CEYE Student Resource Guide: Bioinformatics
Overview
During your time in the Introduction to Bioinformatics Program you will be exposed to basic concepts of cellular and molecular biology, genomic science, and computer programming. This Introduction to Bioinformatics Program guide aims to provide you with curated information on this topic..
What is Bioinformatics? (Definition from National Human Genome Research Institute)
Resources from the Web
- Talking Glossary of Genetic terms Talking glossary featuring terms associated with genetics, supported by the National Human Genome Research Institute.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information Federated search engine that searches a multitude of databases and content from the National Library of Medicine. This is a powerful resource that helps users sift through large quantities of information related the biomedical field.
Books & Journals
Bioinformatics for Beginners by
Bioinformatics for Beginners: Genes, Genomes, Molecular Evolution, Databases and Analytical Tools provides a coherent and friendly treatment of bioinformatics for any student or scientist within biology who has not routinely performed bioinformatic analysis. The book discusses the relevant principles needed to understand the theoretical underpinnings of bioinformatic analysis and demonstrates, with examples, targeted analysis using freely available web-based software and publicly available databases. Eschewing non-essential information, the work focuses on principles and hands-on analysis, also pointing to further study options. Avoids non-essential coverage, yet fully describes the field for beginners Explains the molecular basis of evolution to place bioinformatic analysis in biological context Provides useful links to the vast resource of publicly available bioinformatic databases and analysis tools Contains over 100 figures that aid in concept discovery and illustration
Call Number: E-book - Login requiredISBN: 0124105106Publication Date: 2014-05-09
Basics of Bioinformatics by
This book outlines 11 courses and 15 research topics in bioinformatics, based on curriculums and talks in a graduate summer school on bioinformatics that was held in Tsinghua University. The courses include: Basics for Bioinformatics, Basic Statistics for Bioinformatics, Topics in Computational Genomics, Statistical Methods in Bioinformatics, Algorithms in Computational Biology, Multivariate Statistical Methods in Bioinformatics Research, Association Analysis for Human Diseases: Methods and Examples, Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery Methods with Case Examples, Applied Bioinformatics Tools, Foundations for the Study of Structure and Function of Proteins, Computational Systems Biology Approaches for Deciphering Traditional Chinese Medicine, and Advanced Topics in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology. This book can serve as not only a primer for beginners in bioinformatics, but also a highly summarized yet systematic reference book for researchers in this field. Rui Jiang and Xuegong Zhang are both professors at the Department of Automation, Tsinghua University, China. Professor Michael Q. Zhang works at the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Cold Spring Harbor, NY, USA.
Call Number: E-book - Login requiredISBN: 3642389511Publication Date: 2013-11-26
Essentials of Bioinformatics, Volume I by
Bioinformatics is an integrative field of computer science, genetics, genomics, proteomics, and statistics, which has undoubtedly revolutionized the study of biology and medicine in past decades. It mainly assists in modeling, predicting and interpreting large multidimensional biological data by utilizing advanced computational methods. Despite its enormous potential, bioinformatics is not widely integrated into the academic curriculum as most life science students and researchers are still not equipped with the necessary knowledge to take advantage of this powerful tool. Hence, the primary purpose of our book is to supplement this unmet need by providing an easily accessible platform for students and researchers starting their career in life sciences. This book aims to avoid sophisticated computational algorithms and programming. Instead, it mostly focuses on simple DIY analysis and interpretation of biological data with personal computers. Our belief is that once the beginners acquire these basic skillsets, they will be able to handle most of the bioinformatics tools for their research work and to better understand their experimental outcomes. Unlike other bioinformatics books which are mostly theoretical, this book provides practical examples for the readers on state-of-the-art open source tools to solve biological problems. Flow charts of experiments, graphical illustrations, and mock data are included for quick reference. Volume I is therefore an ideal companion for students and early stage professionals wishing to master this blooming field.
Call Number: E-book - Login requiredISBN: 3030026337Publication Date: 2019-04-08
Journals for Bioinformatics (Login required)
Mount Sinai Center for Bioinformatics
- Mount Sinai Center for BioinformaticsIn this era of Big Data biomedicine, the Center for Bioinformatics develops analytic methods to help experimental biologists to study the increasingly diverse and complex data that are collected from human cells, tissues, and patients.
In addition to developing algorithms, web-based software tools, and databases, and collaborating with wet-bench experimental laboratories at Mount Sinai, the Center also organizes courses, workshops, tutorials, and seminars; and Data Science MOOC and in-class courses for undergraduate and graduate students aim to train the next generation of Bioinformaticians.
Bioinformatics Zhang Laboratory
- Zhang Bioinformatics LaboratoryThe Integrative Bioinformatics Laboratory provides bioinformatics resources and support to genomic research in community of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and affiliated researchers using cutting-edge technologies.
Genomics Core Facility (GCF)
- Genomics Core Facility (GCF)The Genomics Core Facility (GCF) is one of the three core units of Institute for Genomics and Multiscale Biology. It enables ISMMS investigators to carry out cutting-edge basic and translational genomics research, which includes:
Massively parallel sequencing with the Illumina HiSeq 2000 and MiSeq
Single molecule sequencing with the Pacific Biosciences RS
Next-generation sequencing library preparation from RNA and DNA
Sanger sequencing with capillary electrophoresis
Genotyping, gene expression profiling and epigenetics using the high-
throughput
Illumina BeadArray platform
Real-time PCR using the Applied Biosystems 7900HT