Levy Library Blog

 The Levy Library is excited to announce the newest addition to our collection, Natural Medicines & Supplements database (formally known as Natural Standard). Natural Medicines database includes daily updates to dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies; and the Natural Medicines Brand Evidence-based Ratings system (NMBER®) for safety and effectiveness. Now, members of the Mount Sinai community can get access to  evidence-based natural medicines resources including: 

• Interactive tools for safety, effectiveness and interactions
• Over 1,400 natural medicine monographs
• Easy-to-use, industry-leading NMBER® evidence-based rating system for 185,000+ commercial brand products
• CE for condition/disease state clinical management using natural or alternative medicines

You can view an example of evidence-based monographs available from the database HERE. 

Access the Natural Medicines database through the library catalog HERE.

In addition to Natural Medicines, the Levy Library has access to several other great resources and tools for information on interaction checkers and alternative and complementary healthcare that we think you should check out:

Lexicomp

Lexicomp is an integrated search platform for multiple drug databases including the Mount Sinai Formulary and Lexi-Drugs. Includes a drug interaction and compatibility tool as well as pricing information.Additional indexes cover pediatric and geriatric pharmacotherapy, pharmacogenomics, infectious diseases management, poisoning and toxicology, nuclear and biological chemical agent exposures, and laboratory tests and diagnostic procedures. Includes a drug interaction and compatibility tool and a drug identification tool. Provides generic drug availability and pricing information.

• Lexicomp Online is available through the library catalog HERE.
• The Lexicomp mobile app is available to download. learn more on how to access the app HERE. 

Alt HealthWatch

Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies. Subjects include acupuncture, aromatherapy, childbirth, Chinese medicine, chiropractic, creative therapies, cross-cultural therapies, energy medicine, herbalism, homeopathy, mind-body medicine, naturopathy, nutrition, osteopathy, and more​.

• Alt HealthWatch is available through the library catalog HERE. 

Featured Journals in the Levy Library Collection

• Alternative Therapies in Health an Medicine
• BMC Complementary Medicine and Therapies
• Journal of Evidence-based Integrative Medicine
• Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine
• Journal of Complementary & Integrative Medicine

For help with finding other resources available from the Levy Library, contact us at refdesk@mssm.edu.

We are excited to announce the next event in our Research Insider series will be will be taking place on February 9th, 2021 as an online virtual seminar. Attendance is free and open to everyone. Registration is required to attend. In addition to presentations from our panelists, we will be holding a live discussion and Q & A. We invite attendees to submit their questions in advance. 

You can register for the event HERE.

We look forward to seeing you all at our event! 

Event Overview:

How is race utilized, reported and interpreted in biomedical research? Is the use of race as a variable in clinical research practical or problematic? How can researchers responsibly investigate health disparities between racial groups to work towards meaningful change? In the latest installation of the Levy Library’s Research Insider series, we invite you to join us for a seminar that explores these issues from multiple perspectives, including representatives from the funding, publishing, and research communities.

Date: Tuesday, February 9, 2021

Presentations: 3:00PM - 4:30PM (EST) 

Panel Discussion: 4:30PM - 5:00PM (EST)

Location: Zoom Webinar

Panelists:

RADM Richardae Araojo, Pharm. D., MS, Associate Commissioner for Minority Health and Director of the Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (OMHHE) in the Office of the Commissioner at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Emma K. Benn, DrPH, Associate Professor in the Center for Biostatistics and Department of Population Health Science and Policy and Founding Director of the Center for Scientific Diversity at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (ISMMS)

Sri Devi Narasimham, Deputy Editor, Cell, Cell Press

Eliseo J. Pérez-Stable, M.D., Director of the National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD) at the National Insititues of Health (NIH)

Agenda:

1. Introduction
   • Opening Remarks by:
     • Rachel Pinotti, MLIS, Assistant Library Director or Education & Research Services, The Levy Library
2. Panelists Presentations
3. Panel Discussion and Q & A
   • Moderators:
     • Paulos Mengsteab, PhD, MD Candidate, Class of 2023, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
     • Kevin Weiss, MPH, MD Candidate, Class of 2023, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Attendees are invited to submit their questions in advance for the discussion and Q & A. All questions will be reviewed by the event organizers and moderators prior.

Submit your question(s) here: https://mssm.libwizard.com/f/RI2021questions  

Contact us at refdesk@mssm.edu if you have an inquiry about the event.

Recently our Dean of Libraries, Gali Halevi, MLS, PhD, was approached by School leadership to help develop a method to better identify top scientists and researchers while demystifying the recruitment of diverse faculty. With that in mind, Dr. Halevi, has created a methodology using publications and the Plum Analytics platform as the basis for identifying diverse faculty candidates for the School. 

We are excited to share her methodology with our community and beyond, as we hope that this methodology can be shared and utilized by other institutions to help in own recruitment efforts with recruiting diverse faculty, scientists, and researchers. 

Did you know that the Levy Library team recently released a new special topics collection of books that focus on wellness? We are very excited to bring this collection of resources to Mount Sinai community because we know that wellness affects every person in our community in one way or another. From the ISMMS student who is seeking balance between their school and personal life, to the nurse who is seeking information on making wellness a priority in his/her/they own life to prevent burnout at work. 

When one thinks about wellness, it is often related to one's physical wellness-  regular exercise, weight management and a nutritious diet. However, in the curation of this book collection, we wanted to find books that addressed the other dimensions of wellness that may not be as well known- spiritual, emotional, occupational, intellectual, and social wellness. We found ourselves using the National Wellness Institute's Six Dimension's of Wellness Tool to help us create the scope for this collection.

This collection is still in its early stages but we plan to add many more physical and electronic resources that cover these dimensions. For now you can can take a look at our list of titles available or feel free to stop by the Levy Library to see the collection in person.

Here is breakdown of some of our favorites that we think you will enjoy too!

Search Inside Yourself: the Secret to Unbreakable Concentration, Complete  Relaxation and Effortless Self-Control

Check out the entire collection of wellness books HERE.