AI in Teaching and Learning Blog - Levy Library Guides at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Introduction

AI now makes summarizing and analyzing research faster than ever before. Tools such as Google Scholar, ProQuest, Web of Science, and EndNote now integrate AI features that summarize key concepts of articles, streamlining discoverability and comprehension.

Google Scholar PDF Reader

The Google Scholar PDF Reader Chrome extension includes an AI Outline feature. When you open a PDF from search results, it automatically generates an outline of the article, breaking down information by section and pulling out key takeaways.

Note: Chrome browser is required for use. Most but not all articles within Google Scholar have AI Outline ability.

ProQuest Research Assistant

ProQuest Central’s Research Assistant provides summaries of articles within the database, suggests relevant topics and predefined Boolean searches based on keywords. The “Show/Hide highlighting” button turns on and off the highlight around the keywords searched. The terms searched in the example shown in the screenshots below are ai AND ethics.

Note: Clarivate also offers a similar tool in Web of Science.

EndNote 2025 AI-Powered Paper Summaries

EndNote 2025 has released new features, one of which includes AI-powered paper summaries. Similar to Google Scholar and ProQuest, EndNote also autogenerates summaries. It uses AI to suggest relevant references based on your library. It is available in the summary panel and does not require opening the PDF. EndNoteTraining has a helpful YouTube playlist for the new features.

How the Library Can Help

Platforms you already access through the library now include article summarization features that can accelerate understanding, organizing, and synthesizing information. Librarians can support you in navigating these AI-powered tools and understanding their impact on evidence discovery and information management through consultations and workshops upon request. We invite you to send us a question on this topic or book a consultation!

Recent Posts

AI-Powered PDF Readers Available in Your Library Resources

Introduction AI now makes summarizing and analyzing research faster than ever before. Tools such as Google Scholar, ProQuest, Web of Science, and EndNote now integrate AI features that summarize key concepts of articles, streamlining discoverability and comprehension. Google Scholar PDF ReaderThe Google Scholar PDF Reader Chrome extension includes an AI Outline feature. When you open a PDF from search results, it automatically generates an outline of the article, breaking down information by section and pulling out key takeaways. Note: Chrome browser is required for use. Most but not all articles within Google Scholar have AI Outline ability. ProQuest Research Assistant ProQuest Central’s Research Assistant provides summaries of articles within the database, suggests relevant topics and predefined Boolean searches based on keywords. The “Show/Hide highlighting” button turns on and off the highlight around the keywords searched. The terms searched in the example shown in the screenshots below are ai AND ethics.Note: Clarivate also offers a similar tool in Web of Science.EndNote 2025 AI-Powered Paper Summaries EndNote 2025 has released new features, one of which includes AI-powered paper summaries. Similar to Google Scholar and ProQuest, EndNote also autogenerates summaries. It uses AI to suggest relevant references based on your library. It is available in the summary panel and does not require opening the PDF. EndNoteTraining has a helpful YouTube playlist for the new features.How the Library Can Help Platforms you already access through the library now include article summarization features that can accelerate understanding, organizing, and synthesizing information. Librarians can support you in navigating these AI-powered tools and understanding their impact on evidence discovery and information management through consultations and workshops upon request. We invite you to send us a question on this topic or book a consultation! ...

Monthly Roundup on Artificial Intelligence and Teaching and Learning: August 2025

Every month, our AI blog provides a selection of literature and resources on artificial intelligence in teaching and learning. Here’s the roundup for August 2025: Jack P. Colleges meet just a fraction of demand for AI training. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 1. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/tech-innovation/artificial-intelligence/2025/08/01/universities-meet-just-fraction-demand-ai Excerpt: “Interest in artificial intelligence training is soaring, but only a fraction of the demand is being met by higher education, according to a new report.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Mowreader A. AI skills needed in many postgrad careers—not just tech. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 1. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/student-success/life-after-college/2025/08/01/ai-skills-needed-several-postgrad-careers-not Excerpt: “More companies are seeking employees with experience using artificial intelligence tools outside of traditional computer science or IT fields, according to a recent report.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Steinhorn L. A professor’s dilemma. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 1. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/08/01/professors-dilemma-ai-opinion Excerpt: “Knowing a student used AI is not the same as being able to prove it...”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.McEvilly C. Using ITHAKA’s Product Tracker to prepare for generative AI. 2025 Aug 4. In: Choice. LibTech Insights [Internet]. Middletown, CT: Choice. Available from: https://www.choice360.org/libtech-insight/using-ithakas-product-tracker-to-prepare-for-generative-ai Excerpt: “It lists tools that are either widely used in higher ed or intended for a higher ed audience and tracks tools under development. The Tracker is formatted as a table, and it includes basic information about each tool, including fields for Purchasing Model, Description, Key Features, Pros, Limitations, and Comments.”Green S. Guest post — fear, learning, and Luddites: opportunities to lead the AI revolution. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Aug 5. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/08/05/guest-post-fear-learning-and-luddites-opportunities-to-lead-the-ai-revolution Excerpt: “Like the Luddites, we stand at the threshold of a technological revolution. Their fight wasn’t against progress, but for progress with a conscience — a reminder that every leap forward should be guided by the question: not just can we, but should we?”Schroeder R. AI in the university: from generative assistant to autonomous agent. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 5. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/columns/online-trending-now/2025/08/05/ai-university-assistant-autonomous-agent Excerpt: “This fall we are moving into the agentic generation of artificial intelligence.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Good KD. Bring back the blue-book exam. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Aug 6. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/bring-back-the-blue-book-exam Excerpt: “Like many professors, I’ve recently abandoned take-home essays in favor of blue-book exams. This turn toward low-tech, proctored assessments isn’t about ignoring AI: It’s about giving students the chance to develop as writers and thinkers without its interference.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Palmer K. Understanding value of learning fuels ChatGPT’s Study Mode. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 7. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/tech-innovation/artificial-intelligence/2025/08/07/understanding-value-learning-fuels-chatgpts Excerpt: “Two teaching and learning experts experimented with ChatGPT’s new Study Mode, which promises to support “deeper learning” among college students. Google and Anthropic have also unveiled similar tools, but their effectiveness will likely depend on the student.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Nicholson J. Guest post — a smarter way to license research articles for AI. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Aug 7. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/08/07/guest-post-a-smarter-way-to-license-research-articles-for-ai Excerpt: “LLMs are not yet capable of meaningfully engaging with most peer-reviewed research articles. Why? Because most of the content is locked behind paywalls and isn’t accessible. If LLMs are the future of information discovery, valuable research disseminated by scholarly publishers risks being left behind — unless we build a bridge between authoritative research and intelligent retrieval.”Knott K. Google to spend $1B on AI training in higher ed. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 7. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/quick-takes/2025/08/07/google-spend-1b-ai-training-higher-ed Excerpt: “Google is joining other AI companies, including OpenAI and Anthropic, in investing in AI training in higher education. All three companies have rolled out new tools aimed at supporting 'deeper learning' among students and made their AI platforms available to certain students for free.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Whittet EO. Students are using ChatGPT to write their personal essays now. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Aug 11. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/students-are-using-chatgpt-to-write-their-personal-essays-now Excerpt: “AI can replicate the shape of a narrative, but not the struggle that makes it meaningful.Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Brand A, Carrera D, Gero K, Silbey S. Guest post — who controls knowledge in the age of AI? Part 1. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Aug 12. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/08/12/guest-post-who-controls-knowledge-in-the-age-of-ai-part-1 Excerpt: “The rise of large language models (LLMs) is reshaping knowledge production, raising urgent questions for research communication and publishing writ large. Drawing on qualitative survey responses from over 850 academic book authors from across a range of fields and institutions, we highlight widespread concern about the unlicensed use of in-copyright scientific and scholarly publications for AI training.”Brand A, Carrera D, Gero K, Silbey S. Guest post — who controls knowledge in the age of AI? Part 2, recommendations for stakeholders. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Aug 13. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/08/13/guest-post-who-controls-knowledge-in-the-age-of-ai-part-2-recommendations-for-stakeholders Excerpt: “Most authors are not opposed to generative AI, but they strongly favor consent, attribution, and compensation as conditions for use of their work. While the key legal question — whether LLM training on in-copyright content is a fair use — is being actively litigated, universities and publishers must take the lead in developing transparent, rights-respecting frameworks for LLM licensing that consider legal, ethical, and epistemic factors.Hartberg Y. AI writing disclosures are a joke. Here’s how to improve them. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Aug 15. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/ai-writing-disclosures-are-a-joke-heres-how-to-improve-them Excerpt: “Scholars should log every step of the process of composition.” Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Conrad LY. INFIDEO Friday: How AI is changing our search experiences. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Aug 15. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/08/15/infideo-friday-how-ai-is-changing-our-search-experiences Excerpt: “It may feel like AI overviews have been around for ages, but Sundin demonstrates that we’ve been gradually shifting our expectations from search results as a list of sources to direct answers curated by search engines.”Stokel-Walker C. AI-generated responses are undermining crowdsourced research studies. New Scientist [Internet]. 2025 Aug 19 [updated Aug 21]. Available from: https://www.newscientist.com/article/2492984-ai-generated-responses-are-undermining-crowdsourced-research-studies Excerpt: “Many answers to online research questions show signs of being generated by AI chatbots, raising doubts about the validity of behavioural data collected this way.”Schroeder R. AI can facilitate mastery learning in higher education. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 20. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/columns/online-trending-now/2025/08/20/ai-can-facilitate-mastery-learning-higher-education Excerpt: “What if higher education moved beyond rigid calendars and assembly-line teaching to AI-powered, mastery-based learning where every student truly understands the material before moving forward?”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.University of California Curation Center. Exploring how AI can help research data management. California Digital Library [Internet]. 2025 Aug 21. Available from: https://uc3.cdlib.org/2025/08/21/exploring-how-ai-can-help-research-data-management Excerpt: “One key application of AI we are exploring is enhancing the quality and scale of our metadata curation activities, including those for the Research Organization Registry (ROR). ROR, a widely adopted persistent identifier service for research organizations, operates on a model where anyone can submit a request to add or update its records.”Mowreader A. Helping students emotionally before they turn to AI. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 21. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/student-success/health-wellness/2025/08/21/helping-college-students-emotionally-they-turn-ai Excerpt: “A counseling center director shares ways to engage students using technology to mitigate potential harms from emotional reliance on generative AI chat bots.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Vines T. Rise of the machine readers: what they really want to read. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Aug 21. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/08/21/rise-of-the-machine-readers Excerpt: “As AI systems become serious consumers of research, scholarly publishing must rethink its formats, business models, and quality controls — because machine readers don’t want PDFs, they want structured, reliable science.”Goldsher NB. Rise of the incompetents. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 22. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/08/22/rise-incompetents-opinion Excerpt: “We’re not paying enough attention to the dangers AI poses to the competence of our future electorate—and the workforce...”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Warner J. On the AHA AI Guidelines. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 22. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/columns/just-visiting/2025/08/22/american-historical-association-comes-close-misses Excerpt: “A great document to start a conversation, but off the mark for the conversation we need to be having.’Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Zappavigna M. ‘I’m sorry Dave, I’m afraid I can’t do that’: Moral regulation in refusals by LLM chatbots. New Media & Society. Published online August 25, 2025. doi: 10.1177/14614448251356686.Excerpt: “This article explores how Large Language Model (LLM) chatbots regulate moral values when they refuse ‘unsafe’ requests from users. It applies corpus-based discourse analysis to examine how the chatbots employ tenor resources of positioning, tuning, and orienting in the rhetoric of their refusals. This method is informed by Systemic Functional Linguistics, in particular the discourse semantic system of appraisal, which models evaluative meaning. Despite their contrite openings, chatbot refusals tend to raise stakes in terms of tenor. They deploy prosodies of propriety targeted at moral and taboo stances and behaviours. This rhetoric of oppositioning involves encapsulating key values into iconised attitudes as the chatbots advise users about what is ‘important’ and ‘not appropriate’.”Zhou H & Soulière M. From detection to disclosure — key takeaways on AI ethics from COPE’s Forum. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Aug 25. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/08/25/from-detection-to-disclosure-key-takeaways-on-ai-ethics-from-copes-forum Excerpt: “On July 1, the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) hosted a Forum discussion on Emerging AI Dilemmas in Scholarly Publishing, exploring the main challenges facing the scholarly community. Top of mind, of course, is how rapidly evolving AI technologies are transforming the way research is conducted, reported, reviewed, and published, raising opportunities and also complex ethical and practical issues for all parties involved. “Baiocchi A. An AI tool says it can predict students’ grades on assignments. Instructors are skeptical. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Aug 26. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/an-ai-tool-says-it-can-predict-students-grades-on-assignments-instructors-are-skeptical Excerpt: “Students looking for feedback on their assignments typically go to office hours, join study groups, or share drafts with classmates for peer review. Now there’s a new artificial-intelligence tool that says it can do the same thing.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Smith T. Want to disguise your AI writing? Start with Wikipedia's new list. Fast Company [Internet]. 2025 Aug 27. Available from: https://www.fastcompany.com/91392747/want-disguise-your-ai-writing-start-wikipedias-new-list Excerpt: “It’s a master class in clichés, strange tropes, obsequious tones of voice, and other assorted oddities of AI-generated prose.”Doyle B, Gentle-Genitty C, Studley JS. Working smarter in the age of AI. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 28. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/columns/beyond-transfer/2025/08/28/how-technology-can-smooth-pain-points-credit-evaluation Excerpt: “Members of the LEARN Commission outline a vision to improve credit evaluation and bring more learners into higher education.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Katz DS, Hosseini M, Edmunds SC. Guest post – code plagiarism and AI create new challenges for publishing integrity. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Aug 28. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/08/28/guest-post-code-plagiarism-and-ai-create-new-challenges-for-publishing-integrity Excerpt: “One may argue that AI is not taking over coding from human developers, but rather augmenting their capabilities. Although such gains may be true in some contexts, similar to the increasing usage of AI tools in writing text, when using AI to write code, responsibility for the integrity of the code is diffused.”Flaherty C. How AI is changing—not ‘killing’—college. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Aug 29. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/students/academics/2025/08/29/survey-college-students-views-ai Excerpt: “Key findings from Inside Higher Ed’s student survey on generative AI show that using the evolving technology hasn’t diminished the value of college in their view, but it could affect their critical thinking skills.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. ...

Monthly Roundup on Artificial Intelligence and Teaching and Learning: July 2025

Every month, our AI blog provides a selection of literature and resources on artificial intelligence in teaching and learning. Here’s the roundup for July 2025:New Resource: American Association of University Professors report: Artificial Intelligence and Academic Professions. Available at: https://www.aaup.org/reports-publications/aaup-policies-reports/topical-reports/artificial-intelligence-and-academic Excerpt: "Educational technology, or ed-tech, including artificial intelligence (AI), continues to become more integrated into teaching and research in higher education, with minimal oversight. The AAUP’s ad hoc Committee on Artificial Intelligence and Academic Professions—composed of higher education faculty members, staff, and scholars interested in technology and its impact on academic labor—was formed under the assumption that faculty members are best positioned to understand and improve teaching and learning conditions, including the development and implementation of institutional policies around educational technology.To learn more about the experiences and priorities of AAUP members, the committee conducted a survey with a sample of five hundred members from nearly two hundred campuses across the country, collected during a two-week time period. Respondents emphasized the importance of improving education on AI, promoting shared governance through policies and oversight, and focusing on equity, transparency, and worker protections. Based on those responses, the committee identified the five key concerns listed below and described more fully in the findings section of this report."Robison J. A multiday in-class essay for the ChatGPT era. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 1. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/career-advice/teaching/2025/07/01/multiday-class-essay-chatgpt-era-opinion Excerpt: “It is a multiday in-class writing assignment, where students have access through Lockdown Browser to (and only to): PDFs of the readings, a personal quotation bank they previously uploaded, an outlining document and the essay instructions (which students were given at least a week before so they had time to begin thinking through their topic).”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Jones N. AI ‘scientists’ joined these research teams: here’s what happened. Nature News [Internet]. 2025 Jul 2. Available from: https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-025-02028-5 Excerpt: “Emerging ‘co-scientist’ systems use chatbots to mimic the deliberations of a research group. Nature asked researchers to test them out.”Note: Click on the “Access through your institution” link and type in Icahn School at Mount Sinai to access full article with your Mount Sinai email address and password.Palmer K. AI brings pain and promise to new grad job market. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 7. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/tech-innovation/artificial-intelligence/2025/07/07/ai-brings-pain-and-promise-new-grad-job Excerpt: “Colleges are eyeing new tools to help alumni navigate a labor market saturated by AI-generated applications.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Kaube B & Smith S. Guest post: When the front door moves: How AI threatens scholarly communities and what publishers can do. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Jul 7. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/07/07/guest-post-when-the-front-door-moves-how-ai-threatens-scholarly-communities-and-what-publishers-can-do Excerpt: “Imagine a researcher typing a complex scientific query into one of today’s AI-discovery and summarization tools. In seconds, they receive a concise, seemingly authoritative summary – no clicking through to journal websites, no navigating subscription paywalls, and no downloading branded PDFs. To the researcher, this feels like pure convenience, perhaps even magic, but for publishers, it looks like disintermediation.”Bruff D. On the sensibility of cognitive outsourcing. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 7. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/07/07/sensibility-cognitive-outsourcing-opinion Excerpt: “It’s entirely reasonable for me to offload a task I don’t care much about to the machines when the machines are right there waiting to do the work for me. That was my response to a new high-profile study from a MIT Media Lab team led by Nataliya Kosmyna.”Riyeff J. AI, irreality and the liberal educational project. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 8. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/07/08/ai-irreality-and-liberal-educational-project-opinion Excerpt: The author “asks how higher education can achieve its aim of scrutinizing reality when students don’t even seem to recognize the irreality of AI outputs.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Hernandez AE. AI and the future of higher education. Psychology Today [Internet]. 2025 Jul 8. Available from: https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/the-emergence-of-skill/202507/ai-and-the-future-of-higher-education Excerpt: “Today, people have begun to ask themselves whether AI will replace higher education...And once again, I turn to the point that Jeff Morgan made more than 10 years ago. If higher education were just about learning on your own, then books would have done the job long ago.”Legatt A. An AI ethics roadmap beyond academic integrity for higher education. Forbes [Internet]. 2025 Jul 8. Available from: https://www.forbes.com/sites/avivalegatt/2025/07/08/an-ai-ethics-roadmap-beyond-academic-integrity-for-higher-education Excerpt: “...Institutions recognize integrity as a top concern, but students are racing ahead with AI and faculty lack commensurate fluency. As a result, AI ethics debates are unfolding in classrooms with underprepared educators.”Schroeder R. Keep in mind that AI Is multimodal now. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 9. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/columns/online-trending-now/2025/07/09/keep-mind-ai-multimodal-now Excerpt: “In order to more fully utilize the remarkable range of capabilities of AI today, we need to become comfortable with the many input and output modes that are available. From audio, voice, image and stunning video to massive formally formatted documents, spreadsheets, computer code, databases and more, the potential to input and output material is beyond what most of us take for granted.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. McMurtrie B. Teaching: assignments that mitigate AI abuse. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Jul 10. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/newsletter/teaching/2025-07-10 Excerpt: “This week, I: Discuss teaching strategies readers submitted that help to diminish AI misuse; Share readers’ book recommendations.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Warner J. Are students making good choices on AI? Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 11. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/columns/just-visiting/2025/07/11/avoiding-work-has-always-been-part-college-new Excerpt: “AI has changed what it means when students dodge an assignment.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. O’Connell D. How are students really using AI? Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Jul 14. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/how-are-students-really-using-ai Excerpt: “There are seemingly endless conversations about artificial intelligence’s impact on college students...For all the discussion, however, it is hard to find much data: plenty of anecdotes but little systematic discussion of what we know.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Pahwa N. They have their doubts. Slate [Internet]. 2025 Jul 15. Available from: https://slate.com/life/2025/07/ai-college-cheating-gemini-chatgpt-students-policy.html Excerpt: “What it’s like to be in school, trying not to use A.I.”Ghildiyal A. Guest post: Gatekeepers of meaning — peer review, AI, and the fight for human attention. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Jul 17. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/07/17/guest-post-gatekeepers-of-meaning-peer-review-ai-and-the-fight-for-human-attention Excerpt: “Let me begin with a rant. Why is so much of the marketing around AI tools focused on making human beings obsolete? Why are new advances so often compared to what a human expert can do — as if the sole purpose of AI is to replace us? Is AI for us, or are we for AI?” McMurtrie B. Teaching: more tips for preventing AI misuse in the classroom. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Jul 17. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/newsletter/teaching/2025-07-17 Excerpt: “This week, I: Share more reader examples of mitigating AI abuse; point you to essays and a podcast on teaching that you may have missed.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Alonso J. Michigan Law adds AI essay prompt. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 18. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/admissions/graduate/2025/07/18/new-michigan-law-essay-prompt-asks-applicants-use-ai Excerpt: “For those applying this fall, the law school added a supplemental essay prompt that asks students about their AI usage and how they see that changing in law school—and requires them to use AI to develop their response. (Applicants may write up to two supplemental essays, selected from 10 prompt options in total.)”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Palmer K. AI-enabled cheating points to ‘untenable’ peer review system. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 21. https://www.insidehighered.com/news/tech-innovation/artificial-intelligence/2025/07/21/ai-enabled-cheating-points-untenable-peer Excerpt: “It’s not clear how widespread the new cheating strategy is, but it’s highlighting longstanding drivers of the peer review crisis some reviewers are now trying to alleviate with AI.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Thakur H. Guest post — The accessibility illusion: when AI simplification fails the users with cognitive disabilities. In: Society for Scholarly Publishing. 2025 Jul 22. Scholarly Kitchen [Internet]. Mount Laurel, NJ: Society for Scholarly Publishing. Available from: https://scholarlykitchen.sspnet.org/2025/07/22/guest-post-the-accessibility-illusion-when-ai-simplification-fails-the-users-with-cognitive-disabilities Excerpt: “Simplifying language for people with cognitive disabilities isn’t just a stylistic or compliance exercise; it’s a design decision with ethical and cognitive implications. This is especially true when using generative AI to adapt complex material for users. In particular, it can be challenging to process and interpret peer reviewer feedback without support, given its dense, technical, and context-specific nature.”Palmer K. Report: Faculty often missing from university decisions on AI. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 22. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/faculty-issues/shared-governance/2025/07/22/faculty-often-missing-university-decisions-ai Excerpt: “A new survey from the AAUP shows that a breakdown of shared governance around implementing AI has implications for the future of teaching, learning and job security.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Quinn R. NIH to limit AI use, cap P.I. grant applications at 6 per year. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 22. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/faculty-issues/research/2025/07/22/nih-limit-ai-use-cap-grant-applications-6-year Excerpt: “The National Institutes of Health is telling researchers to limit the number of applications they submit and restrict how much they use artificial intelligence in writing their proposals.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles. Watkins M. How to grapple with the AI already on your campus. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Jul 23. Available from: https://www.chronicle.com/article/how-to-grapple-with-the-ai-already-on-your-campusExcerpt: “Three steps any faculty member can take to understand which AI features are now embedded in applications you use every day.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article. Huddleston S. Instructors will now see AI throughout a widely used course software. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Jul 23. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/article/instructors-will-now-see-ai-throughout-a-widely-used-course-software Excerpt: “Artificial-intelligence tools — including generative AI — will now be integrated into Canvas, a learning-management platform used by a large share of the nation’s colleges, its parent company announced on Wednesday.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article.Niebuhr R. AI and higher ed: an impending collapse. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 24. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/views/2025/07/24/ai-and-higher-ed-impending-collapse-opinion Excerpt: “The most severe issue that threatens to upend the system is not the challenge of detecting AI in students’ work, but the fact that universities are now encouraging a wholesale embrace of AI.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Kaurov A & Oreskes N. AI will soon be able to audit all published research – what will that mean for public trust in science? The Conversation [Internet]. 2025 Jul 24. Available from: https://theconversation.com/ai-will-soon-be-able-to-audit-all-published-research-what-will-that-mean-for-public-trust-in-science-261363Excerpt: “Self-correction is fundamental to science. One of its most important forms is peer review, when anonymous experts scrutinise research before it is published…Soon, artificial intelligence (AI) will be able to supercharge these efforts.”McMurtrie B. Teaching: why students are using AI. Chronicle of Higher Education [Internet]. 2025 Jul 24. Available from: https://www-chronicle-com.us1.proxy.openathens.net/newsletter/teaching/2025-07-24Excerpt: “This week, I: Describe reporting I did on student AI use and ask how AI is changing classroom dynamics; point you to stories and opinion pieces on teaching you may have missed.”Note: Login when prompted with your Mount Sinai email and password to access full article.Palmer K. Johns Hopkins Press plans to license books to train AI. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 24. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/faculty-issues/books-publishing/2025/07/25/johns-hopkins-press-plans-license-books-train-aiExcerpt: “The publisher did not disclose which AI company or companies it’s partnering with, but expects any resulting revenue to be ‘meaningful’ in advancing its mission.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Warner J. Is AI an academic freedom issue? Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 25. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/columns/just-visiting/2025/07/25/faculty-better-get-active-ai-and-academic-freedom Excerpt: “Education technology as a whole is an academic freedom issue, unfortunately, the encroachment of technological systems which shape (and in some cases even determine) pedagogy, research and governance have been left in the hands of others, with faculty required to capitulate to a system designed and controlled by others.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles.Gunaratne D. Why grad students can't afford to ignore AI. Inside Higher Ed [Internet]. 2025 Jul 28. Available from: https://www.insidehighered.com/opinion/career-advice/carpe-careers/2025/07/28/why-grad-students-cant-afford-ignore-ai-opinionExcerpt: “As graduate students, you’re training to become the critical thinkers, researchers and leaders our world desperately needs. If you step back from advances in AI, you’re not just missing professional opportunities; you’re abdicating your responsibility to help shape how these powerful tools impact society.”Note: Create a free account on the Inside Higher Ed site to access articles....

Teaching with AI This Fall—Levy Library Has Resources for You!

As we gear up for the Fall semester, the Library team is excited to connect with Mount Sinai educators at the July 24th AI in (Bio)Medical Education: Innovation in Teaching and Learning symposium. We look forward to learning new strategies for incorporating AI into the curriculum from our invited scholars and innovators: Dr. Stephen Harmon, Associate Dean of Research at Georgia Tech Professional Education, and Dr. José Antonio Bowen, Principal and Lead Innovator at Bowen Innovation Group, LLC. We invite you to read Dr. Bowen's e-book available through Levy Library: Teaching with AI: A Practical Guide to a New Era of Human Learning. A Mount Sinai email address and password are required to access this e-book. After the symposium, we will update this post with any additional resources shared along with updates from the event co-sponsors: Graduate School of Biomedical SciencesPeter and Leni May Department of Medical EducationGraduate Medical Education (GME)Windreich Department of Artificial Intelligence and Human HealthScholarly and Research Technologies...

AI-Powered PDF Readers Available in Your Library Resources

Leave a comment