Levy Library Blog

Levy Library is happy to announce a new resource available to the Mount Sinai Health System community: PubsHub, the place to find key scientific venues to publish your data. 

PubsHub is a database of submission criteria for peer-reviewed medical journals and congresses. Easily compare critical venue metrics across 100+ therapeutic areas to determine what is best suited for your needs. It covers more than 3,500 journals, with indispensable data such as journal impact factors, acceptance rates and publication turnaround times.

You can access PubsHub directly through their website or through our database list.

Each month the Levy Library showcases the achievements of Mount Sinai faculty and researchers by highlighting an article and its altmetrics. Altmetrics are alternative measures of impact that capture non-traditional data like abstract views, article downloads, and social media activity.

This month we highlight Comprehensive Characterization of Cancer Driver Genes and Mutations, written by a team of researchers including Mount Sinai’s John Martignetti (Genetics and Genomics), Robert Krost (Thoracic Surgery), and Peter Dottino (Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Services). 

Citation: Cell, 2018 Apr 5;173(2):371-385.e18. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2018.02.060. Bailey MH, Tokheim C, Porta-Pardo E, Sengupta S, Bertrand D, Weerasinghe A, Colaprico A, Wendl MC, Kim J, Reardon B, Ng PK, Jeong KJ, Cao S, Wang Z, Gao J, Gao Q, Wang F, Liu EM, Mularoni L, Rubio-Perez C, Nagarajan N, Cortés-Ciriano I, Zhou DC, Liang WW, Hess JM, Yellapantula VD, Tamborero D, Gonzalez-Perez A, Suphavilai C, Ko JY, Khurana E, Park PJ, Van Allen EM, Liang H; MC3 Working Group; Cancer Genome Atlas Research Network, Lawrence MS, Godzik A, Lopez-Bigas N, Stuart J, Wheeler D, Getz G, Chen K, Lazar AJ, Mills GB, Karchin R, Ding L.

Abstract

Identifying molecular cancer drivers is critical for precision oncology. Multiple advanced algorithms to identify drivers now exist, but systematic attempts to combine and optimize them on large datasets are few. We report a PanCancer and PanSoftware analysis spanning 9,423 tumor exomes (comprising all 33 of The Cancer Genome Atlas projects) and using 26 computational tools to catalog driver genes and mutations. We identify 299 driver genes with implications regarding their anatomical sites and cancer/cell types. Sequence- and structure-based analyses identified >3,400 putative missense driver mutations supported by multiple lines of evidence. Experimental validation confirmed 60%-85% of predicted mutations as likely drivers. We found that >300 MSI tumors are associated with high PD-1/PD-L1, and 57% of tumors analyzed harbor putative clinically actionable events. Our study represents the most comprehensive discovery of cancer genes and mutations to date and will serve as a blueprint for future biological and clinical endeavors.

See Dr. John Martignetti on PLUMX

See Robert Krost on PLUMX

See Dr. Petter Dottino on PLUMX

Tuesday, April 17th brought us the first Mindful Medicine seminar of 2018. This event was titled "From Surviving to Thriving: REVAMPing our Pursuit of Well-Being as Healthcare Providers." A perfect event for the Year of Mental Health at the Mount Sinai Health System Libraries, this "REVAMP" seminar explored the power of positive medicine when dealing with patients, coworkers and oneself. 

"REVAMP" was created and led by Jordyn Feingold, MAPP, a second-year medical student with the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. She is currently working toward her combined MD/Master's in Clinical and Translational Research. Jordyn is the co-author of a longitudinal well-being curriculum at Mount Sinai for all medical students, facilitated by psychiatry residents, called PEERS: Practice Enhancement, Engagement, Resilience and Support. Additionally, she teaches a Positive Medicine nexus course open to students and employees at Mount Sinai.

The core takeaway of this seminar was REVAMP. What is well-being and how do we capture it?

REVAMP stands for:

• Relationships
• Engagement
• Vitality
• Meaning
• Accomplishment
• Positive Emotions

The social workers, physicians and medical professionals present for this seminar learned that REVAMP focuses on identifying how you communicate with and relate to those around you. It is being aware of what you put out and being mindful of coming from a more positive approach. 

 See future Levy Library events here!

Have an idea for an event? Email us!

Levy Library is pleased to announce that trial access to a suite of MedOne platforms is now available for the Mount Sinai Health System community! This access will be available until June 30^th, 2018.

Learn more about each platform below:

---  

MedOne-Neurosurgery

The world’s most comprehensive resource for neurological and spine surgery online, providing access to:

• Now includes Greenberg’s Handbook of Neurosurgery
• New Training Center – interactive Q&A bank for board prep
• Thieme’s entire neurosurgical E-Book library of 175 books
• Over 415 surgical procedures, providing step-by-step instruction on core techniques
• 225 illustrated cases with associated Q&A
• Author-narrated videos, embedded into the text and available to search independently
• More than 75,000 images for download and use in other applications

View here: https://medone-neurosurgery.thieme.com/home/favorites/institution

MedOne-Otolaryngology 

The premier online resource for otolaryngology–head and neck surgery, providing access to Thieme’s entire otolaryngology collection online including:

• Thieme’s entire otolaryngology E-Book library of 140 books including CORE TEXTS for residency programs
• 250 illustrated procedures providing step-by-step instruction on core techniques and approaches
• 91 illustrated cases with associated Q&A, essential for training purposes
• Author-narrated videos embedded into the text and available to search directly
• More than 50,000 images for download and use in other applications
• MedOne App available for Android and iOS devices

View here: https://medone-otolaryngology.thieme.com/home/favorites/institution

MedOne-Radiology

MedOne-Radiology is designed to be the destination for online radiology education, providing online access to Thieme’s complete publishing program in interventional and diagnostic radiology: 

• Thieme’s complete radiology book program of 157 e-books including core texts for residency programs
• 3,250 interactive case studies from the RadCases collection
• Over 100,000 images and videos downloadable for use in lectures and teaching

View here: https://medone-radiology.thieme.com/home/favorites/institution  

MedOne-PlasticSurgery

Comprehensive access to Thieme’s complete portfolio in aesthetic and reconstructive plastic surgery:

• Thieme’s entire E-Book library of 128 books including CORE TEXTS for residency programs
• Includes Essentials of Plastic Surgery by J. Janis
• Surgical procedures providing step-by-step instruction on core techniques and approaches
• Learn from the Master series of videos providing training on landmark techniques
• More than 50,000 images for download and use in other applications
• Training Center, interactive Q&A bank for board exam prep

View here: https://medone-plasticsurgery.thieme.com/home/favorites/institution

---

Links to each platform can also be found in our A-Z catalog:

For access on the go, the MedOne App is available for Android and iOS devices.

See all available Levy Library resources HERE!

In our "Behind the Desk" interview series, we meet the people behind the curtain of the Mount Sinai Health System Libraries. Today we catch up with Celine Soudant, who was recently promoted to the role of Reference & Instruction Librarian here at Levy Library:

How long have you been working at Levy Library?

After over a year at the Mount Sinai Downtown Library, I joined Levy Library as a Reference & Instruction librarian this February.

Describe the duties and responsibilities of your new position.

I provide reference services, research instruction, and assistance with citation management tools. I am also working on a project plan to update our LibGuides content. We want to provide our Mount Sinai community with the most current and relevant resources to provide the best possible patient care.

What is the most challenging aspect of your job?

To better serve our patrons, it is primordial for a librarian to keep up with new tools and learn new skills. It can be challenging to find the time for professional development. I enjoy learning, so I consider myself fortunate to currently take a class on Evidence-Based Practice and the Medical Librarian.

What is the most rewarding aspect of your job?

I enjoy providing support to our community with one on one consultation or classes on topics such as literature search support or reference management tools. It is meaningful because it can have a positive impact on patient outcomes.

What are your interests outside of work?

I like spending time with my family and reading stories to my two daughters. When I have time for myself, I enjoy going to Pilates, Yoga classes or a hike. I also love sharing a good meal with friends.