Levy Library Blog - Levy Library Guides at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Levy Library is pleased to announce that trial access to a suite of MedOne platforms is now available for the Mount Sinai Health System community! This access will be available until June 30^th, 2018.

Learn more about each platform below:

---

MedOne-Neurosurgery

The world’s most comprehensive resource for neurological and spine surgery online, providing access to:

Now includes Greenberg’s Handbook of Neurosurgery
New Training Center – interactive Q&A bank for board prep
Thieme’s entire neurosurgical E-Book library of 175 books
Over 415 surgical procedures, providing step-by-step instruction on core techniques
225 illustrated cases with associated Q&A
Author-narrated videos, embedded into the text and available to search independently
More than 75,000 images for download and use in other applications

View here: https://medone-neurosurgery.thieme.com/home/favorites/institution

MedOne-Otolaryngology

The premier online resource for otolaryngology–head and neck surgery, providing access to Thieme’s entire otolaryngology collection online including:

Thieme’s entire otolaryngology E-Book library of 140 books including CORE TEXTS for residency programs
250 illustrated procedures providing step-by-step instruction on core techniques and approaches
91 illustrated cases with associated Q&A, essential for training purposes
Author-narrated videos embedded into the text and available to search directly
More than 50,000 images for download and use in other applications
MedOne App available for Android and iOS devices

View here: https://medone-otolaryngology.thieme.com/home/favorites/institution

MedOne-Radiology

MedOne-Radiology is designed to be the destination for online radiology education, providing online access to Thieme’s complete publishing program in interventional and diagnostic radiology:

Thieme’s complete radiology book program of 157 e-books including core texts for residency programs
3,250 interactive case studies from the RadCases collection
Over 100,000 images and videos downloadable for use in lectures and teaching

View here: https://medone-radiology.thieme.com/home/favorites/institution

MedOne-PlasticSurgery

Comprehensive access to Thieme’s complete portfolio in aesthetic and reconstructive plastic surgery:

Thieme’s entire E-Book library of 128 books including CORE TEXTS for residency programs
Includes Essentials of Plastic Surgery by J. Janis
Surgical procedures providing step-by-step instruction on core techniques and approaches
Learn from the Master series of videos providing training on landmark techniques
More than 50,000 images for download and use in other applications
Training Center, interactive Q&A bank for board exam prep

View here: https://medone-plasticsurgery.thieme.com/home/favorites/institution

---

Links to each platform can also be found in our A-Z catalog:

For access on the go, the MedOne App is available for Android and iOS devices.

See all available Levy Library resources HERE!

Recent Posts

Celebrating our Graduate and Professional Students: Partners in Discovery and Impact

Happy Graduate and Professional Student Appreciation Week Month! At the Levy Library, we want to take a moment to recognize and celebrate the dedication, resilience, and passion you bring to your work each day. Whether you’re diving into research, tackling complex coursework, or contributing to groundbreaking discoveries, your efforts inspire us all. As your library team, we're here to be your equitable partner every step of the way—whether you need access to essential resources, research support, a quiet study space, or just a helpful hand. Here's how we can help you thrive throughout your academic journey: 1. Your Partner in Scholarly Research Need help with your research? Whether it’s refining your research question, conducting a literature review, navigating complex databases or managing your citations, our Education & Research Services team offers personalized consultations to help you develop research strategies that save time and get results. Don’t forget to explore the Scholarly Publishing and Visualization Hub, our new portal for support in reference management, the publishing and promotion process, metrics, and visualizations—an invaluable resource for taking your scholarly research and work to the next level. 2. Powerful Tools and Resources Access our robust collection of scholarly tools and materials including literature databases like PubMed, point of care tools like UpToDate, e-books, scholarly articles, and reference management tools like EndNote and Zotero to streamline your workflow. Not sure if we have access to something? Contact our Ask a Librarian service, and we will be more than happy to help you find what you need. 3. Workshops and Classes Our Library Classes & Workshops are designed to build your confidence and skills, whether you’re just starting your research or diving deep into data management. We offer a wide range of workshops including introductions to EndNote and Zotero, conducting literature reviews, publishing, and artificial intelligence. 4. Study Spaces That Work for You We know that both focus and downtime are essential to your success. That’s why the Levy Library offers a range of study environments—from quiet zones to collaborative workspaces and tech-equipped rooms—so you can choose what works best for you. Need a more private spot? Our reservable rooms are perfect for virtual meetings, interviews, or solo study sessions. And don’t forget to check out your brand-new Levy Library Student Commons, a dedicated space just for graduate and medical students—designed with your needs in mind. 5. Tech Support and Equipment Loans Need a charger, stand, or laptop? We’ve got you covered. Our equipment loan service helps you stay connected and productive, especially when you’re moving between classes, labs, and work. Simply walk to our User Services desk and borrow away! 6. Support for Your Well-being We know success goes beyond academics. Whether you need a quiet space to focus, a friendly face, or just a moment to recharge, we’re here for you. Our spaces, resources, services, and team are always ready to support you—not just during Graduate and Professional Student Appreciation Week Month, but every day of the year. From all of us at the Levy Library—thank you for your incredible work, your curiosity, and your commitment to making a difference. We see you, we appreciate you, and we’re always here for you. Happy Graduate and Professional Student Appreciation Week Month! ...

Levy Library Launches Scholarly Publishing And Visualization Hub During National Library Week

In celebration of National Library Week (April 6–12), we’re excited to introduce a new reason to be drawn to the library: the launch of the Scholarly Publishing and Visualization Hub — bringing together services and resources that inspire and empower Mount Sinai researchers, clinicians, and students to create and share new knowledge. At a time when libraries continue to spark imagination, foster connection, and help users connect the dots across ideas, disciplines, and discoveries, the Scholarly Publishing and Visualization Hub (SPV Hub) introduces ways to connect students, faculty, and staff with tools and services that enable innovation and the dissemination of Mount Sinai’s scholarly activity within and beyond our community. Whether you're exploring the work of fellow Mount Sinai researchers, seeking collaborators, or developing your own project, Library support at every stage is easy to identify on the SPV Hub. Discover research happening across the institution, connect with potential partners, and bring your ideas to life with expert guidance on visualizations, scholarly research and writing, and reference management. As part of our commitment to equity in access and innovation, the SPV Hub showcases partnerships by which we offer digital platforms such as the Levy Library Press and the Icahn School of Medicine Scholars Portal, and expert guidance to help you share your work, explore open access options, and select journals to reach your intended audiences. To help amplify your impact, we offer support with author profiles, visibility tools, and research metrics. The SPV Hub also serves as a online portal to come together with colleagues through events and workshops that foster community and shared learning. As we mark 50 years of fueling discovery and scholarship at the Levy Library, the launch of this SPV Hub stands as a powerful reflection of that legacy while staying true to our long-standing commitment to be your equitable and inclusive partner in learning. We invite you to explore the Scholarly Publishing and Visualization Hub — a virtual space designed to inspire and support every stage of your scholarly journey — and connect with the Library team with your ideas and questions. For more information and to get started, please visit the Scholarly Publishing and Visualization webpage at: libguides.mssm.edu/spv-hub ...

Publish in BMJ Open Quality at no cost to Mount Sinai Authors

The Levy Library is happy to announce that Mount Sinai's subscription to resources from BMJ offers new benefits for our community. For publishing:Mount Sinai corresponding authors can publish for no-cost in BMJ Open Quality for their articles accepted between April 1, 2025 and March 31, 2028.BMJ Open Quality accepts original research, local, national, and international quality improvement projects, value-based healthcare initiatives, and educational improvement work.To submit an article to BMJ Open Quality:Visit BMJ Open Quality's author page to review submission guidelines.Submit your article via the BMJ Open Quality Submission Portal.Enter the Icahn School of Medicine's institution discount code to confirm your affiliation and waive publishing fees.We are continuing our agreement for no-cost traditional publishing in BMJ Case Reports. For journal and database access:We now have full text access to all BMJ Journals and our BMJ Best Practice tool now includes the Comorbidities Manager (learn more on the BMJ website) ...

Levy Library Hours Update: Early Opening and Closure on Saturday, March 29 - plan ahead!

Please be advised that due to a planned electrical shutdown and maintenance in the Annenberg Building, the Levy Library will have adjusted hours on Saturday, March 29, 2025.Adjusted Levy Library HoursTo accommodate building-wide electrical maintenance, Levy Library will have adjusted hours and access over the weekend. Please note that we will be opening earlier than usual on Saturday:Saturday, March 29: Open from 8:00 am – 4:30 pm (early opening and early closure)Sunday, March 30: Reopening at 12:00 pm, with normal operating hours resumingAccess Restrictions During our ClosureThe following areas will be fully closed during the shutdown: Levy Library, 11th FloorLevy Library Student CommonsLevy Library, 10th Floor Classrooms and Individual Study RoomPlease be advised that Mount Sinai ID card access to the 10th and 11th floors will be disabled from Saturday at 4:30 pm through Sunday morning until noon.Plan AheadWe encourage all users to secure alternate locations for study, research, or work during this time.If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to us at library@mssm.edu.Thank you for your cooperation and understanding....

Trial Access Now Available for MedOne Platforms