Personal Impact Factor and H-Index Calculations: Impact Factor and Cited Reference Searching

Impact Factors and Cited Reference Searching Databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from broad areas of research. Use it to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Note: Identify papers that cite an article of interest in by following its "Cited by" link. Please read How to Connect to Full Text in Google Scholar for access information.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a unique tool published by the Institute for Scientific Information. It delivers quantifiable statistical data (impact factors) that provides a systematic, objective way to determine the relative importance of journals within their subject categories.
Both the Science Edition covering about 5,000 leading international science journals and the Social Sciences Edition covering about 1,600 leading international social sciences journals are available.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary database that provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in thousands of subjects. Citation information is tracked back to 1996, allowing you to identify articles that reference earlier articles, calculate metrics such as the h-index and compare journal citation information.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - ) provides access to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines.
The database includes abstracts of journal articles selected from over 2500 journals, abstracts of conference papers, relevant dissertation listings from Dissertations Abstracts International, enhanced bibliographic citations of book reviews, and abstracts of selected sociology books. Cited and citing references are available for some journal records.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A large interdisciplinary database that includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles and conference abstracts, and compiles the cited references of the publications. Cited reference searching enables you to identify articles that contain citations to an earlier article, and to trace how an idea has been confirmed, applied, extended or corrected in later publications.