The Levy Library Blog

Changes to Library Journal and Database Subscriptions for 2025

Dear Mount Sinai Community,

The Library team reviews the use of journals, books, databases and knowledge management tools each year to ensure we subscribe to the resources Mount Sinai needs for learning, research and clinical care.  We have a few new and restored journals starting in January as the result of swapping out lesser used resources.  

With the financial challenges facing health care, Mount Sinai's budget for library resources for 2025 could not support all of our subscriptions. Based on usage data, costs and contract limitations, we made the difficult decision to stop subscribing to the journals and databases listed at the end of this post. Many of these will not be available online to you starting January 1, 2025.  For others, the subscription ends later in 2025 on the listed dates.   

We recognize that the loss of immediate online access is an inconvenience, but you can still get the materials you need from the Library by request. Please use our interlibrary loan service (ILL) to request articles you need from any journal at no cost to you. You will typically receive them within 2 business days, rush requesting is available, and we use the data from ILL to make decisions about the need for future subscriptions.  If you do not have an ILL account, please register now so that when you need something, you are ready to request it seamlessly.  

For the databases and tools, below we identify alternatives that you can use or other locations where you can access the resources. If you have any questions, please contact us at library@mssm.edu.  

Hearing from you about how you are impacted by these budget reductions will allow us to prioritize restoring the most needed resources should the budget situation improve.  We welcome partnerships with others that may have funds to support subscriptions to titles that we cannot currently afford.  

Sincerely yours,  

Kris Alpi, Associate Dean of Libraries and Information Sciences

New Resources starting January 1, 2025

Journal additions through swapping:

• Dermatitis
• International Journal of Adolescent Medicine and Health
• International Journal of Gynecological Cancer

Platform additions:

• McGraw-Hill Access Neurology
  Includes titles such as Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology, Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Neurology, and Lange Clinical Neurology
• McGraw-Hill Access ObGyn
  Includes titles such as Williams Obstetrics, First Aid for the Obstetrics & Gynecology Clerkship, and Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Obstetrics & Gynecology
• McGraw-Hill Access Pediatrics
  Includes titles such as Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Pediatrics, Rudolph's Pediatrics, First Aid for the Pediatrics Clerkship

Resources stopping / Cancellations as of December 31, 2024

Journals cancelled or swapped:

• AI Precision in Oncology 
• Chem
• GEN Edge 
• Integrative and Complementary Therapies
• Journal of Chiropractic Humanities
• Journal of Nuclear Medicine Technology 
• Matter
• Pediatric Dentistry

Databases and ebooks not renewed:

• Encyclopedia of Reagents (EROS) 
• McGraw-Hill Primary Care eBook Library - The publisher is discontinuing this collection. The Levy Library catalog provides a number of comparable online books as an alternative.

Resources stopping later in 2025:

• DynaMed
  • Access ends July 1, 2025. 
  • Comparable point of care resources available include UpToDate, Dynamic Health, and BMJ Best Practice.
• Market Research
  • Access ends September 30, 2025.
  • Market research data sources available from New York Public Library (NYPL)--everyone at Mount Sinai eligible for NYPL card.