting scientific journal websites. Some publications report that their websites are now visited more by bots than by genuine users. Scalon PM. Ghosts are everywhere. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Apr 18. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/04/18/how-ai-challenges-notions-authorship-opinion Excerpt: “Still, we have to face the question of ghostwriting’s ethicality in other instances. When is it allowable? I think for practical, workaday writing chores, AI technology has already won out.” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Flaherty C. The digital divide: student generative AI access. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Apr 21. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/tech-innovation/artificial-intelligence/2025/04/21/half-colleges-dont-grant-students-access Excerpt: “Half of chief technology officers say their institution doesn’t grant students access to generative AI tools. How does your college compare?” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Wood H. Publishers’ Licensing Services and Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society create ‘pioneering’ AI licence. The Book Seller [Internet]. 2025 Apr 23. Available from: https://www.thebookseller.com/news/publishers-licensing-services-and-authors-licensing-and-collecting-society-create-pioneering-ai-licence Excerpt: “The two collective management organisations representing publishers and authors have agreed to the development by the Copyright Licensing Agency (CLA) of a new collective licence for generative AI.” Ross J. AI research summaries ‘exaggerate findings,’ study warns. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Apr 24. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/tech-innovation/artificial-intelligence/2025/04/24/ai-research-summaries-exaggerate-findings Excerpt: “Bots’ tendency to display ‘unwarranted confidence’ and fixate on ‘pink elephants’ is particularly risky in medical research, according to a new paper.” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Ross J. AI summary ‘trashed author’s work’ and took weeks to be corrected. Times Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Apr 24. Available from: https://www.timeshighereducation.com/news/ai-summary-trashed-authors-work-and-took-weeks-be-corrected Excerpt: “Study findings misrepresented in experimental Q&A published with paper, amid concerns efforts to save researchers time are fuelling mistakes.” Note: Create a free account on the Times Higher Education site to access articles. Reece G. We already have an ethics framework for AI. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Apr 25. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/04/25/we-already-have-ethics-framework-ai-opinion Excerpt: “An accepted framework guiding human subjects research can help us make ethical judgments about different AI uses...” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Kaufman R. Innovation, governance, and public trust: The US Office of Management and Budget (OMB) issues guidance on AI. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Apr 28. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/04/28/innovation-governance-and-public-trust-the-us-office-of-management-and-budget-omb-issues-guidance-on-ai Excerpt: “We are expecting the AI Action Plan to be issued over the summer. This will be the ‘official’ policy document. We may, however, glean some of the administration’s views by looking at a recently issued memo from Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Director Russell Voight.” Zhou H & Hetzscholdt P. AI strategy, governance, and monetization in scholarly publishing: lessons from industry front-runners. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Apr 29. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/04/29/ai-strategy-governance-and-monetization-in-scholarly-publishing-lessons-from-industry-front-runners Excerpt: The authors describe how the takeaways from a generative AI summit can be applied to publishers. Chaudhuri A & Trainor J. 3 laws for curriculum design in an AI age. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Apr 30. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/04/30/three-laws-curriculum-design-ai-age-opinionExcerpt: "The need for faculty to clarify the role of AI in the curriculum is pressing. To address this...we have developed what we are calling 'Three Laws of Curriculum in the Age of AI,'...written to ensure that humans remained in control of technology. Our three laws are not laws, per se; they are a framework for thinking about how to address AI technology in the curriculum at all levels, from the individual classroom to degree-level road maps, from general education through graduate courses."Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Schroeder R. Urgent need for AI literacy. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Apr 30. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/blogs/online-trending-now/2025/04/30/urgent-need-ai-literacyExcerpt: "As we approach May, alarm bells are ringing for all colleges and universities to ensure that AI literacy programs have been completed by learners who plan to enter the job market this year and in the future."Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. ...

Monthly Roundup on Artificial Intelligence and Teaching and Learning: March 2025

Every month, our AI blog provides a selection of literature and resources on artificial intelligence in teaching and learning. Here’s the roundup for March 2025: Johnson RC. Explaining AI explainability. Communications of the ACM [Internet. 2024 Mar 3. Available from: https://cacm.acm.org/news/explaining-ai-explainability Excerpt: “Having an AI system explain how it reaches its conclusions, legally required in some cases, is still a challenge.” DeVaney J. AI and education: shaping the future before it shapes us. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Mar 4. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/blogs/learning-innovation/2025/03/04/ai-and-education-shaping-future-it-shapes-us Excerpt: “Last week during a visit to Silicon Valley, I repeatedly heard the following as a preface to a prediction, and I can’t say I’ve ever heard it before when engaging with my most techno-optimistic colleagues: ‘I could be wrong, but …’ A few innocent words, but a rhetorical hedge that suggests even the most confident among us understand that the AI era is pretty, pretty complicated.” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. O’Neill J. Repackaging Christie — does AI have a role? 2025 Mar 4. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/03/04/the-mysteries-of-agatha-christie-how-will-ai-change-literary-scholarship Excerpt: “Advocates of artificial intelligence legitimately note that ordinary people don’t want to have to flip through some alphabetically arranged roster to find an answer.” Palmer K. OpenAI invests $50M in higher ed research. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Mar 5. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/quick-takes/2025/03/05/openai-invests-50m-higher-ed-research Excerpt: “OpenAI announced Tuesday that it’s investing $50 million to start up NextGenAI, a new research consortium of 15 institutions that will be ‘dedicated to using AI to accelerate research breakthroughs and transform education.’” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Hlava M. Guest post: trying to write a paper with LLM assistance. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Mar 11. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/03/11/guest-post-trying-to-write-a-paper-with-llm-assistance Excerpt: “I tired [sic] three different large language models (LLMs) to rewrite a potential article. I started with seven paragraphs and decided to see if one of the GenAI systems could help me with punctuation and sentence structure.” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. EdScoop. AI influence on higher ed is growing, new survey shows. EdScoop [Internet]. 2025 Mar 11. Available from: https://edscoop.com/ai-influence-on-higher-ed-is-growing-new-survey-shows Excerpt: “A new report follows a survey of 160 admissions leaders from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada and Australia. Just over half of the leaders reported a belief that AI will transform the process of evaluating university applicants.” Aboulafia A. Building a disability-inclusive AI ecosystem: a cross-disability, cross-systems analysis of best practices. Center for Democracy & Technology [Internet]. 2025 Mar 11. Available from: https://cdt.org/insights/building-a-disability-inclusive-ai-ecosystem-a-cross-disability-cross-systems-analysis-of-best-practices Excerpt: “This report (released in tandem with a shorter brief) furthers this important work by specifically providing recommendations for disabled community members, disability rights and justice advocates, government agencies, and private-sector AI practitioners regarding best practices for ensuring that people with disabilities are able to enjoy the benefits of AI and algorithmic technologies while being safeguarded from their risks.” Grajek S, Pelletier K, Freeman A. AI procurement in higher education: benefits and risks of emerging tools. EDUCAUSE Review [Internet]. 2025 Mar 11. Available from: https://er.educause.edu/articles/2025/3/ai-procurement-in-higher-education-benefits-and-risks-of-emerging-tools Excerpt: “As artificial intelligence becomes embedded in the technology ecosystem, clear guidelines and practices for selecting and implementing AI products and features and working with vendors are vital for ensuring alignment with institutional goals and culture.” Cruz Rivera JL. A president’s journey to AI adoption. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Mar 13. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/career-advice/advancing-administrator/2025/03/13/presidents-journey-ai-adoption-opinion Excerpt: The author “...explains how he’s come to use AI in academic leadership, and the sources of inspiration and learning he’s found along the way.” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. McMurtrie B. Teaching: are you doing your students a disservice if you ignore AI? The Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Mar 13. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/newsletter/teaching/2025-03-13 Excerpt: “This week, I: Share some ideas about AI literacy; Ask whether current events have entered your classroom.” Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Palmer K. Publishers embrace AI as research integrity tool. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Mar 18. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/faculty-issues/research/2025/03/18/publishers-adopt-ai-tools-bolster-research-integrity Excerpt: “The $19 billion academic publishing industry is adopting AI-powered tools to improve the quality of peer-reviewed research and speed up production. The latter goal yields ‘obvious financial benefit’ for publishers, one expert said.” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Stone A. AI ethics in higher education: how schools are proceeding. EdTech Magazine [Internet]. 2025 Mar 18. Available from: https://edtechmagazine.com/higher/article/2025/03/ai-ethics-higher-education-how-schools-are-proceeding-perfcon Excerpt: “Higher education institutions are uniquely positioned to evaluate AI ethics and explore safeguards to promote responsible use at colleges and universities.” Girdharry K. Teaching with AI: a journey through grief. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Mar 19. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/03/19/professors-journey-through-grief-over-chatgpt-opinion Excerpt: “First there was denial, then anger, bargaining, depression and, finally, Kristi Girdharry writes, acceptance.” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Schroeder R. 8 weeks left to prepare students for the AI-enhanced workplace. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Mar 19. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/blogs/online-trending-now/2025/03/19/eight-weeks-left-prepare-students-ai-enhanced Excerpt: “We are down to the final weeks left to fully prepare students for entry into the AI-enhanced workplace. Are your students ready?” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Jaźwińska K. The battle over AI and copyright enters a new phase. Columbia Journalism Review [Internet]. 2025 Mar 20. Available from: https://www.cjr.org/the_media_today/google_openai_trump_ai_plan_copyright_journalism.php Excerpt: “Google and OpenAI want Trump to open up the rules. News publishers have some thoughts.” McMurtrie B. Teaching: How students think about AI. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Mar 27. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/newsletter/teaching/2025-03-27 Excerpt: “This week, I: Describe an effort to elevate student voices in the debate around AI; Ask you to share a questionnaire on student AI use.” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Tanriguden B. The artificially intelligent dean. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Mar 28. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/career-advice/2025/03/28/artificially-intelligent-dean-opinion Excerpt: “In the era of artificial intelligence, one in which algorithms are rapidly guiding decisions from stock trading to medical diagnoses, it is time to entertain the possibility that one of the last bastions of human leadership—academic deanship—could be next for a digital overhaul.” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Warner J. AI can’t do student peer review. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Mar 28. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/blogs/just-visiting/2025/03/28/generative-ai-not-our-peer Excerpt: “Automation can make many good things possible, but let’s not pretend it’s something it isn’t.” Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Ghosh R. Are we fumbling in the dark or laying a strong foundation for AI education? 2025 Mar 31. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/03/31/are-we-fumbling-in-the-dark-or-laying-a-strong-foundation-for-ai-education Excerpt: “As we stand on the cusp of an AI-driven future, it is essential to move beyond resistance and engage thoughtfully with these technologies.” ...

Monthly Roundup on Artificial Intelligence and Teaching and Learning: June 2025

Leave a comment