The Levy Library Blog

Staying Current with Nutrition Resources from the Levy Library

In honor of National Nutrition Month, we thought it would be a great idea to round up some of our favorite library resources that support the research and education of nutrition.

Databases

Alt- Health Watch

Alt HealthWatch focuses on the perspectives of alternative, complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It contains more than 140 international, and often peer-reviewed journals, reports, proceedings and association and consumer newsletters.

Natural Medicines and Supplements Database

Natural Medicines database is the most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, herbal medicines, and complementary and integrative therapies. This database also contains interactive tools for safety, effectiveness and interactions as well as over 1,400 natural medicine monographs.

FoodData Central (U.S. Department of Agriculture)

FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.

World Health Organization - Nutrition and Food Safety Department Databases

The World Health Organization (WHO) Nutrition and Food Safety Department (NFS) has developed and maintained several nutrition-related databases. The Nutrition and Food Safety Department address the burden of disease from physical, chemical and microbial hazards in food and unhealthy diets, maternal and child malnutrition, overweight and obesity.

Core Nutrition Journals

• American Journal of Clinical Nutrition

• Annual Review of Nutrition

• Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition

• Current Opinion in Clinical Nutrition and Metabolic Care

• International Journal of Eating Disorders

• International Journal of Obesity

• Obesity Research

• Progress in Lipid Research

• The Journal of Nutrition

View the Levy Library Nutrition Journal Bookshelf on BrowZine 

Specialty Topics within BrowZine

• Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition
• International and Community Nutrition
• Molecular, Genetic, and Biochemical Nutrition
• General Nutrition

Selected Nutrition Books 

Click to search for more Nutrition Books in the Collection

Helpful Nutrition-related Websites

• Food and Drug Administration
• CDC - Nutrition Data and Statistics
• Nutrition.gov (U.S. Department of Agriculture)
• Dietary Reference Intakes (U.S. Department of Agriculture)
• Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
• Dietary Guidelines for Americans
• Nutrition - Department of Health - New York State
• The World Bank  - Health Nutrition and Population Statistics