Levy Library Blog

The Levy Library and Systems Libraries teams would like to welcome all the new residents and fellows to the Mount Sinai community. We are happy to have you here with us and we hope that your time here at Mount Sinai will be full of memorable and meaningful experiences.

As a new resident or fellow, I'm sure you are wondering what resources and services does the library have to offer me? The simple answer is a lot! From clinical tools like UpTodate and Lexicomp to board review materials like Board Vitals and rotation prep materials like NEJM Resident 360, we have everything you may need to help set you up for success. In addition to our resources, we have a great team of librarians that available to provide systematic review and publication support services, so when you are ready to start your research journey, we are here to help from the beginning to the end.

Interesting in learning more about what the library has to offer? Good news is that we created a guide about the services and resources that we think all our new residents would enjoy. You can check out that guide here:

https://libguides.mssm.edu/housestaff

Now, form own experience form resident orientations, I know the most popular question we get from our residents and fellows is how can you all get access to UpToDate. Since it is a very popular resource, we made a quick and simple step by step visual to help you register for your UpToDate account and get access to the mobile app. Also, if you have a previous UpToDate account with your last institution, we have a quick tip on how to merge your account and bring your CME credits with you!

Of course, if you have any questions about UpToDate or any of the resources and services from the Library, you can also Ask A Librarian for help. Once again, welcome to Mount Sinai!

• UpToDate Database
• Download the UpToDate mobile app
• UpToDate Help and Training

The year 2020 will undoubtedly be one for the record books. With each passing week, history is being written as the world around us changes for better and for worse. As pioneers at the forefront of patient care and medical research, the communities of the Mount Sinai Health System need access to the latest information that can help inform their work. The Levy Library is here to support you with a full guide dedicated to the news and magazine resources available to you as an MSHS community member. 

You can view the full guide here and get a preview of just some of the resources below:

Quick Access to Popular News Resources

New York Times (via Proquest Central)	Washington Post (Via Gale OneFile)	Wall Street Journal (Via Proquest Central)
	Crain's Health Pulse (Registration Required)

News Related Databases

These databases (and more!) are available to connect you with your favorite news sources!

The pace of scientific publishing has accelerated dramatically in response to the COVID pandemic. COVID-19 has highlighted just how invaluable timely medical research is to public health and how dedicated scientific authors are when a crisis is at hand and time is of the essence. Naturally, researchers at Mount Sinai have been keeping pace. 

A new dashboard has been created in the PlumX platform that is dedicated to tracking the 2020 scholarly output of Mount Sinai authors in their contributions to COVID-19 research efforts. Artifacts in this dashboard currently include articles, reviews, and guidelines. The analytics below show that (as of June 10, 2020) Mount Sinai authors have so far netted a total of 10,225 captures, 427 mentions online, 26,740 social media shares, and 1,272 citations. 

Of the 87 artifacts in this dashboard (as of June 10, 2020), here are some of the top-performing so far:

• Understanding and Addressing Sources of Anxiety Among Health Care Professionals During the COVID-19 Pandemic

• SARS-CoV-2 Vaccines: Status Report

• Large-Vessel Stroke as a Presenting Feature of Covid-19 in the Young

• Virtually Perfect? Telemedicine for Covid-19

• Chest CT Findings in Coronavirus Disease-19 (COVID-19): Relationship to Duration of Infection

Log into your Plum account to view the dashboard and read the articles. 

Get even more COVID-19 research resources in our special guide.

Information, education and conversation is essential in times of social change. As librarians and educators, we want to connect our communities with resources to help us all understand racism in America, to educate ourselves to become anti-racists, to create an open dialogue with each other about bias and privilege, and to take action in our communities to fight injustice and inequality.

Over the past few years, the Library has curated a collection a collection of books specifically addressing race and bias in our society. While many of these books are only in print at this time, we are working to provide access the collection as digital books so all our users can access these titles at any time from their home or mobile device.

In addition to the resources available at the Levy Library, we would like to share with our communities a compilation of book recommendations, articles and podcasts about racism, privilege, bias and inequality.

A special thanks to Sarah Sophie Flicker and Alyssa Klein who created a shared document of resources that we have used in the writing of this post. 

View the Race and Society Special Topics Collection from the Levy Library 

Jump to:

• Recommended collection of resources and lists
• Articles to Read
• Podcasts to Listen 
• The Levy Library Race and Bias Collection

Book to Read:

How to be an antiracist Author: Ibram X. Kendi Available at NYPL | BKPL | QPL	So you want to talk about race Author: Ijeoma Oluo Available at NYPL | BKPL | QPL	Just Medicine: A cure for racial inequality in American Health Care Author: Dayna Bowen Matthew Available at NYPL
The New Jim Crow: Mass incarceration in the age of colorblindness Author: Michelle Alexander Available at: NYPL | BKPL | QPL	Blindspot : the hidden biases of good people Author: Anthony Greenwald and Mahzarin Banaji Available at:  NYPL | BKPL | QPL	Biased: Uncovering the hidden prejudice that shapes what we see, think, and do Author: Jennifer Eberhardt Available at NYPL | BKPL | QPL
I'm Still Here : Black dignity in a world made for whiteness Author: Austin Channing Brown Available at NYPL | BKPL | QPL	Black Man in a White Coat Author: Damon Tweedy, M.D. Available at NYPL | BKPL | QPL	White Fragility : Why it's so hard for white people to talk about racism Author: Robin J. DiAngelo Available at NYPL | BKPL | QPL

Recommended collection of resources and lists:

• An Antiracist Reading List | New York Times

• Featured Race & Ethnicity Resources | TeachingTolerance.org

• A Detailed List of Anti-Racism Resources | Medium.com

• Anti-racism Resources | Document compiled by Sarah Sophie Flicker, Alyssa Klein

Articles to read:

• "American Nightmare" by Ibram X. Kendi | The Atlantic (June 1, 2020)

• “America’s Racial Contract Is Killing Us” by Adam Serwer | The Atlantic (May 8, 2020)

• Ella Baker and the Black Freedom Movement (Mentoring a New Generation of Activists

• ”My Life as an Undocumented Immigrant” by Jose Antonio Vargas | NYT Mag (June 22, 2011)

• The 1619 Project (all the articles) | The New York Times Magazine

• “The Intersectionality Wars” by Jane Coaston | Vox (May 28, 2019)

• Tips for Creating Effective White Caucus Groups developed by Craig Elliott PhD

• ”White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack” by Peggy McIntosh

• “Who Gets to Be Afraid in America?” by Dr. Ibram X. Kendi | Atlantic (May 12, 2020)

​

Podcasts to Listen to:

• 1619 (New York Times)

• About Race

• Code Switch (NPR)

• Intersectionality Matters! hosted by Kimberlé Crenshaw

• Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast

• Pod For The Cause (from The Leadership Conference on Civil & Human Rights)

• Pod Save the People (Crooked Media)

• Seeing White

If you would like to contribute to this list or would like to suggest a resource for the library, please contact us at refdesk@mssm.edu