Mount Sinai Publications

Mount Sinai faculty, staff, trainees and students publish thousands of articles, books and book chapters each year.  While no single resource currently covers everything published by Mount Sinai-affiliated authors, the Library maintains search strategies for retrieving publications by Mount Sinai authors in PubMed and Scopus. The Comparing Search Options box below explains how these results vary.

The Library also coordinates the Scholars Portal website - which highlights publications by a subset of researchers, houses a collection of books by Mount Sinai Authors, and promotes the impact of Mount Sinai scholarly activity.

Scopus is an interdisciplinary database that provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and book chapters across a wide range of subjects. Scopus's content spans from 1996 to the present and includes citation metrics for individual articles as well as for journals.

Scopus does not allow direct search linking, but we have provided a file containing a search string specific to Mount Sinai publications below.

PubMed and Scopus are two options for tracking and displaying Mount Sinai publications. 

Author Identification Precision

Scopus assigns searchable institutional codes which validate that publications belong to one of the variant Mount Sinai affiliation terms that our authors use; we combine this with some text word searching. Affiliation searching in PubMed uses text word searching in the Address field which is not validated. However, PubMed includes Collaborator Names as Authors when a group name for a specific research group appears in the article byline and the individual investigators or contributors are listed elsewhere in the article. 

Currency

PubMed may be 1-2 days more current for some journals; Scopus incorporates data from PubMed daily.  

Content

Scopus includes publications in science and engineering not in PubMed and includes book chapters and proceedings in areas such as computer science (can be filtered to remove those publication types). Scopus includes slightly more publications than PubMed, see the data comparison below.

Note: When searching by publication year, PubMed includes many dates (submission, online publication before official issue, then official date) thus the same article may be retrieved in searches by more than one year) 

Display/Integrations

PubMed allows a link to the entire publication set to click into the titles, abstracts and selected full-text without logging in. Scopus does not permit that linking across our institutional search.  Individual authors in Scopus can be linked using the Scopus Author Lookup Tool. Both PubMed and Scopus have APIs that can be used to bring in publication counts or citations automatically. If you have questions about APIs for these tools, please contact us.